17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Moved to Florida years ago and somewhere in all the moving I lost my green chili recipe. It has been cold here the last couple weeks. (50's and 60's.. Don't laugh)! I have a craving for my green chili and found your recipe! Made me miss home and decided to make some and have a slipper for dinner today! Can't wait for it to get done and my home now smells like I remember home home used to smell! Thank you for this recipe and the memories of home you have brought me this weekend! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fabznsam January 25, 2014

I wanted to try this, because of the reference of Pueblo, since live here and have made, a many pot, of Green Chili. It is a good chili, tweaked it a little (made hotter and I ALWAYS use slow roasted pork butt), but all and all not bad for a beginner's first shot at it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Llanda Be Eatingfood June 20, 2013

I grew up in Pueblo and frankly was unaware that it was only a regional dish. I moved away to Virginia for college and soon found out that it was chile-less. I'm so glad you posted this recipe! I've made it several times now for all of my friends and they LOVE it. They beg me for it. That said, I've learned that you can use the fat from cooking the pork for the rue. I separate the meat into a cold crock pot and add the rue broth to the crock pot later. Then I can let it stew all day without having to worry about it. Additionally, corn starch works much better than flour for the rue, and if you mix the corn starch in cold water, you can add it anytime to thicken as necessary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjdarnell November 23, 2011

My Husband was born and raised in Pueblo... He says every meal is better smothered in Green Chili. We have to make a trip back home for him every year and bring home a bushel of green chilis, roast them and freeze them just so we can make green chili over and over again! This recipe is great! Never thought of using curry powder but it really works well. I used pueblo and added poblano's (thats the best I can find in Florida). Great flavor and very freezable! Green Chili sloppers for dinner tonight! Thanks Chris! One more note: My Husband says it's just as good as the Chili served at the Star Bar in Pueblo. Thats his favorite place to get it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLoves... February 05, 2010

I'm originally from Pueblo Colorado and have grown up eating green chili on just about everything. I had to move to Arizona and find a way to make it myself. I found this wonderful recipe and it takes me back home! I have made it twice this week to feed friends and family and co-workers, they all loved it!!! I will be cooking this many more times and have already been requested to make it again LOL! Thanks Chris for adding this awesome recipe : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EddyNRG November 03, 2009

I have made this once and I am about to make it for a group of people today. The first time I made it I did not have the pork, but it still turned out excellent! My husband loved it and he is very picky about his green chili. Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spaceyt1125 August 22, 2009

This is wonderful, I make Chili Verde all the time, this is better I had to use fresh Jalapenos but they were fine, besides that The only other change was to add allot more garlic. Thank you for your recipe I will treasure it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef susan from Sandpoint,Idaho July 07, 2009

This green chili recipe is nothing short of amazing. Make it, and you won't regret it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janellebdavis April 01, 2009

We are Colorado natives who have bounced around the country most of our adult lives. This recipe is entirely indigenous to Southern Colorado, primarily Colorado Springs south and southwest to the New Mexico border. If you haven't tried this you haven't truly experienced life as it is meant to be lived! This is a great recipe, even if you chicken out and just make it mild (however, it's best as hot as you can take it). If you can find real Hatch, NM chili's (the hotter the better) you'll have a dinner your guests will talk about often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rwkhsullivan January 11, 2009

This is delicious! I made it vegetarian (olive oil instead of bacon fat, no-chicken broth and omitted the pork) and it was SOOOOOO good! Like it says, if you want mild don't add the serranos. We like hot food and I put in 4 serranos with seeds, it was really hot and also flavorful. My husband has a new fave food LOL. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ametista December 09, 2008
Chris's Pueblo Green Chili Sauce