Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Chocolate Cherry Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Chocolate Cherry Cookies

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2010

      I made these for Christmas and really enjoyed them. I read the reviews and used 2/3 chocolate chips and 1/3 white chips. I'm glad I did because I think otherwise the chocolate would have overpowered the cherries. I also used part shortening and part butter. I will be making these again for the Holidays

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      These are absolutely delicious. I did not get picture-perfect results, which may be because I live at high altitude. My cookies spread a lot during baking, so I will play with this recipe to see if I can overcome this next time. (And there WILL be a next time!) I substituted vanilla extract because I'm allergic to almonds. Also, I divided the dough and used white chips in half the batch, which was also delicious. I only used 1 10-oz jar of cherries, and the cookies seemed perfectly cherrylicious to me. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      The kids really liked these. Make sure to really drain the cherries otherwise the dough will be too wet and you will get flat cookies. If that happens you can add another 1/2 cup or so of flour to the remaining dough. That's what I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      Really good cookies! I agree with others and think they would be great without the chocolate chips or use white chocolate chips. I used half butter and half shortening only because to me cookies have to have butter in them. Mine spread quite a bit and were not as pretty as the picture, probably beacuse of the butter. DH claimed they may be his new favorite. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I'm sorry. I really, really want to like this recipe. The batter tastes wonderful (like chocolate covered cherries), but I'm not crazy about the final product. It's okay, but tastes like there's just too much in there and I don't taste much other than the chocolate chips. I might try again omitting the chocolate chips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      We loved these cookies! I used a 375ml bottle of cherries, drained them well and chopped up, not too fine though. I used flaked coconut and Nestle Swirls; semi-sweet & white chocolate chips. Delicious, thanks for this great recipe VillageMom.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I followed the reciped exactly. However I left the chocolate chips out. The first batch came out not at all puffy or like a drop cookie should.So to remedy this slight problem, I added a extra 1/2 cup of flour (total amount 21/2 cups fo flour) to the dough which gave it a lovely soft puffy cookie instead of a flatter looking cookie. The cookies were a winner with everyone that ate the cookie. Thumbs up on this one.This is now added to my Christmas list of cookies to bake. Thank you for sharing this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      These are FABULOUS cookies!! I know it's nowhere near Christmas, ;) but the ingredients got to me! LOL Easy to whip up , the worst is chopping the cherries, but I let my little chopper thing do all the work :) We all loved the flavor of these tender , super flavorful cookies. The cherry REALLY jumps at you , and I love that. For anyone who may not know offhand, in order to get 1 1/2 cups chopped maraschino cherries, I had to use a 10 oz. jar + a bit more out of another jar. Maybe a third of another jar? Also, after I drained them, and chopped them , by the time I got the other ingredients mixed and it was time to fold in the cherries, I definitely had to drain them again!! :) I got 42 decent sized cookies out of the dough too! These will most definitely be going on any Christmas cookie trays I make this year, and definitely will be made for just us as well! Thanks so much for a real keeper cookie!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      These are so good. What's not to like about chocolate chips, cherries and coconut. I am in heaven. These cookies were so good. They almost didn't make it too the Christmas tins. I had to make a second batch. I made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. The texture and flavor were spot on and they were quick and easy to make too. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful treat with all of us. Made for Sweet December 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Made with some alterations based on past reviews, and based on being vegan. I subbed 1/2 cup silken firm tofu for the eggs 3/4 tsp EnerG. I had NO problems with flat cookies! :) I only used 2/3 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and thought that was perfect! Used a full 16oz jar cherries (well drained) Next time I'll pack my coconut a little tigher as I think that is really what amps these up! I love that they're made with all shortening. I haven't found a "make every year" Christmas cookie for a while, but I think with a few tiny tweaks these will be a new tradition! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Fantastic cookies! I'm not even a fan of marachino cherries and I still loved these! They're very colorful and perfect for xmas. I mase these just as written and these textures and flavors are perfect together. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      I've made these for years as a traditional Christmas cookie to give to friends. They are wonderful! One thing I do frequently is substitute red and green glace cherries for the maraschino cherries. They don't 'bleed' into the mixture and taste really great! Also, I mix by hand rather than use an electric mixer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Be very careful to drain the cherries thoroughly, if preserved in liquid. Otherwise they come out very sticky. I used black cherries (frozen and thawed), and they tasted much like Cherry Garcia ice cream--when mixed well. It's very hard to get a good mix of cherry, chocolate, and coconut in each cookie, much less each bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      I made these last year and they were the biggest hit of the party. The only difference I made was to use bittersweet chocolate instead of semi sweet. This year I may try the 2 different color cherries and see how they look.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      I have been making these the last 3 Christmases and they are now the "must make" cookie. Every year I have people saying "I don't like coconut." Then they try these and they LOVE THEM. They look really festive and stay very soft due to the coconut...they are very sweet. I too had some burn on the bottom, I'm thinking maybe because of the shortening... but when they turn out right, they are awesome and much loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      These were wonderful! I made them for my Christmas cookie tray and they were really a hit! I loved the flavor combination and so did everyone else. These are a keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      These look so pretty! I'm not a huge fan of cherry OR cocount but I thoguht the pic looked so nice that I made them anyway to take to a family Christmas. I was shocked how much I liked them. The almond flavor was really nice too. I think maybe next time I'll use white chocolate chips -- I think that would look really nice, and also cut back on the amount of the chocolate chips a bit. Overall a great & different cookie recipe :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Very pretty colors in this cookie -- I too used red & green cherries. Be careful of the timing, though... one pan burnt a little on the bottom. They taste great just out of the oven. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      These are very good. The only change I made to the recipe was to sub half of the red maraschino cherries with green maraschino cherries. Gave it even more of a Christmas cookie look. Thumbs up to this recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      These were amazing! I used chocolate chips as well as white chocolate chips. They turned out very yummy. I used half to give away as gifts and the other half my bf ate in one day. Definately a keeper. Thanks VillageMom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Chocolate Cherry Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.1
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    55%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 48.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    maraschino cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites