20 Reviews

I thought this recipe was ok. I found it to be a bit salty. I think next time I try it, I will substitute brown rice and maybe leave out the chorizo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie421511 January 31, 2009

YUM! If you like or even could like - Zatairan type flavors - this is for you. We used plain basmati rice, nothing special Johnsonville Chorizo, frozen tomatoes and peppers from the garden this last summer. In otherwords if this recipe could have been ruined, I would have done it- call it a talent. Anyway, had it for dinner, breakfast, lunch, and dinner then started thinking about when we were going to make it again. When you use just plain rice 99% of the seasoned flavor of the dish is going to come out of the chorizo. Anyway, I highly recommend and it makes enough to feed a family of four with a couple of teenage boys :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glowspicey January 08, 2008

Wow! This was great! I used andouille instead of chorizo. (Yum!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat King Coleslaw July 22, 2006

Absolutely fantastic. Although while putting in the black pepper, the top came off into the pot, so ours was super zippy. I'll have to make it again without the extra-added heat, but still, a fabulous dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C in PA September 14, 2005

What a great and delicious way to use up some Chorizo sausage! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand by using three bell peppers (1 green and 2 red), no tomatoes or garlic (but I did use some garlic salt in place of regular salt). I also didn't put the rice in the pan but instead served it over rice - delicious with tossed salad. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ January 10, 2005

This was a huge hit with us. Again we were lucky enough for Russell (JanS hubby) to have made this for us while in Warrnambool. It looks fantastic and tastes fantastic. Thanks to the both of you for a wonderful dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies December 27, 2004

I need to use up ground chorizo and was looking for a good weeknight (read: tasty and quick) dinner. I did followed the recipe closely - only changes: used brown rice and, due to other reviews, added saffron and red pepper flakes at the same times as the broth. I would add more heat next time. Tasty dinner I would make again ... very much looking forward to leftovers for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMScooking October 01, 2013

Well folks I've made this a few times now and must say this is good comfort food! I tend to tinker just a bit with recipe's so for what it's worth here is what I have settled on as a final for this recipe.
I use Jasmine Rice, Low Sodium Chicken Broth and Diced Tomatoes with Green Chillies and/or Lime Juice and Cilantro, dash of Cayenne Pepper, dash of White Pepper and 1 to 2 cups Frozen Corn added the same time as the Shrimp. There is a great differance between Mexican Chorizo and Spanish Chorizo. I use either with great success. Serve with a dab of Sour Cream if desired.
I always double the recipe item for item and the family and or guest's gobble this right up. On the rare occasion there are left over's you can warm this up and spoon into a flour tortilla with a dab of salsa and cour cream. Roll up the tortilla sprinkle with shredded cheese, melt the cheese and serve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Cookin Daddy-O- February 15, 2012

I was looking for a way to use some of the Chorizo sausage and came across this recipe! I made a few changes and it was outstanding! There were no left overs.To eliminate the salt problem that I see other reviewers had, I did the following changes.I used two packets from a Reymen soup. I added water to make the broth to taste.I used a 15 oz can of Mexican tomatoes,2 chicken thighs,skin and bone removed then cut the meat into pieces.I browned the Chorizo in a large skillet, drained the grease and set aside.I used rice vermicelli which I made last! Mixed the shrimp,chicken and Chorizo and put everything on the rice and served! I added no salt at all! Skipped the parsley and went with the cheese at the end!Other than those changes I followed each step. Everyone had nothing but good comments and will make again! Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timothy H. December 08, 2011
Chorizo, Shrimp and Rice