Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chopped Italian Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chopped Italian Salad

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2006

      This is a delicious salad that was served with Pissaladiere by Sylvie. I used hard salami, roasted red peppers, and fresh mozzarella cheese. Each serving was garnished with pepperoncini peppers and I did toss in the fresh basil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Okay, I never thought anyone needed a recipe to make a salad, but after trying this recipe, all salads should have one. The salad was bursting with flavors and not one vegetable, meat slice or even drop of dressing was left in the bowl at the end of the meal. Such a great combo of meats, veggies and cheese. I added in all of the optional ingredients and thought the end result could not have been better. I served the salad along with the Absolute Best Ever Lasagna by ratherbeswimmin' and Italian Bread Casserole by Brook the Cook in WI. This recipe could make me into a salad eater on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      Made this with salami, and we loved it! The fresh basil really made this special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      We enjoyed this salad immensely. I made as listed except I left out the onion because I don't care for raw onion. I used pepperoni as the meat choice because it is what I had on hand. I added the optional pepperoncini and provolone (in strips).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I made half a recipe and added heart of palm and it is one delicious salad. I served it with Chicago Italian Beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Yummy in the tummy! I am making this for Christmas Day dinner (and, not just any ol' dish gets added to that menu, let me tell you!) -- thanks so much for sharing! Viclynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Not my cup of tea, I found it to be too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Wonderful! Spicy...tart...savoury...perky. Loved this salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Great recipe. I didn't have the artichoke heart, and added some other deli meats and homegrown tomatoes. My husband likes taking this in his lunch :-) For ZWT4 Flying Duchess'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      What a wonderful way to start any meal, although I could actually eat this for my main meal! I followed the recipe exactly, including all the optional ingredients, using salami, and adding some oil-cured olives and grape tomatoes. It was absolutely wonderful, and I will most definitely be making this many times again. Tagged, made and reviewed for Zaar World Tour 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Wow! Super delicious and definitely authentic Italian tasting and restaurant quality tasting. I followed this letter to the T...used prosciutto in place of the pepperoni or salami and used an entire jar of pepperoncini peppers that I sliced into rings. I also didn't have the full amount of basil but the amount I had was perfect nonetheless. My mom and I gave this 5 stars...my husband gave it 4.5 stars and said the only thing that would have made this better was using salami instead of the prosciutto....just his personal taste. We devoured this...and it made a ton! The amount of dressing was absolutely perfect. I will make this one again and again. I think you could pretty much add anything to this and have it still come out amazing. I think next time I might add finely minced garlic to either the salad or the oil vinegar mix before tossing. WONDERFUL! Thank you for sharing! UPDATE: Made again on 4/30/08 for a large group of family. We had filets and shrimp on the grill and all I had to make was a salad. I chose this one. Guess what? It was by FAR the most highly praised dish of the night. This time I made it with salami....I actually prefer it with the prosciutto but clearly my guests were impressed! This made a TON and there wasn't a scrap left..but there was lots of steak and shrimp left. This salad is AWESOME!! A keeper in my very hefty recipe book! Thank you again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      This is a fantastic salad. It's fun to play with the ingredients. This time around we left out the pimientos (family preference) and artichokes but added salami, black forest ham, kalamata olives and all the other good stuff you listed. So, so good and a big hit in our home. Love it! ***A new note... the REALLY good part about this salad is the fresh basil. It really is essential and the key ingredient in this awesome salad. It's just not the same without it! All of the other ingredients can be fudged but the basil adds such a fresh Italian flavor to the vinegar. Mmmmm, so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Oooohhhh Yeah. SUCH an amazing salad. I served this as a pre-course to a classic spaghetti dish and it ended up stealing the spotlight. The pimientos really add something special, while the proscuitto gives the salad a meaty edge. I ate the leftovers the next day with Fat Free Italian Dressing (I was out of the original mix), added some black olives and had a great lunchtime salad. Thanks so much for a great new salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I made this salad to go along with lasagna tonight, and it was great! Thank you NCMysteryShopper for a new delicious way to make my salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      excellent! i added salami, pepperoni, and provolone in addition to everything lese called for. A delicious salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Wow, what a salad. Dressing is simple but powerful, and unlike other salads I've had, the best bite here is one that gets everything in there. I used marinated artichoke crowns, salami, sweet red pepper and skipped the pimiento, but man, it was hearty and beautiful. My guests raved! Even the vegan one who left out the cheese and salami, which I thought left the dressing too oily, but she liked it, so I can't complain! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I made this salad to go with Seasons' Italian Crockpot Soup #191273. This salad was very good and it would make a complete meal my it self for me. Will make again. Thanks NcMysteryShopper. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      wonderful salad. Easy to make. I took the leftovers for lunch and my coworkers oohhed and ahhed at how pretty my salad was. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Great salad. I served this with red clam sauce and pasta for dinner last night...I did use hard salami instead of pepperoni and added some feta, romano cheese...I used creamy Italian dressing I made and it was a pretty salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      I actually just used the dressing from this recipe to toss with a regular old romaine leaf salad. And as it turns out I was out of Red Wine Vinegar and Olive Oil, so I used Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar and Grape Seed Oil mixed with the pepper and Parmesan Cheese. It turned out great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chopped Italian Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.0
     
    Calories from Fat 271
    70%
    Total Fat 30.1 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 40.4 mg
    13%
    Sodium 998.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites