12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Much better than 95% of the chorizo that you purchase in the store. Terrific!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G December 26, 2001

Very Impressive

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loony October 20, 2001

Out of 3 chorizo recipes we tried with a big batch of ground pork, my husband liked this one the best for flavor. Now to dig out those mexican recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay February 21, 2004

I am starting this review with no stars for 2 reasons. 1 is that due to the lack of the jalapeno called for I substituted it with chipotle in adobo. The second reason is that the pork version is still in the fridge doing its thing. That said I want to note that I made 2 batches of this recipe. One with pork per the recipe and one substituting ground beef for the pork. I just finished eating 2 burgers made with the beef version (after a 6 hour chill time) and I think the flavor is fantastic. This bodes well for the pork version that is having the flavor party in the fridge. I will come back and update my review after I try that version and then again to add the star rating after I make the recipe as written. In the mean time if you want a nice flavorful burger, try this recipe with beef and pop them on the grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabella's Can Opener August 15, 2013

Wow, what a great recipe! I haven't eaten chorizo in forever because it's so loaded with fat and calories, but I used lean turkey for this and it tasted just as good as regular chorizo... but with a fraction of the calories. Love this, and will be making it a lot - thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 02, 2012

I like my chorizo SPICY, so... I doubled all the seasonings to doctor up a pound of Jimmy Dean's HOT sausage. I also added salt at the recommendation of other reviewers. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheCheCherie May 04, 2010

This is a great basic Chorizo recipe. The only changes I usually make to it is to add a 1/2 tsp of Alder-wood smoked salt and 1 tsp of minced garlic. I run the oregano, cumin seeds, ancho chili powder, black pepper corns, and red chili flakes through my spice mill before adding to the wet ingredients in the food processor. I make at least a double batch and let the flavors meld overnight. I then crumble and fry it. When drained and cooled I pack it in small ziplock bags and freeze for use whenever it's needed. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance December 18, 2008

Excellent! nuf said

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adriennenewton October 27, 2007

I made this to go with Pepper Jack Bread Chorizo Melts. It was wonderful! Dh wondered if there was any extra to make with omelettes for tomorrow. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady September 15, 2007

I loved the fact that I was controlling what went into this sausage. The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 habenaro in place of the jalapeno. That's is what I had. I made them into patties and grilled them. They remained nice and firm and not greasy and very tasty. Definately a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH July 19, 2007
Chorizo