22 Reviews

This is the first biscotti that I've ever made. It was excellent. I tried a serrated knive, and an electric knife, but what worked best was my Cutco butcher knife. I didn't "saw" I just pushed straight down. It worked perfectly. And, they ARE beautiful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. February 16, 2010

Love them! Love them! Love them! I know they're Christmas Biscotti, but I'm Jewish and it's May and they're still good. =:) Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Florida Cook May 28, 2009

Wonderful biscotti! The texture of these is perfect and the recipe instructions and baking time are also perfect. I'm not a huge fan of cloves alone, but I can't fault the recipe for that. I'd omit the cloves next time or substitute for something I like better. I used dried cherries, cut in half, for the cranberries. Lovely biscotti!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo December 21, 2008

Be sure to roughly chop dried cherries or cranberries and they slice better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cspacone December 22, 2014

The flavor of this biscotti is wonderful! My only complaint was that they crumbled a bit on cutting, but then I used a serrated knife. I'll use a butcher knife next time as suggested by another reviewer. I had to use roasted pistachios as raw ones were not available. I just rinsed and dried them to get rid of the salt. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds December 16, 2012

I've been making these for Christmas for the last 3 years. Now my daughter is demanding them for Thanksgiving. The hardest part is getting the pistachio nuts out of their shells They are worth way more than 5 stars. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
contactkitcalvin November 20, 2012

The recipe worked beautifully and came out very delicious. Will be adding this to my yearly cookie repertoire. I omitted the cloves because I like the clean flavors of just the fruit, nuts and vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuraCeol December 17, 2011

I really like the flavour of these, but mine turned out crumbly. Additionally, even with a very good serrated knife, I found it difficult to cut through the cranberries, so they would pull out of the cookies, leaving empty indentations. Maybe an electric knife would be better. I drizzled with white chocolate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelak December 13, 2009

Just made these biscotti and thought they turned out great. I drizzled melted chocolate over them and they taste wonderful. Thanks for the recipe Mary in NJ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helen.g.howard December 24, 2008

I agree with the other reviews...these are great! The recipe is easy to follow too. The only changes I made was to dip them in chocolate. Thanks Mary!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuteCook in Canada December 18, 2008
Christmas Biscotti