Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chow Gai Laan (Jade Green Broccoli) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chow Gai Laan (Jade Green Broccoli)

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2009

      Loved the flavor !!! Only thing I did different was to use rice vinegar instead of rice wine. Turned out great. I served this with Sesame Chicken Sesame Chicken. I will be making this again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I made this using frozen broccoli and it went well with #45809. I also didn't have any wine, so I just omitted it. We all liked it- I liked how simple it was to make too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Great recipe. Really quick and simple to make when you trying to finish eating broccoli. I used regular soy sauce and found it a tad bit on the salty side, so I am going to use (as recommended) low-sodium or no sodium next time around. Also if you are like me and follow the instruction to the T you will be wondering why your sauce does not thicken. Put the corn starch in the water, sugar, and soy sauce mixture. Took me a minute to figure out why my sauce once thickening. Great recipe this one is a keeper ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      This was great! Used fresh broccoli and followed the directions to a T. Next time would double the sauce, since it was so good. Served with Asian marinated tofu (which is also why the extra sauce would come in handy!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      This was perfect. I made it as written except to use Sake for the rice wine. That is what I had. It was just like in an Asian restaurant. Be sure and put the lid on quickly after you add the wine. It steams the broccoli in that wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Very good! I made it with sherry, and did cook a little longer than stated, but not too long! The oil was very necessary to prevent the veg. from sticking, but I'd like to try using a little broth instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      I had to add about 1/3 cup water to keep the sauce consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

    • on June 03, 2011

      I liked this recipe, its flavors were nice, and it was easy to make I served it with some sriracha chicken stir-fry, the flavors worked really well together; although I did tweak it just a tad, I quadrupled the sauce, and added some ginger powder, fish sauce, and green onions. It tasted fantastic! My sister had fourths, it was so tasty.
      Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This was very easy to make and was quite flavourful. Tastes like broccoli you would order in a restaurant. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This was very good. I never did get the sauce to thicken up as stated in the recipe but the taste was still great. Served with Easy Egg Roll and Pad Thai With Chicken and Shrimp. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      WOW--have we been missing out on something really special! Wish I'd found this sooner! Served this with MaeEast's Chinese-style Chicken Thighs(#56708), plain brown rice and some purchased egg rolls--wonderful midweek supper! I used 2T of oil and since I had neither sherry nor rice wine--simply used water and still it was some of the best broccoli we've ever had! I did add 1T of oyster sauce to the soy sauce mixture. Great recipe--thank you so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This tasted great and was easy to make! I think it would be good with as a chicken and rice stirfry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      this has good flavor. I will make again maybe adding chicken. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

    • on February 01, 2009

      Not much I can add to the other reviews, but this is great! We will be having this often. Great part of an Asian dinner I prepared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I used Gai Laan instead of broccoli since it is readily available in my area. We found it to be somewhat bitter though, so it didn't turn out as well as I would have liked. If we try it again, maybe I'll try adding more sugar or use broccoli instead & maybe a little more sauce. Update: I tried it again with broccoli and we loved it! Who knew broccoli could taste so good! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

    • on November 21, 2008

      It was kind of bland so I added a bit more sugar, onion and garlic powder and a bit of chicken broth... Next time I will add orange juice and some grated ginger in it... And maybe some sesame seeds! ;-) Why not!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chow Gai Laan (Jade Green Broccoli)

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.3
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    52%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 386.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites