28 Reviews

Delish. I used medium sized wheat tortillas, so mine were a bit "fatter" than a typical taquito however we were using them as a main dish so it was perfect. If you are using them as an appetizer, do use the larger tortillas. I thought it was going to be very spicy and it was simply mild Mexican flavors. Very good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 14, 2008

This was absolutly delicious. I flash froze mine. Then heated them up about 2 days later for a weekday meal. The ingredients only cost about $4.00 and great to keep in the freezer. My husband and I are going to add refried beans and make burritos with this recipe as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen_Kouture October 30, 2012

Easy to prepare and delicious! I used hot chorizo and subbed in corn tortillas to make it gluten free, so I skipped cutting them in half since they were already smaller. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 11, 2012

Muy Bueno! I have to admit I wasn't quite sure how well I would like these since they use flour tortillas. I am funny about using traditional wraps as taquitos are usually made with corn tortillas. However, the meat had an intoxicating aroma as it cooked, and placed in the tortillas, and baked left them exceptionally crispy without the added fat from frying. These are far more crispy than other baked concoctions with flour tortillas I have tried. So you can imagine my PLEASURE in admitting that this is the exception to the traditional way of making taquitos, and in fact, should BE the trad way. I serve them with Award Winning Guacamole and Pico De Gallo and all together were just tdf. Made by a Saucy Senorita for ZWT5. Thanks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 27, 2009

I used soy chorizo(vegetarian) and it turned out great! I topped with sour cream. Thanks! Made for Everyday is a Holiday game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 12, 2008

This may be the last time I buy taquitos at the local stores. Excellent taste, and flavor, definately better than the frozen ones. I did not use guacomole, per choice. A real nice, easy recipe to make. Made for Aussie/nz swap#22.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker November 09, 2008

I've never had taquitos before. These were delicious. I used medium-sized whole wheat tortillas and served them for dinner as did a previous reviewer. I'm working tonight and this recipe was very convenient as I was able to prepare DH's share and put it in the fridge for him to finish baking when he got home and cook mine to take to work with me. Made for the Aussie/NZ Swap #21.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 31, 2008

Adding to my first review! I made this dish as written for a cooking game and gave it 5 stars! The game is over and this is the first of 60 or so recipes I returned to! I'm adjusting the protein this time and wanted to add to my original review that this recipe is easily adaptable!! Thanks again for posting!! Original review: DH and I loved these. Easy to make and the flavor of the chorizo/baked tortilla combo is great! I could see freezing these. Thanks for posting! Made for Culinary Quest 2015, Toasted Tourists.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall September 21, 2015

We love chorizo, so this was just up our alley. And relatively simple to make for a "fancy" dish. I used soy chorizo like another reviewer, we get a really yummy one. A quarter recipe was enough for the two of us for dinner, which was well enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito May 25, 2015

A very simple and delicious appetizer. Made as written. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu May 26, 2012
Chorizo Taquitos