29 Reviews

very yummy and easy to make! my bf and I loved this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddah82 March 19, 2007

Couldn't be faster or easier or yummier!!! Great submission!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 19, 2007

Great Flavors in this marinade. Very easy recipe to prepare. It took less then 5 minutes to throw the first 8 ingredients in the food processor and pour into a giant zip lock with the chicken. It marinated for 8 hours. I love quick and easy! Good Luck Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 19, 2007

This was a tasty dish. But it did not state where to add the 5-spice powder so I added it along with the first 8 ingredients which would make this nine ingredients. This does make a lot of sauce it could have been cut down to 1/2. The cornstarch should also be mixed with a little liquid for ease of mixing it in without lumps. The liquid should be strained and defatted as well. This could use a bright garnish like orange slices and or cilantro. But the taste was good! And the chicken was tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 18, 2007

Mixed opinions on this recipe, I enjoyed it but thought it was lacking 'something'. I never could decide exactly what. My husband did not like it very much. Followed the directions exactly, but used light soy sauce. It was easy to cook ( I like that) and I think if I played with it some more I could make it work for our personal tastes. I am glad I tried it. Thank you for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio March 18, 2007

Very delicious! I enjoyed how the flavours mixed. I didn't have soy sauce so I used teryiaki sauce instead, which worked fine and probably eliminated the saltiness others mentioned. Using a blender to mix the ingredients seemed superfluous to me, and the cooking time left the chicken a little pink in the center. The sauce tasted absolutely fabulous over brown rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oenophilly March 18, 2007

This is a very nice tasting chicken dish, & I'd have given it a 5-Star rating but for the confusion I had with the ingredients [took me a while to figure out why I kept missing one]! However, when that was resolved, things went smoothly for me. I did use the 1/3 cup of brown sugar, as well as a LARGE orange & some additional zest, AND I substituted 4 chicken breasts for the whole chicken. Then, at the end, I did add a small amount more of cornstarch. That being said, I really liked the taste of this chicken & will be keeping this recipe on file to make again & again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 18, 2007

I love the name of this recipe - Hubby (DH) and I really enjoyed the Chop Chop Chicken. The flavour were very strong, I served it with steam rice. Few criticism is recipe directions needed to be checked, If I kept to the directions (first 8 ingredients) I would of left out the five-spice powder. The other thing that needed to be clear was the ginger (fresh or grounded) and pepper (black or white), I used grounded ginger and black ground pepper. I hope that was correct. Other then that it was yummy. Thank you for great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer March 18, 2007

DH & I differed in our opinions greatly on this recipe. He said 5 stars. I gave it 2, I think more out of a personal dislike of 5 spice powder. DH's comments were "This is GOOD!" and it was one of his favorite contest recipes. I thought the 5 spice powder was overpowering and distracting. I whizzed all of the ingredients and marinated boneless, skinless chicken breasts for several hours and then baked. DH loved the sauce on the rice pilaf I made to serve with this. Thank you for sharing your creation and good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 18, 2007

I did not add the 5 spice because I added the first 8 ingredients and the zest was one of those ingredients. I did not notice the 5 spice until after I already had the chicken in the oven. I counted the first 8 ingred. 3x before I added them to make sure I was adding the right ingredients to the blender so I was sad when I saw the 5 spice. We give this chicken 3 stars because we liked it however, I would have given it more stars had the directions been more clear. The predominant flavor was soy sauce and it was very much like a teriaki sauce. I think it would have been helpful to know how many pieces to cut the chicken in. I left the thigh and leg attatched and found that they did not cook after 45 minutes although the breast was ready. I ended up zapping the leg/thigh in the micro to finish cooking it. This was a little too salty for our taste.I used the lesser amount of sugar and I think it would have been better had I used a little more. I did use the cornstarch and I like the consistency it gave the sauce the sauce was also a very pretty color. It smelled heavenly cooking in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog March 17, 2007
Chop! Chop! Chicken