115 Reviews

Love um. Easy as can be. I made 2 batches as written and 2 batches with the andes mint chips. I like them better as written. You get a thicker coating of chocolate and I think the flavor is closer to the girl scout cookies. Thanks for this great simple holiday cookie! Update - couldn't remember what type of chocolate I used the last time so I used semi sweet chips this time. I think they're better with milk chocolate! The problem people are having with the chocolate seizing when they add the extract can be fixed very simply - you add the extract to the chips and toss BEFORE putting over the heat. The seizing is caused by the temp difference. Using tweezers is also a great idea!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma December 10, 2010

I enjoyed these. I was craving the mint and chocolate combo so this was quick fix. I just bit into them and let the chocolate, cracker and mint taste melt away in my mouth. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and peppermint oil instead of extract because that is what I had on hand and also added a bit of butter to the melting chocolate and it got this lovely glossy look to it. Since I used peppermint oil I slowly added it in using a toothpick so it would not be overpowering. Now to dip these, this may sound funny - I took a plastic fork and broke off the middle two "sprongs" and it was a perfect handler for holding the cracker and turning it in the chocolate, lifting it out and putting it on the sheet. Quick and easy and the mint taste just lingers in your mouth afterward. I like it, thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. April 21, 2010

I have made this exact recipe and they tasted good. But I found a easier way to make them, and that is to use andes baking chips. You melt the chips and dip them in the ritz crackers. I have also dipped the andes baking chips in nilla wafers. Any combo tastes like thin mints girl scout cookies. Very good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasGirl December 15, 2010

Made these with a friend to take to a cookie exchange and they were a huge hit! Very messy to make but simply delicious. Used semisweet melting chocolate and had to add quite a bit of sugar to make it sweet enough. Probably ended up using 2 tsp of peppermint extract as well. Will definitely be making again! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSabrina December 31, 2009

This recipe is a keeper! I followed the recipe the first time. The second time I used one bag of Andes candies creme de menthe chips along with about 1/4-1/2 a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips (the mint by itself is too strong). Both ways turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
8nine December 22, 2009

These are great!! I followed the directions as written. I put the chocolate into a small coffee mug to make it easier to dip them (saw that trick on PioneerWoman.com). DH loved them- and he's the GS "Thin Mint" lover. This is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyB December 24, 2008

*******10 Stars******* These are great! They are super easy to make. I used Nestle Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mint Morsels (as noted by another reviewer). Melted those in double boiler, used tongs to coat in chocolate. Had DH on hand to sprinkle with green sugar after I placed on foil (for Christmas). They are GREAT! Very rich, but I am sure they will be a big hit!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katwomyn December 22, 2008

Wow, I am impressed! They are very close to the Girl Guide Cookies. I want to share my experience while making these....I added more peppermint extract than called for, and it began to solidify the chocolate when stirred in! I had to add a tablespoon of shortening and re-melt. In the end, the cookies turned out wonderfully, and the recipe made about 3 dozen.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skunk galloway December 08, 2005

For those who's chocolate seized, The recipe calls for peppermint oil, not extract. You should only use oil based flavorings to add to pure melted chocolate. Extracts contain alcohol which will cause your melted chocolate to seize.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamela2479 December 08, 2015

Easy and yummy! They really do taste just like thin mints. These are now a part of my Xmas cookie arsenal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetslover April 25, 2010
Christmas Mint Cookies