Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Morning Wife Saver Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Morning Wife Saver

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2009

      Love this classic - this week I made it for a pot-luck breakfast. I cut the bread into circles with a juice glass and followed the recipe using a muffin tin instead of the baking dish. Baked in over at 350 degrees for 25-30 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      I made this for Christmas breakfast for my family, my parents and my brother. I, too, left the tobasco out. Everyone LOVED it. My brother even had a big helping - and he doesn't like bread (yea, I know *shakes head*: there's one in every family)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      From the Best of Bridge, "Enjoy" cookbook. A definite winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      I have been making this for years; my mom passed this one to me. Did make some changes though. Instead of the ham I use corn beef. It spreads out nicely and gives it a nice taste. Also I don't use whole milk, just 2%, and enough just to cover the bread. I make this with the Land of Nod Cinnamon Buns (#22526) and a nice fruit salad. My girls demand this for Christmas

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      Loved this, it was perfect for our Thanksgiving morning breakfast. Had a LOT of company staying over and with all the prep work going on it was great to make this up the day before and then just pop in the oven the next morning. Made it following the directions to the letter and turned out great, and was enjoyed by all - plus it looked pretty too and since it was a meal in one pan, clean up was also a breeze. What more could you want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Wow! This was so easy and so good! Everyone loved it and asked me for the recipe! I'm gonna try it with different meats and cheeses next time like the other reviewers suggested. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      A recipe well deserving of 5 stars. I have been making this recipe for some time . I like the addition of the tabasco sauce and worcestershire which just adds extra flavor. Great for overnight guests. Love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This recipe was very good. I put the whole thing together Christmas morning. I was worried that I did not leave enough time for the dish to sit, but it was fine. I did not remove the crust from the bread before I put it in the 9"x13" dish (I only used 4 pieces). I put a little too much green peppers in the dish, but it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      My 1st experience with this dish is when my sister-in-law made it one x-mas. I got the recipe from her & have made it a few times since. This dish is very moist & fluffy with great flavours. The corn flake topping is a nice variation for a strata. I find I only use 10-12 bread slices & it feeds 8 servings in our household. I agree with the other reviewers, this a great recipe you should try at least once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      I have been make this for over 20 years. Everyone loves it. I love the idea from Maryjane to make it into muffins. thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I halved the recipe and cooked in an 8x8 dish. Enjoyed it but unintentionally doubled the ham and cheese as I didn't read the instructions before putting everything together. Still tasty, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      We have been using this recipe for years in my family for Christmas morning brunch. We got it from the "Best of Bridge" cookbook series, where I believe it originated. It is a delicious, labour saving brunch for a crowd. I use aged white cheddar cheese that I slice myself. I would discourage anyone from using the pre-sliced cheese wrapped in plastic-I just don't think you would get the same flavour. This year I somehow forgot to add the cereal and butter (I usually do that just before baking) and I hardly missed it. It does give a nice little bit of texture, though. Thanks for posting this recipe, Valerie in Australia. Now I don't have to haul my cookbooks out when I want to find it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This has been a Christmas morning tradition in my family for as long as I can remember, close to 30 yrs I think... I remember that it was cut out of the Toronto Star newspaper originally, so it may have only been the last 25 years or so. ;) We usually have enough people to feed that we make at least double the recipe, and some times use 8x8 pans as well to vary the ingredients. We leave out the green peppers, and usually do a pan without the onions. My favorite has always been crumbled bacon in place of the ham, and my dad swears it's best with sausage crumbles. It is also good made without any meat but with lightly steamed asparagus instead for a vegetarian version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      WOWWWWW!!!! It was wonderful. I had a houseful of overnight guests and this was met with ummmms and ahhhhhs the next morning. Very easy to assemble, the most time-consuming part was removing the crust. Next time I may get the bread with the crust already removed. I also want to try it for a luncheon with fresh asparagus and diced chicken or go spicey with green chilies. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      This was a delicious recipe, and one which worked well with the adaptations I made to meet the dietary restrictions of our family. I used egg substitute, skim milk and fat free cheese with very good success. I also skipped the butter & salt and merely sprayed the cornflakes with butter flavored cooking spray and the topping turned out nice and crispy. Our non-heart patient guests were non the wiser. Thank you Valerie for sharing your recipe which was so easily adapted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      My Mom, myself and now my daughters make this every year for Christmas so it's become a family tradition- also good with thin slices of Canadian(peameal) bacon instead of ham. Love the convenience and taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      took this to Easter sunrise breakfast potluck, and it was the only 'wifesaver' that disappeared completely. It was awesome! Thanks for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      A favourite of ours. Makes our Christmas morning breakfast easy and enjoyable. Letting it sit after it comes out of the oven works best - so it will set.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2004

      We had this the morning after a family reunion at my Aunt Joanne's. All I can say is YUMMY!!! This was so good I'm drooling just thinking about it. It was hearty and just delicious. Enjoy everyone, I know my family did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Morning Wife Saver

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 697.2
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    50%
    Total Fat 39.5 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 358.3 mg
    119%
    Sodium 1204.1 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites