Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Cardamom Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Cardamom Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      These cookies were totally delicious and so simple to make. I used egg wash on the almonds before putting them on top so they'd stick. My favorite arrangement was just a bunch of broken almond slices. I also tried mini chocolate chips. Thank you Bergy for helping me with my Chrismas cookie assortment this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      I love Cardamom and hoped these cookies would melt in your mouth. The batter was so dry, I could barely roll the dough a fragile ball. When I tried to flatten them with a glass; they turned into crumbs. Disappointing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Made this for my Christmas trays and followed the directions completely. They smelled so good while cooking and when DH tasted them he kept coming back for more so I had to hide them away so I'd have some for Christmas. That's a real compliment as he's not much of a sweets guy. The flavors are exotic and they are pretty to boot - a great addition

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      Very yummy! I used half whole wheat flour and needed to add a little more butter. I coated them too well with the powdered sugar though and found them a bit too sweet for my taste. I'll put less next time I make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      Perfect cookie. I am not even done baking the batch, and the cookies that have cooled are already gone ;) I followed the recipe exactly, and I didn't have any problems with it. I do weigh ingredients, so that might be why. Crisp, buttery, perfect all the way. I am going to omit the cardamom and almonds, and use this as a crust for some cheesecake cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      To die for. My family and guests devoured them! I did follow other reviews and added more butter and sugar. I used unrefined/unbleached sugar and added and extra 1/2 cup. I probably added about 1/8 extra cup of butter (I was using clarified butter because of a family dairy allergy). Thanks for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      yummy, just tried it this afternoon and it came really good. i even changed a bit of the recipe - i added the chopped almonds in the mixture and it came really nice too. i read in one of the reviews to add more sugar which i did - however i think that's too sweet for my taste. next time i would follow explicitly the recipe with 1/2 cup (i added another 1/8 that's why)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Wonderful! Make certain to grind your own cardamon if possible. The pre-ground "stuff" at the grocery store isn't nearly as good and has 1/10th the taste. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I've never tried Cardamom before and boy was I missing out! lol I gave these a try and I must say they are outstanding! A definate keeper! I did mine a little different thanks to anothers review, accident due to rushing, laziness, and just taste preference! lol Thanks to anothers review I also added an extra 1/4 c. butter (my mix was extremely crumbly, couldn't roll it), thanks to an accident due to rushing I stirred the 1/2 c. almond slivers into the mix and rolled into balls that way, and thanks to laziness I didn't flatten out the cookies, I left them in balls and baked. I also added 1 tsp of almond extract just because I like the taste of almond. I don't think the extract took away from the cardamom flavor at all. These were sooo good! Thanks Bergy for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Yummy, yummy! I made these just this afternoon and what a wonderful taste filled cookie. These are delicate yummies! Thanks, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      These were great cokkies!!! I used them for a project and they were a big hit!!!! They were very easy to make(we had 3 people making them).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      Thank you Bergy for an outstanding shortbread variation. I forgot to spray my sheets (I never do with shortbread) BUT if you do what I did...make sure those cookies cool real good before you get them out to a rack or they'll fall apart. 1/2 cup sugar is the right sweetness for traditional shortbread so I kept to that measurement. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      What a GREAT shortbread cookie! It was very crumbly in the bowl when mixed so I added 1/4 cup more softened butter so it would hold together and that worked MUCH better. Next time I'll also increase the sugar a little too as suggested in one of the previous reviews (although they are great as they are!) All in all a WONDERFUL cookie! Had to make them when I saw the cardamom - which I absolutely love! For those who don't know - flours vary in moisture content by company (humidity when processing), the type of wheat, and the age of the flour when it is used (time decreases moisture) That is why there is a variance of flour in some recipes (ie: 3 - 31/2 cups) so apparently the flour I used had less moisture than the flour others used. Since I didn't want to add another ingredient (ie: water) I just used the 1/4 cup of butter I already had to room temp when I left it out to make the cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      These cookies are fabulous. Perfect amount of cardamom. My dough was a bit crumbly in the bowl, but the cookies formed nicely and baked evenly. I love these cookies. Thanks Bergy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      my aunt thea made these cookies all of the time but she never gave me the recipe correctly, one of the steps or one of the ingredients was missing. Bergy I love you, this is my aunt's identical recipe!!! buttery, crispy, amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2004

      I can't believe I forgot to review these~! I made these last weekend before my ILs came to visit for Thanksgiving they are wonderful cookies! Lovely textured, and wonderful cardamom flavor. Loved the flavor of these--definitely one of the best-flavored cookies I've ever had the pleasure to bake or eat. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      Bergy, I made these today and was very nervous about the amt of cardamom in them but they turned out stellar! Soft, buttery with only a hint of cardamom. I too omitted the salt and used salted butter and increased the sugar about an 1/8 of a cup. Thanks Bergy! I was worried about these cookies before I put them in the oven but not now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Cardamom Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (649 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.2
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    50%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 22.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites