19 Reviews

Love this classic - this week I made it for a pot-luck breakfast. I cut the bread into circles with a juice glass and followed the recipe using a muffin tin instead of the baking dish. Baked in over at 350 degrees for 25-30 min.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryjane in spain July 03, 2009

I made this for Christmas breakfast for my family, my parents and my brother. I, too, left the tobasco out. Everyone LOVED it. My brother even had a big helping - and he doesn't like bread (yea, I know *shakes head*: there's one in every family)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dakkini January 01, 2004

From the Best of Bridge, "Enjoy" cookbook. A definite winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sean 72 December 24, 2011

I have been making this for years; my mom passed this one to me. Did make some changes though. Instead of the ham I use corn beef. It spreads out nicely and gives it a nice taste. Also I don't use whole milk, just 2%, and enough just to cover the bread. I make this with the Land of Nod Cinnamon Buns (#22526) and a nice fruit salad. My girls demand this for Christmas

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl October 29, 2006

Loved this, it was perfect for our Thanksgiving morning breakfast. Had a LOT of company staying over and with all the prep work going on it was great to make this up the day before and then just pop in the oven the next morning. Made it following the directions to the letter and turned out great, and was enjoyed by all - plus it looked pretty too and since it was a meal in one pan, clean up was also a breeze. What more could you want.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 23, 2012

Wow! This was so easy and so good! Everyone loved it and asked me for the recipe! I'm gonna try it with different meats and cheeses next time like the other reviewers suggested. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace Lynn August 13, 2011

A recipe well deserving of 5 stars. I have been making this recipe for some time . I like the addition of the tabasco sauce and worcestershire which just adds extra flavor. Great for overnight guests. Love it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 February 26, 2011

This recipe was very good. I put the whole thing together Christmas morning. I was worried that I did not leave enough time for the dish to sit, but it was fine. I did not remove the crust from the bread before I put it in the 9"x13" dish (I only used 4 pieces). I put a little too much green peppers in the dish, but it was still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelleg December 28, 2010

My 1st experience with this dish is when my sister-in-law made it one x-mas. I got the recipe from her & have made it a few times since. This dish is very moist & fluffy with great flavours. The corn flake topping is a nice variation for a strata. I find I only use 10-12 bread slices & it feeds 8 servings in our household. I agree with the other reviewers, this a great recipe you should try at least once.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 December 16, 2009

I have been make this for over 20 years. Everyone loves it. I love the idea from Maryjane to make it into muffins. thank you for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. July 04, 2009
Christmas Morning Wife Saver