Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chopped Salad Appetizer Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chopped Salad Appetizer Shells

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2009

      This was wonderful! Light and delicious and wonderfully versatile. I made it for a vegetarian friend at a dinner party with olives and dairy-free feta instead of the salami. I then put a plate on the table for the others to try and the meat-eaters loved it too. A great recipe. Edited to add: I made this again recently but used iceberg lettuce as it was all I had. However it was a poor substitution as it became soggy really quickly, I would recommend the romaine lettuce only as written in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Very versatile! Instead of feta, I sprinkled them with parmesan after the shells were stuffed. I cooked the shells the night before, made the salad minus the dressing the night before, then mixed and stuffed the next day with no problems at all. NOTE: A really great way to plate these is on a deviled egg tray. It keeps them from rolling around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      These taste just as good as they look! I took this to my sister's annual summer party, and SO many people commented on them - as they inhaled several of them! The only change I made was extra-sharp provolone cheese instead of feta, and I opted to use a favorite bottled Italian dressing for lack of time. Just GREAT flavors! Next time, I'll use feta cheese, and I'll just have to add black Greek olives & my favorite Greek dressing. Since I doubled this recipe, it did become a bit time-consuming, but well worth it! I say "Viva la Diva!" Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      This was incredibly easy to make and SO GOOD! I'm planning on making them again for Easter this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      Brought these as the first course for an Italian meal - they were very well received! I doubled the measurements for the vinaigrette, and added a bit of extra sugar... I was initially worried that the dressing would be too strong, but once everything was assembled, it turned out to be just right. Even people who said that they typically weren't big salad eaters seemed to enjoy these. Many thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      These were amazing! Gorgeous, and they tasted good, too! I made them for a party.The hardest part was finding the shells..:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! I added some chopped scallions and red chili pepper flakes to the mixture just because we like things spiced up. Seeded the grape tomatoes just to cut down on the watery taste and drizzled the dressing prior to serving. What a great presentation!
      Thank you Cookin'Diva!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      LOVE THESE!! Great appetizer! I will be making these again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      i was a little low on tomato so i added more like 3/4 cup and i used a little extra feta, low fat type. i went easy on the dressing since it's very strongly flavored. i also added a little light mayo to it as an emulsifier which worked well. next time i might add a bit of minced olives and or a bit of onion. the basil was a lovely touch. i went easy on that as well but somewhere between 1/4 and 1/3 cup worked just fine. i used vegetarian pepperoni which turned out perfect. can't believe i never thought to stuff shells with salad before! this was lovely! i left the dressing on the side for the leftovers to be drizzled on top just before eating. i expect you could do lots of lovely variations on this. will use often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Love, Love, Love this recipe!! It is easy, delicious and has so many possibilities to add to original recipe! Huge hit and will be making again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      This is an absolute winner!! It's different, it's easy and mostly it's awesome! Friends have asked repeatedly for the recipe. I', finally posting my 5 star rating! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Great concept, but I found the shells absorbed all my dressing! I think this would be awesome with a Caesar salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      We enjoyed this. I found it too "juicy"...perhaps because I used garden fresh grape tomatoes (pretty juicy). I think next time i'll seed the tomatoes i use to cut back on the juiciness. Friends enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Pretty and delicious! This is a great appetizer for a hot summer day. The prep work is a little tedious, but it's worth it. I decided to use a store bought dressing to omit some of the work. I'm sure many dressing will complement the salad, but I recommend "Annie's Goddess Dressing". Super tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      These were great!! They were a hit at my party. Thanks for the great recipe and presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Very good and very unique. Everyone loved them and they were worth the little bit of extra work to chop the veggies. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Thanks for a fun, delicious recipe! It is a little more work to chop everything so small, but well worth it. Like some other reviewers, I omitted the salami so I could serve it to some vegetarians. I also substituted some shaved mozzarella instead of the feta (had to serve some non-feta eaters, but I'm eager to try it with the feta since I love it!) I also added some shredded carrot. The dressing was easy to make and quite good too- I may add just a touch more next time since it was so tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Great idea! I made these for a faculty presentation today and everyone who managed to get their hands on one loved them!! I replaced the salami and feta with greek olives and used grape tomatoes & the suggested dressing. Wonderful idea! Great way to offer something healthy as a finger food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      These are outstanding. I took these to a party and there were no leftovers. Everyone raved about them and wanted the recipe. The dressing is light and delicious; I didn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I took these to two parties this weekend and they were a big hit; all were gone very quickly. I thought this was going to be a time consuming dish to prepare, but alas it went together very quickly. I substituted kalamata olives for the salami to make it vegetarian and used bottled dressing. My one disappointment was AFTER I had them all assembled and plated I realized I forgot the basil; needless to say I did not start over :) I can only imagine how much better they will be next time with the basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chopped Salad Appetizer Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.7
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    44%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 13.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 196.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed Italian herbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites