7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a festive side dish that was perfect for the holidays. To cut down on the time spent prepping, I just ended up buying a bag of pre-cut coleslaw. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was a hit. I also feel like this coleslaw would work well as a side dish served with Asian food, so it doesn't have to be a once-a-year recipe. Great recipe- thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 28, 2012

Very pretty and tasty both making a prefect slaw for not just the holidays but for pot lucks as well because it is made a day ahead. Everyone enjoyed the natural sweetness the cranberries and orange juice gave up against the cabbage and onions. Made as written and will make again. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl March 13, 2011

Having followed this exactly, this is a wonderful change from the same ol' coleslaw. Thank goodness this is not Christmas, (yet) but I was able to get some very special dried cranberries from Whole Foods. I used a fresh head of cabbage, fresh o.j. and the cilantro was a must for us, and just stupendous! Made for Everyday is a Holiday May 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 19, 2009

I really enjoyed this! I would make a couple of changes though; personally I'd prefer less cranberries, and I added about 1/4 cup of rice vinegar to the batch. I was surprised, couldn't taste the orange at all, so the vinegar really perked up the flavor a great deal. All in all, I'm looking forward to leftovers! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child February 11, 2009

Wonderful coleslaw mikekey! I loved the tart from the cranberries with the sweeter dressing. Used parsley instead of cilantro and prepackaged coleslaw mix. Pretty mix for the holidays but tasty for any time of year. A definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 27, 2007

I know it's not Christmas - but I think this works well in the middle of the Summer too!! This came out quite tasty! Loved the added sweetness of the cranberries! Used a bag of preshredded cabbage. Thanks mikekey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie June 25, 2007

Definitely a winter holiday kind of slaw, I nevertheless whipped it together & served it in April! A great-tasting slaw, what with the combination of cranberries & orange juice! Definitely something I'll be making even over the warmer summer months! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 15, 2007
Christmas Coleslaw