18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies were totally delicious and so simple to make. I used egg wash on the almonds before putting them on top so they'd stick. My favorite arrangement was just a bunch of broken almond slices. I also tried mini chocolate chips. Thank you Bergy for helping me with my Chrismas cookie assortment this year!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merylsp December 21, 2008

Just made these cookies, haven't even taken them out of the oven but I can say that even with extra butter the dough was too dry and crumbly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vivian J. December 14, 2014

I love Cardamom and hoped these cookies would melt in your mouth. The batter was so dry, I could barely roll the dough a fragile ball. When I tried to flatten them with a glass; they turned into crumbs. Disappointing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wilkins315 December 23, 2013

Made this for my Christmas trays and followed the directions completely. They smelled so good while cooking and when DH tasted them he kept coming back for more so I had to hide them away so I'd have some for Christmas. That's a real compliment as he's not much of a sweets guy. The flavors are exotic and they are pretty to boot - a great addition

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 12, 2013

Very yummy! I used half whole wheat flour and needed to add a little more butter. I coated them too well with the powdered sugar though and found them a bit too sweet for my taste. I'll put less next time I make them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belloo December 04, 2013

Perfect cookie. I am not even done baking the batch, and the cookies that have cooled are already gone ;) I followed the recipe exactly, and I didn't have any problems with it. I do weigh ingredients, so that might be why. Crisp, buttery, perfect all the way. I am going to omit the cardamom and almonds, and use this as a crust for some cheesecake cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jadeblackhawk November 23, 2013

To die for. My family and guests devoured them! I did follow other reviews and added more butter and sugar. I used unrefined/unbleached sugar and added and extra 1/2 cup. I probably added about 1/8 extra cup of butter (I was using clarified butter because of a family dairy allergy). Thanks for this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mandy #5 January 23, 2010

yummy, just tried it this afternoon and it came really good. i even changed a bit of the recipe - i added the chopped almonds in the mixture and it came really nice too. i read in one of the reviews to add more sugar which i did - however i think that's too sweet for my taste. next time i would follow explicitly the recipe with 1/2 cup (i added another 1/8 that's why)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madeinthekitchen December 03, 2008

Wonderful! Make certain to grind your own cardamon if possible. The pre-ground "stuff" at the grocery store isn't nearly as good and has 1/10th the taste. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheSource October 25, 2008

I've never tried Cardamom before and boy was I missing out! lol I gave these a try and I must say they are outstanding! A definate keeper! I did mine a little different thanks to anothers review, accident due to rushing, laziness, and just taste preference! lol Thanks to anothers review I also added an extra 1/4 c. butter (my mix was extremely crumbly, couldn't roll it), thanks to an accident due to rushing I stirred the 1/2 c. almond slivers into the mix and rolled into balls that way, and thanks to laziness I didn't flatten out the cookies, I left them in balls and baked. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract just because I like the taste of almond. I don't think the extract took away from the cardamom flavor at all. These were sooo good! Thanks Bergy for an excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcfdwife March 17, 2008
Christmas Cardamom Butter Cookies