49 Reviews

I made these for Christmas and really enjoyed them. I read the reviews and used 2/3 chocolate chips and 1/3 white chips. I'm glad I did because I think otherwise the chocolate would have overpowered the cherries. I also used part shortening and part butter. I will be making these again for the Holidays

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corn Maiden December 27, 2010

I'm sorry. I really, really want to like this recipe. The batter tastes wonderful (like chocolate covered cherries), but I'm not crazy about the final product. It's okay, but tastes like there's just too much in there and I don't taste much other than the chocolate chips. I might try again omitting the chocolate chips.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L00k December 21, 2009

The kids really liked these. Make sure to really drain the cherries otherwise the dough will be too wet and you will get flat cookies. If that happens you can add another 1/2 cup or so of flour to the remaining dough. That's what I did.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 December 25, 2007

These are absolutely delicious. I did not get picture-perfect results, which may be because I live at high altitude. My cookies spread a lot during baking, so I will play with this recipe to see if I can overcome this next time. (And there WILL be a next time!) I substituted vanilla extract because I'm allergic to almonds. Also, I divided the dough and used white chips in half the batch, which was also delicious. I only used 1 10-oz jar of cherries, and the cookies seemed perfectly cherrylicious to me. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth December 13, 2008

I followed the reciped exactly. However I left the chocolate chips out. The first batch came out not at all puffy or like a drop cookie should.So to remedy this slight problem, I added a extra 1/2 cup of flour (total amount 21/2 cups fo flour) to the dough which gave it a lovely soft puffy cookie instead of a flatter looking cookie. The cookies were a winner with everyone that ate the cookie. Thumbs up on this one.This is now added to my Christmas list of cookies to bake. Thank you for sharing this recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cafetymme December 13, 2007

I've made these for years as a traditional Christmas cookie to give to friends. They are wonderful! One thing I do frequently is substitute red and green glace cherries for the maraschino cherries. They don't 'bleed' into the mixture and taste really great! Also, I mix by hand rather than use an electric mixer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarniaKid December 10, 2011

Really good cookies! I agree with others and think they would be great without the chocolate chips or use white chocolate chips. I used half butter and half shortening only because to me cookies have to have butter in them. Mine spread quite a bit and were not as pretty as the picture, probably beacuse of the butter. DH claimed they may be his new favorite. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 09, 2011

We loved these cookies! I used a 375ml bottle of cherries, drained them well and chopped up, not too fine though. I used flaked coconut and Nestle Swirls; semi-sweet & white chocolate chips. Delicious, thanks for this great recipe VillageMom.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen1 December 15, 2009

These are FABULOUS cookies!! I know it's nowhere near Christmas, ;) but the ingredients got to me! LOL Easy to whip up , the worst is chopping the cherries, but I let my little chopper thing do all the work :) We all loved the flavor of these tender , super flavorful cookies. The cherry REALLY jumps at you , and I love that. For anyone who may not know offhand, in order to get 1 1/2 cups chopped maraschino cherries, I had to use a 10 oz. jar + a bit more out of another jar. Maybe a third of another jar? Also, after I drained them, and chopped them , by the time I got the other ingredients mixed and it was time to fold in the cherries, I definitely had to drain them again!! :) I got 42 decent sized cookies out of the dough too! These will most definitely be going on any Christmas cookie trays I make this year, and definitely will be made for just us as well! Thanks so much for a real keeper cookie!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. April 01, 2007

I made these last night and they were delicious! My family loved them. Based on past reviews, I cut down on the chocolate chips (2/3 cup) and used mini chips. Next time, I will use full-sized chips and probably a full cup because the chocolate hold up against the strong cherry and coconut flavors. I might cut down on the sugar because my son said it was a tad too sweet, and I agree. Though, my wife said she loved how tart they were. Also, if you have time, cook just a couple first to see if they spread too much. If so, add more flour to the remaining mix. I wish I had done that because my cookies are pretty large, *almost" too big for one serving. :) I'll be doing these again with the above tweaks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pondridge December 31, 2015
Christmas Chocolate Cherry Cookies