91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic! Not only are these both fast and easy to make, but the taste is terrific. Two comments: 1) I used a one-inch scoop and my yield was 40 rum balls; and 2) I'd recommend chilling the mixture for 15-30 mins before forming balls as it makes the process easier. Bergy, I'll be making these EVERY Xmas.

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie November 20, 2001

I just finished a double batch and they are wonderful. I'm sure after they set a couple days they will be even better. The refridgeration for 30 min. made forming the balls much easier. I used brandy, only because that is what I prefer. This recipe was fast, easy, and I definitely plan on making them again. I will be putting them out for X-mas before dinner.

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda6 December 21, 2001

I made one substitute for the rum I used cocoa liquer....yum!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula&matt July 14, 2002

These were VERY tasty and very easy to make! Pay attention to the "let them mellow for about a week"-it could not be more true! Most people forget or don't know that and are disappointed because the rum flavor is too strong. These rum balls need to "season" for at least a week, so plan ahead! I let mine sit in the fridge in a container for at least a week (and have made these weeks ahead of time and put them in the freezer - they don't harden!) and they come out lovely! I made two different versions of these this year: I used Nabisco Chocolate Wafer cookies and Malibu Rum (coconut rum); I also used vanilla wafers with Bailey's Irish Creme. They both were HUGE hits! Thanks for posting!! :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve December 23, 2009

I have been using this same recipe for years. Everyone loves them. I also add a little extra rum just for the reaction.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobchile January 27, 2003

The alcohol was a little strong for our taste so next time I will not add as much but other than that they were simply delicious!! SUPER easy to make and even better tasting. I did leave the top off the container and the alcohol did evaporate some. YUM good!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH December 29, 2002

These are great. Very easy, very tasty. I did store mine in the fridge so they would harden up some. Also, I must have made mine small because I got 3 dozen instead of 2.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl December 06, 2002

Great recipie! During the first batch, everyone said the liquour was too strong (I used burbon instead of rum- so this may be the problem) Not to worry- next batch, I cut the burbon in 1/2, doubled the syrup & sugar, and they turned out great! Thanks for the great idea:)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princessmitzoue December 18, 2002

More than anything, I wanted Rum Balls for me for this Christmas season. I was lazy, and stuck all the dry ingredients in the food processor and whirled them around until they were all good. Then I mixed the corn syrup and Rum in a bowl and added the dry ingredients. These are perfect, easy and just like the rum balls I remember having when I was growing up. This is the real deal, both easy and delicious. Thank you! Have added this to my cookbook!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinks599 February 14, 2011

Tasty! These are great, and let me preface that with the fact that I messed up all over the place. See, I started out making this one recipe--and I ground up 4oz dark chocolate with 1cup powdered sugar, then I realized that I actually was supposed to use granulated sugar, so I used that ground up chocolate and powdered sugar for these and just didn't add the cocoa. Then, I used amaretto and almonds instead of rum and pecans--delicious! I used Lennie's suggestion of refrigerating the dough before shaping and it was a breeze! Dredged them in powdered sugar to finish, and they just look great. Did I mention that this is my first time making these? Great recipe, fool proof. Love it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen December 18, 2009
Christmas Rum Balls(Or Bourbon Balls)