8 Reviews

Excellent. Classic flavor, simple. Just a nice salad. A couple of key notes for me. A ice cold salad bowl. Chop the lettuce well and use very chilled ingredients. Seed the tomatoes slightly and then chop so less watery. Use regular mayo for me, no low fat. Anchovies are a must, good fresh ground black pepper (I happen to use my 3 peppercorn brand which was very good with this) and peas. My only change was 3 eggs, I used one just as a garnish and I chopped up 2 celery rib leaves. I like the flavor of the leaves. Otherwise as is. Very good. Simple, but just that bit different. Thx

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 08, 2010

4 1/2 stars, but with your story it's 5. I liked this dinner salad a lot. I did not use the optional anchovies. I used Hellman's olive oil mayonnaise to be soy free, the optional frozen sweet peas from Green Giant, plus the rest of the ingredients. I would love to make this for DH to try. Made for, Veggie Swap 36 ~ July 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 03, 2011

I tried this salad today, it was somewhat bland for my taste. It may have been the mayonnaise that I used. I thought that this salad needed some tang or zip for my taste preference. I made the salad using all of the ingredients except for the peas. Since I didn't dress the entire salad for one serving I added the remaining mayonnaise to a basic salad dressing that I had on hand and that made a big difference. I will probably make this recipe again but with some favor additions of my own. As one reviewer stated, I will also add more anchovies next time because for me they were the highlight of the salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B March 05, 2010

Holy Cow (and I mean that in the nicest way, Andi) This is yumilcious! Just shows that a great recipe does NOT have to be complicated or expensive. Wish Marconi's was still open--I'd meet ya there! *Made for Photo Swap in Cooking Photos.*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks February 02, 2010

This was the perfect salad. Other than skipping the tomatoes out of personal preference I made this as directed, including the anchovies, which I LOVE! The flavors were perfectly balanced and the anchovies added just a bit of saltiness here and there (although I admit I will double them next time because I seriously LOVE LOVE LOVE anchovies)! I ate so much of this I barely had room for the chicken and mashed potatoes! I am having it again for lunch today!!! Thanks for posting this tremendously outstanding recipe Andi!!! Made for Holiday Tag 2009!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ December 09, 2009

A nice saladd! I used tomatoes from the garden, loved the hard boiled eggs! I left out the anchovies and used more peas. Thanks Andi! Maade for Everyday is a Holiday game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 20, 2009

Mmmmm! The simplicity of this salad allows of the fresh flavors to shine bright. Made with out anchovies, but did use peas. Andi's memories of childhood add such a great flavor to the salad as well as the history of were this salad originated from. Love every bite of salad, memory and history. Thanks so much for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 15, 2009

My sister and I grew up eating this salad at Marconis....we are so excited to have found this recipe! Valentine's dinner salad, to be sure :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyklootz February 14, 2016
Chopped Salad by Marconi's in Baltimore