28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! Super delicious and definitely authentic Italian tasting and restaurant quality tasting. I followed this letter to the T...used prosciutto in place of the pepperoni or salami and used an entire jar of pepperoncini peppers that I sliced into rings. I also didn't have the full amount of basil but the amount I had was perfect nonetheless. My mom and I gave this 5 stars...my husband gave it 4.5 stars and said the only thing that would have made this better was using salami instead of the prosciutto....just his personal taste. We devoured this...and it made a ton! The amount of dressing was absolutely perfect. I will make this one again and again. I think you could pretty much add anything to this and have it still come out amazing. I think next time I might add finely minced garlic to either the salad or the oil vinegar mix before tossing. WONDERFUL! Thank you for sharing! UPDATE: Made again on 4/30/08 for a large group of family. We had filets and shrimp on the grill and all I had to make was a salad. I chose this one. Guess what? It was by FAR the most highly praised dish of the night. This time I made it with salami....I actually prefer it with the prosciutto but clearly my guests were impressed! This made a TON and there wasn't a scrap left..but there was lots of steak and shrimp left. This salad is AWESOME!! A keeper in my very hefty recipe book! Thank you again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl May 04, 2008

This is a fantastic salad. It's fun to play with the ingredients. This time around we left out the pimientos (family preference) and artichokes but added salami, black forest ham, kalamata olives and all the other good stuff you listed. So, so good and a big hit in our home. Love it! ***A new note... the REALLY good part about this salad is the fresh basil. It really is essential and the key ingredient in this awesome salad. It's just not the same without it! All of the other ingredients can be fudged but the basil adds such a fresh Italian flavor to the vinegar. Mmmmm, so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly December 28, 2007

Oooohhhh Yeah. SUCH an amazing salad. I served this as a pre-course to a classic spaghetti dish and it ended up stealing the spotlight. The pimientos really add something special, while the proscuitto gives the salad a meaty edge. I ate the leftovers the next day with Fat Free Italian Dressing (I was out of the original mix), added some black olives and had a great lunchtime salad. Thanks so much for a great new salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 November 26, 2007

I made this salad to go along with lasagna tonight, and it was great! Thank you NCMysteryShopper for a new delicious way to make my salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee October 13, 2007

excellent! i added salami, pepperoni, and provolone in addition to everything lese called for. A delicious salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Carol Shelby September 14, 2007

Wow, what a salad. Dressing is simple but powerful, and unlike other salads I've had, the best bite here is one that gets everything in there. I used marinated artichoke crowns, salami, sweet red pepper and skipped the pimiento, but man, it was hearty and beautiful. My guests raved! Even the vegan one who left out the cheese and salami, which I thought left the dressing too oily, but she liked it, so I can't complain! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dinosaur July 06, 2007

I made this salad to go with Seasons' Italian Crockpot Soup #191273. This salad was very good and it would make a complete meal my it self for me. Will make again. Thanks NcMysteryShopper. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle January 24, 2007

wonderful salad. Easy to make. I took the leftovers for lunch and my coworkers oohhed and ahhed at how pretty my salad was. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepper Monkey January 20, 2007

Great salad. I served this with red clam sauce and pasta for dinner last night...I did use hard salami instead of pepperoni and added some feta, romano cheese...I used creamy Italian dressing I made and it was a pretty salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc October 24, 2006

I actually just used the dressing from this recipe to toss with a regular old romaine leaf salad. And as it turns out I was out of Red Wine Vinegar and Olive Oil, so I used Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar and Grape Seed Oil mixed with the pepper and Parmesan Cheese. It turned out great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers September 22, 2006
Chopped Italian Salad