Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chris's Pueblo Green Chili Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chris's Pueblo Green Chili Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2014

      Moved to Florida years ago and somewhere in all the moving I lost my green chili recipe. It has been cold here the last couple weeks. (50's and 60's.. Don't laugh)! I have a craving for my green chili and found your recipe! Made me miss home and decided to make some and have a slipper for dinner today! Can't wait for it to get done and my home now smells like I remember home home used to smell! Thank you for this recipe and the memories of home you have brought me this weekend! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      I wanted to try this, because of the reference of Pueblo, since live here and have made, a many pot, of Green Chili. It is a good chili, tweaked it a little (made hotter and I ALWAYS use slow roasted pork butt), but all and all not bad for a beginner's first shot at it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      I grew up in Pueblo and frankly was unaware that it was only a regional dish. I moved away to Virginia for college and soon found out that it was chile-less. I'm so glad you posted this recipe! I've made it several times now for all of my friends and they LOVE it. They beg me for it. That said, I've learned that you can use the fat from cooking the pork for the rue. I separate the meat into a cold crock pot and add the rue broth to the crock pot later. Then I can let it stew all day without having to worry about it. Additionally, corn starch works much better than flour for the rue, and if you mix the corn starch in cold water, you can add it anytime to thicken as necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      My Husband was born and raised in Pueblo... He says every meal is better smothered in Green Chili. We have to make a trip back home for him every year and bring home a bushel of green chilis, roast them and freeze them just so we can make green chili over and over again! This recipe is great! Never thought of using curry powder but it really works well. I used pueblo and added poblano's (thats the best I can find in Florida). Great flavor and very freezable! Green Chili sloppers for dinner tonight! Thanks Chris! One more note: My Husband says it's just as good as the Chili served at the Star Bar in Pueblo. Thats his favorite place to get it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I'm originally from Pueblo Colorado and have grown up eating green chili on just about everything. I had to move to Arizona and find a way to make it myself. I found this wonderful recipe and it takes me back home! I have made it twice this week to feed friends and family and co-workers, they all loved it!!! I will be cooking this many more times and have already been requested to make it again LOL! Thanks Chris for adding this awesome recipe : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I have made this once and I am about to make it for a group of people today. The first time I made it I did not have the pork, but it still turned out excellent! My husband loved it and he is very picky about his green chili. Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This is wonderful, I make Chili Verde all the time, this is better I had to use fresh Jalapenos but they were fine, besides that The only other change was to add allot more garlic. Thank you for your recipe I will treasure it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This green chili recipe is nothing short of amazing. Make it, and you won't regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      We are Colorado natives who have bounced around the country most of our adult lives. This recipe is entirely indigenous to Southern Colorado, primarily Colorado Springs south and southwest to the New Mexico border. If you haven't tried this you haven't truly experienced life as it is meant to be lived! This is a great recipe, even if you chicken out and just make it mild (however, it's best as hot as you can take it). If you can find real Hatch, NM chili's (the hotter the better) you'll have a dinner your guests will talk about often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This is delicious! I made it vegetarian (olive oil instead of bacon fat, no-chicken broth and omitted the pork) and it was SOOOOOO good! Like it says, if you want mild don't add the serranos. We like hot food and I put in 4 serranos with seeds, it was really hot and also flavorful. My husband has a new fave food LOL. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Having grown up in Pueblo, I have sorely missed great Green Chile since moving to the Northwest. This recipe is the real deal. Don't be afraid of the serrano chiles. I like to let this simmer in a crock pot for several hours and add the green chiles in over the last 2 hours to retain some of the firmness. Great Recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Not at all what we were hoping for. Using only 2 serranos, it was much too hot for this Texan. The search continues for the perfect green chili recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      I live in Pueblo and have eaten plenty of green chili. This definitely ranks up there with the best! It never lasts long when I make it and always gets rave reviews. I like to use a little more chicken broth and water than recommended. If you buy frozen chillies be careful, the hot ones are really hot (the mild ones are pretty hot too). Thanks for the recipe Chris!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I have family in Colorado, and several years ago when my Aunt and her now ex-husband came home to Ohio for a visit, he made us green chili. He showed me how to make it and I made it once soon after that, but never wrote it down. This recipe is very similar to what I remember, and it was soooo good! I didn't use the serrano chilies because I like just a mild heat, and this was still pretty spicy for me! I made it with your chicken enchiladas and they made a perfect pair. Thank you so much for this recipe, I can't wait to make it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I have been looking for a good green chili recipe and tried this one last week. Very good and tasty. I did leave out the serrano chilis and used some roasted green chilis that I had in the freezer. Will definitely cook this one again and add to my personal cookbook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      Finally I have found the Green Chili recipe I've been looking for all these years since I left Colorado! Our family used to go to the local mexican restaurant in Silverton and eat the chili by itself with tortillas, it is also excellent over burritos and I'll definitely have to try the Green Chili Sloppers suggested here. Thanks Chris :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Make this, you won't be disappointed. This has great flavor, and I'm passing it along to friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chris's Pueblo Green Chili Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.9
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    52%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 31.7 mg
    10%
    Sodium 322.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    roasted green chilies

    Season-All salt

    salt and pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites