Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chow Mein for Tomoko Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chow Mein for Tomoko

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2009

      I made this the other night. I didnt use this recipe, but it is exactly the same as mine, except I add 3 tablespoons of long grain rice, which I sprinkle over the cabbage. Thing is, I didnt have rice, so I used orzo, I didnt have chicken noodle soup, so I used stock powder. it was awfull!! make this recipe, its perfevt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Blast from the past! This is exactly how I remember my grandmother making it, however with so many hungry mouths I believe she used pork mince as it was cheaper. I used turkey mince and it was the same as I remembered. Great for a change, not really Asian as by today's standards, but still tasty and my husband enjoyed this very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Well this may seem like an old fashioned recipe to you Jan, but we have never had anything like it. As it was cooking, I had planned on feeding my 8 year old some meatballs as I never imagined she would eat anything like this. She came running into the kitchen to ask what the delicious smell was! We all really, really enjoyed this and I will make it again. I had none left to try for the next day. Thanks for a new family favourite, easy and delicious :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      We had plenty of cabbages from the garden, and a freezer full of mince - what better way to use them up than in this delicious and hearty chow mein - you're right - just like mum used to make - yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      I've always turned my nose up when people have described Aussie chow mein to me. But I had mince and cabbage to use and thought DH would enjoy this. Well, we both did, I loved it! I used half a packet of two mintue noodles, with some low salt beef stock powder instead of the evil flavour packet. This was perfect, just as written. Thanks, Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      Yum Jan, this is excellent, really, really tasty. I didn't even get to cook rice for this, Dave decided he wanted it on toast! I did end up adding an extra 1/2 cup water but that was because I cooked it for slightly longer, wanting the cabbage to cook right down. I used a hot malay curry powder that I always have in the pantry and fresh green beans from my garden. Definite family favourite here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      We had this for dinner tonight and both DH and I found it delicious and full of flavour. I also added two tablespoons of uncooked rice to the mixture but apart from that didn't change a thing, just served it over steamed rice. DH even asked if he take the leftovers to work the next day for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      Jan thanks, this recipe took me back a few years!! So easy to make and the kids loved it and yes it does taste better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Jan - this was wonderful. Full of flavour yet easy to put together. I made this while the kids and I were on holiday and we all enjoyed it so much - we had the left-overs the next day in toasted sandwiches - totally yummy. I made the recipe exactly as written and will certainly be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chow Mein for Tomoko

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.9
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    47%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 83.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 848.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites