Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Mint Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Mint Cookies

    Average Rating:

    112 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 112

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2010

      Love um. Easy as can be. I made 2 batches as written and 2 batches with the andes mint chips. I like them better as written. You get a thicker coating of chocolate and I think the flavor is closer to the girl scout cookies. Thanks for this great simple holiday cookie! Update - couldn't remember what type of chocolate I used the last time so I used semi sweet chips this time. I think they're better with milk chocolate! The problem people are having with the chocolate seizing when they add the extract can be fixed very simply - you add the extract to the chips and toss BEFORE putting over the heat. The seizing is caused by the temp difference. Using tweezers is also a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      I enjoyed these. I was craving the mint and chocolate combo so this was quick fix. I just bit into them and let the chocolate, cracker and mint taste melt away in my mouth. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and peppermint oil instead of extract because that is what I had on hand and also added a bit of butter to the melting chocolate and it got this lovely glossy look to it. Since I used peppermint oil I slowly added it in using a toothpick so it would not be overpowering. Now to dip these, this may sound funny - I took a plastic fork and broke off the middle two "sprongs" and it was a perfect handler for holding the cracker and turning it in the chocolate, lifting it out and putting it on the sheet. Quick and easy and the mint taste just lingers in your mouth afterward. I like it, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Made these with a friend to take to a cookie exchange and they were a huge hit! Very messy to make but simply delicious. Used semisweet melting chocolate and had to add quite a bit of sugar to make it sweet enough. Probably ended up using 2 tsp of peppermint extract as well. Will definitely be making again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This recipe is a keeper! I followed the recipe the first time. The second time I used one bag of Andes candies creme de menthe chips along with about 1/4-1/2 a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips (the mint by itself is too strong). Both ways turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      Wow, I am impressed! They are very close to the Girl Guide Cookies. I want to share my experience while making these....I added more peppermint extract than called for, and it began to solidify the chocolate when stirred in! I had to add a tablespoon of shortening and re-melt. In the end, the cookies turned out wonderfully, and the recipe made about 3 dozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      I have made this exact recipe and they tasted good. But I found a easier way to make them, and that is to use andes baking chips. You melt the chips and dip them in the ritz crackers. I have also dipped the andes baking chips in nilla wafers. Any combo tastes like thin mints girl scout cookies. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Easy and yummy! They really do taste just like thin mints. These are now a part of my Xmas cookie arsenal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      I also used Andes Mint chips. Could barely keep them long enough to get on cookie trays. Got fabulous reviews from everyone! Will definately be making these a regular on my cookie trays! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      My family loved these. I followed the recipe as written but doubled the recipe. They were a bit of a pain to make as they were messy but since my family loved them- it was worth it. I need to buy a pair of cooking tweezers for when I make them again. I would also use a double boiler.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      These are great!! I followed the directions as written. I put the chocolate into a small coffee mug to make it easier to dip them (saw that trick on PioneerWoman.com). DH loved them- and he's the GS "Thin Mint" lover. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      *******10 Stars******* These are great! They are super easy to make. I used Nestle Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mint Morsels (as noted by another reviewer). Melted those in double boiler, used tongs to coat in chocolate. Had DH on hand to sprinkle with green sugar after I placed on foil (for Christmas). They are GREAT! Very rich, but I am sure they will be a big hit!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      these were wonderful! I could not figure out how many squares of chocolate 1/2 lb was so I used the Andes chips others did... they were wonderful! I also used some white, red and green chips to swirl on the top to make them pretty! thx for posting this easy and good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2002

      They taste just like the thin mint cookies. I used Nestle semi- sweet chocolate mint morsels and melted them in the microwave. Thank you for this super recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      I made these again for Christmas and forgot to rate them. In the past I have used baking chocolate or chocolate chips and extract. This year I decided to try the Andes Mint Chocolate chips. I must say they are so much better with baking chocolate or Nestles chips. The Andes chips make a very thin coating and you can see the Ritz cracker through the chocolate. I did dip some of them twice and they were great but doing it 2 times is a pain. Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      I made a batch of these this morning to include in the goodie baskets for our neighbors. I used an electric chocolate pot and Andes mint chips. It was a simple process with extraordinary results. No more overly expensive Girl Scout cookies for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I needed one more cookie for my 2009 Christmas cookie collection. Someone mentioned these cookies where I work and said they were so easy to make and tasted as close as you could get to Girl Scout Cookies, which are a favorite cookie of everyone. This recipe came together so quickly. I didn't change a thing. Yummy, Yummy! I've now passed the recipe on to at least 5 more people. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      I needed a last minute quick cookie idea for christmas. I came across these and thought this couldn't be any easier. I didn't have peppermint extract so I melted some mint Hershey's kisses in with the other chocolate. I also added 3 Nestle striped baking chips on top to make them look festive for the holdiays. I made a plate for my aunt and uncle and a plate to take for dessert at my moms. I was hoping there would be leftovers but not a single cookie was left! They were gone in a flash. Thank you for posting such a delish/quick cookie. PS, these do taste like the Girl Scout Thinmints, yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I made these for a Christmas cookie exchange and Christmas day. They were very good and everyone wanted the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Perfection! Easy to make and completely delicious. We will enjoy this recipe for a very long time. Thank you Kim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Very Easy! I have a 5 year old that wants to be apart of the Christmas baking experience and these were the perfect project for her. She dropped the crackers in and I took them out. They didnt come out pretty but it was awesome that she could help. They do definitely taste like Girl Scout Thin Mints and they are cheaper too. Thanks for posting this recipe, it will definitely join in the ranks of my cookie exchange.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Mint Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (682 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.6
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    93%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    33%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes