Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chorizo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chorizo

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2001

      Much better than 95% of the chorizo that you purchase in the store. Terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2001

      Very Impressive

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      Out of 3 chorizo recipes we tried with a big batch of ground pork, my husband liked this one the best for flavor. Now to dig out those mexican recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      I am starting this review with no stars for 2 reasons. 1 is that due to the lack of the jalapeno called for I substituted it with chipotle in adobo. The second reason is that the pork version is still in the fridge doing its thing. That said I want to note that I made 2 batches of this recipe. One with pork per the recipe and one substituting ground beef for the pork. I just finished eating 2 burgers made with the beef version (after a 6 hour chill time) and I think the flavor is fantastic. This bodes well for the pork version that is having the flavor party in the fridge. I will come back and update my review after I try that version and then again to add the star rating after I make the recipe as written. In the mean time if you want a nice flavorful burger, try this recipe with beef and pop them on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Wow, what a great recipe! I haven't eaten chorizo in forever because it's so loaded with fat and calories, but I used lean turkey for this and it tasted just as good as regular chorizo... but with a fraction of the calories. Love this, and will be making it a lot - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I like my chorizo SPICY, so... I doubled all the seasonings to doctor up a pound of Jimmy Dean's HOT sausage. I also added salt at the recommendation of other reviewers. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      This is a great basic Chorizo recipe. The only changes I usually make to it is to add a 1/2 tsp of Alder-wood smoked salt and 1 tsp of minced garlic. I run the oregano, cumin seeds, ancho chili powder, black pepper corns, and red chili flakes through my spice mill before adding to the wet ingredients in the food processor. I make at least a double batch and let the flavors meld overnight. I then crumble and fry it. When drained and cooled I pack it in small ziplock bags and freeze for use whenever it's needed. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Excellent! nuf said

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      I made this to go with Pepper Jack Bread Chorizo Melts. It was wonderful! Dh wondered if there was any extra to make with omelettes for tomorrow. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I loved the fact that I was controlling what went into this sausage. The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 habenaro in place of the jalapeno. That's is what I had. I made them into patties and grilled them. They remained nice and firm and not greasy and very tasty. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      So easy to make & 1 of my most cherished RZ finds! I made this to use in Chorizo and Scrambled Egg Breakfast Tacos by Annacia. The flavor was great despite the fact that speed was needed so I made & cooked it w/o any chill time for the *spices to do their thing* Using very lean grd pork avoids the excess oil of chorizo, & cooking the meat mix till very well-browned (almost crisp) intensifies the flavor & begins to approach the texture of chorizo. Thx for sharing this keeper w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      This is one of the better recipes I've found. One thing missing however is salt. I didn't realize until I made it and cooked it how bland it was and after reviewing the recipe again I realized the error. I added salt and Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning. That did the trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chorizo

    Serving Size: 1 (634 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1297.6
     
    Calories from Fat 881
    67%
    Total Fat 97.9 g
    150%
    Saturated Fat 36.0 g
    180%
    Cholesterol 327.1 mg
    109%
    Sodium 311.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 80.1 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes