Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Christmas Breakfast Bacon Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Christmas Breakfast Bacon Casserole

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2010

      My family really like this recipe. I do not use whole milk in our home we use 1% and although the recipe says no substitutes I did it anyway. I did reduce the milk by 1/2 cup due to whole milk being a big more heavy then mine so it would not be runny. I also used whole wheat bread and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Great "breakfast for dinner" casserole! Made for 4 servings and sprinkled a little extra cheese on top after it came out of the oven. Was nice and light and not over cooked. I made this in a 9-in pie plate and it turned out perfect. Made for I Recommend Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Did make a couple of changes, but not big ones, I thought ~ I used a nutty, whole grain bread rather than a white bread, & did not cut the crusts off as we like 'em! Also used Hormel's Real Bacon Pieces instead of the regular bacon! AND, the resulting casserole was absolutely delicious! Had a couple of friends for breakfast when this was on the table, & there wasn't much left when we finished! Thanks for posting this great keeper of a recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      made this for a shower and it was gone fast. i used a 9x13 pan and am very glad i did bc when it baked up it rose an inch or 2 above the pan and made me worried, but once i took it out of the oven, it deflated a bit and was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      We followed the recipe to a T. We made our own bread to use. The eggs were so light and fluffy, not dried out and hard. Everyone enjoyed it and had seconds. Thanks again for the posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      this was a VERY good casserole! i made it to take to work, and most of my co-workers really liked it. i loaded it with bacon and some ham i had left over so it gave it great flavor. the only thing that bothered me a bit was the texture...it was a bit "mooshy" to me...but i believe that was my fault due to the type of bread i used. i had a loaf of potato bread handy, which gave it kind of an odd flavor...i should have just used white like the Lainey uses...she knows best! other than the potato bread, the taste was very very good tho, and i will definitely be making another one soon...perhaps even this weekend for the dear boyfriend to try. Thanks Lainey!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I've tried many different breakfast casseroles to serve Christmas morning. This is the best of the 10+ I've tried. I believe the secret is using the whole milk. That is why Lainey says "no substitutes". My family liked it so much we have it cooking again today. NOTE: I use English muffin bread from Publix. I use the whole loaf, crust and all. Makes alot to feed a large family. I keep everything else the same. I just push the pieces down to be sure they all come in contact with the liquid. Lainey, Thanks for sharing this easy, delightful recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was a great way to start the morning. I cut the recipe down a little to make an 8x8 casserole and used canadian bacon within and on top. Smelled wonderful when baking. Turned out yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This casserole was good, but I ran into a little trouble. I used skim milk and found it to be a little runny...maybe I should cook it longer the directed &/or reduce the amt. of milk. Also, I used maple bacon and the syrupy taste was a bad combo with the casserole. I like this recipe and you could use just about any type of cheese and meat you'd like. Next time I'm using sausage...YUM! Thanks Lainey!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I just made this for Christmas breakfast! My whole family loved it! Next time, I might add some veggies - mushrooms, black olives, onion, and green pepper! Thanks for the great recipe! Also - it says that the prep time is over an hour - it only took me about 10 minutes (minus the chilling!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      This was a very good casserole. It was so soft and fluffy. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      This was so good and love the ease of making the night before. The only thing I did differant was also add some cooked and chopped ham steak over the top. Served with sides of salsa and sour cream and everyone LOVED it. Great when you've got a crowd like we have right now and was enjoyed by all. I'd never done the bread cubes before and was worried about them being soggy - but was not the case - it was just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Followed the recipe and the result was a mushy casserole, my husband was disappointed and would have liked there to be more texture. It tasted great and leftover were yummy. I might try using stale bread or baguette bread and less milk next time. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This recipe is a real winner! I made it for my family at Christmas and everyone loved it so much they wanted me to make another one the following morning. It's so good, why limit yourself to having it just for Breakfast? Serve it, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, or Dinner -- heck, even a midnight snack would be yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Lainey, I love this recipe! I've been making it for years and it is always a hit. Most of the time I make it with a combo of sausage and bacon. It's so easy to put together and makes breakfast time so easy the next morning. Try it folks, it's good any morning, not just the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      We enjoyed this for breakfast this morning! All our favorite breakfast foods - bacon, eggs, & cheese - in one easy-to-prepare dish. The flavor was very mild so we did salt & pepper at the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I have never made an over night breakfast before and found this very simple and easy to do - doesn't require a lot of ingredients. Everyone in family liked it including my sons ( early twenties) and my mother-inlaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      My compliments to the chef--this is REALLLLY good! Nice change from the other breakfast casseroles that call for cream soups and such--this is nice and eggy. Of course IMHO ANYTHING with bacon is a winner, but this really hit the spot! *Made for Favorite Holiday Tag 7-14-07*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Christmas Breakfast Bacon Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.4
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    56%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 182.3 mg
    60%
    Sodium 575.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites