22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These biscotti were terrific!!! It was difficult to keep from eating all of the dough before they were baked. The flavor is just fabulous. I had to make just a couple of minor substitutions because my local stores did not have all that I needed. I ended up using cherry-flavored Craisins and salted dry-roasted pistachio kernels. (I just added less salt to the recipe.) Always use freshly-grated orange zest; the dried stuff just doesn't compare. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libertycooker December 08, 2008

This was my first attempt at biscotti and they turned out great. I couldn't find raw pistachios or plain dried cranberries at my local store and didn't want to make a special trip, so I bought a bag of roasted, salted pistachios and craisins. It was a little bit of work to remove all the pistachios from the shells, but it was well worth the effort. I also used Splenda sugar blend instead of regular sugar. I dipped each piece half way in white chocolate. Wow! I will be making these all year. The hint of clove and orange just really set off all the flavors. Thanks for the great treat Mary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RayMakMama January 28, 2008

This was my first attempt at biscotti. It didn't make quite as much as I wanted, so I made another batch the next day. While the first batch was near-perfect, the second didn't cook up as nicely and crumbled when cut. Will certainly try again and again until perfected, as the flavor was excellent. Dipped one batch in chocolate, and will alternate with white chocolate in the future. Thanks for a great Christmas snack to pass out to friends and neighbors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NavyWife'nMom December 26, 2007

I've never made biscotti before, but I felt that it was something I needed to learn to do this Christmas. Instead of cranberries and nuts, I made them plain and then dipped them in chocolate and sprinkled them with red, green and white sprinkles. They were excellent! Everyone raved about them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PumpKIM December 23, 2007

I can't begin to tell you how thrilled I am with this biscotti! It's perfect! Having never made biscotti of any kind before, I was a bit wary of the outcome, but it turned out to be easier to make than plain ol' cookies and the taste is out of this world! I also can't stand cloves, and I was extremely hesitant to add them. I thought about subbing with cinnamon, but decided at the last minute to just use a scant 1/2 tsp. cloves, and I'm really glad I did. The flavor is so subtle you can barely tell it's there - my husband was surprised when I told him that was the only spice in them. It really just accents the orange and adds a depth of flavor. I did cut them closer to one inch per another reviewer's suggestion, and the texture was perfect - crisp but not at all hard like biscotti can sometimes be. I dipped some of these in chocolate, and while I did enjoy the addition of chocolate and I think it makes them look very pretty, these really don't need anything extra - and I'm a serious chocolate lover. Each year I make some cookies for my husband to take as a small gift to his co-workers; this year, this will be the only cookie I'll make. They're just that great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 December 14, 2006

This has become my favorite biscotti!! It's easy to make and tastes awesome!! I've had many compliments and requests to make more. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hockey_mom November 28, 2006

Very good biscotti. Next time I might dip them half way in chocolate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience January 11, 2006

Stunning! This was the first time I tried biscotti and I'm impressed! I may have turned the oven up too high so they were a little on the brown side but I cant wait to make some more and iron out my mistakes! Really tasty with the rind and gorgeous to look at, it may be a little hard packaging these up to give away, we've already starting scoffing them...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kazryn December 20, 2005

Excellent nice hard biscotti, exactly the way they should be wanted to make a bit sweter added cherry pieces 2nd time around EXCELLENT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Cooper December 12, 2005

I should not have waited so long to review this recipe. These were great. I made them last Christmas and looked it up to make this Christmas. Slice them closer to 1 inch and they will be crisp not hard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacChef December 11, 2005
Christmas Biscotti