Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Hard Candy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Hard Candy

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2003

      I requested this recipe when I couldn't find my own. It was just what I needed. So simple and so good. Looks great in a small canning jar to be given as a gift. I used flavor oils: lemonade, licorice, and cran-raspberry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      This is great candy and very easy. Watch out if using cinnamon oil or other equally aromatic oil - the vapor can be irritating to eyes, etc. when you first put it in (this could be a duh, but I'm a novice!). Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      I needed a "coal" recipe for a gag Christmas gift, and tried this out. I used black Wilton paste coloring, and strawberry extract for flavor. I think I would increase the strawberry extract from the two tsp called for, as there was very little flavor. After breaking up the candy into "rocks", I liberally dusted them with powdered sugar, and they really look like pieces of coal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      When I make my hard tac candy, I spray pam in the tiny little ice cube trays,be easy on the pam you do not have to spray every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Just some tips for making hard candy: Omit corn syrup, can make mixture too hot, causes sugar to scorch. Add one tablespoon of vinegar to every cup of sugar you throw in the pot, this prevents re-crystalization of sugar. Add 2 tablespoons of corn starch. This can help to make the candy less sticky in areas where you deal with high humidity. Add food coloring at 260. Take mixture off heat at 300, let boiling action cease, add flavoring. Stir it in, put a lid on it for a few minutes. Pour candy onto a silicon mat. I place mine inside a cookie sheet. Let this cool off a bit, maybe 10-15 minutes. Once candy has cooled, take cookie sheet and pour off excess oil into sink. You can then pick up and stretch it, then form it into neat shapes, Candy canes too! After a few tugs, you'll get a nice opaque shiny color. Be careful about this, although candy is cool to touch on surface, it is still very hot underneath. Slip on a few disposable gloves to avoid blisters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      This recipe was really easy. At my first attempt to make hard candy was a success. I couldn't find oils, but used extracts and it work fine. Although, I'm not sure if it is elevation, or stove type, but It took much more than 30 minutes to bring the mixture to 300F. I would like to know though how hot to run the stove. I also wasn't sure how fast to heat the liquid. I did it slow and it worked well. The kids loved helping since it was so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe! I have made this every Christmas for the last couple of years and everyone always really likes it! I have never added the powdered sugar though - maybe I will try that out this time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This is the recipe I have made for 20 something years. I make 100 quarts of this every Christmas for dh and kids to give away to co workers. I always make cinnamon and look forward to making some other flavors as mentioned by reviewers here. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      This recipe was great for the first time making it. Someone said that the pieces were sharp for children to eat. I was ponder this statement of how to make it safer and decided to use a pastry cutter. I took the pastry cutter and wiped it with a light coating of oil. As the candy was cooling off I repeatedly scored the candy into squares using the pastry cutter. Be aware that the candy cools on the outside edge faster than the middle. Keep scoring until the center is cooled and the candy holds it's shape. This process is difficult w/ a foil pan. Alluminum or metal pan recommended. Once the candy is cool it breaks easily just by lightly dropping the pan on the counter top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      Actually I have been making hard candy for the last 15 years....I found a much easier way and so much faster way of making this....put everything but the oil in a glass microwave bowl...cover tightly with saran wrap...micro on high 6 minutes...take out and stir and put back in for another 6 minutes...be careful as very hot...take out and stir and add oil and coloring....pour out on greased and powdered cookie sheet...let cool and break up in pieces...so much faster this way just be careful the oil does not overpower you as the cinnamon flavor is really strong when added....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      This recipe took me back 25 years to the days when my Grandmother made it. It was easy to make and looks perfect in the clear christmas tree shaped candy jar. I made red cinnimon and green mint and mixed them together after I broke them apart. Ihe candy was a huge hit with the family and this will be a new tradition for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Very easy to make. Instead of cinnaman I used watermelon flavoring from a local baker/candy store. They turned out wonderful. I sent quite a few batches over to my brother in Afghanistan and just added extra powdered sugar to the container. He loved them, as did the rest of his unit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      real good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Made this recipe exactly as written using cinnamon oil and red food coloring. It was easy to make and very tasty! Thanks for sharing!-HK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      I tried the version someone posted saying to microwave for 6 mins. My candy never hardened, it was a sticky mush!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      I will try this for the first time this yr. Wish me luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      I love to make hard candy and this is the best recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      This was my first time making hard candy and it was a success! I forgot to add the powdered sugar at the end, but it still turned out to be delicious. I boiled mine at a medium high heat and it took about 25 minutes to get to 300 degrees. I actually made a strawberry cheesecake flavored candy instead of a Christmas flavored candy. I got my flavoring oils off of the candylandcrafts website and also got a star candy mold there. Next time, I'll be less generous on the spray when I grease my molds because a little went a very long way. This will be made time and time again at our house. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      I have a friend whose family makes many, many batches of this every Christmas to give as gifts. They make a variety of flavors - from cinnamon to lemon to cherry. It is always very popular with all who try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      Great candy! We made peppermint and even though it took a long time to reach 300, it was well worth the time. My kids love to pop one of these in their mouths! A new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Hard Candy

    Serving Size: 1 (1348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3967.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1035.4 g
    345%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 880.1 g
    3520%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cinnamon oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites