Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chop! Chop! Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chop! Chop! Chicken

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2007

      This was a wonderful recipe! Delicious chicken with an asian flavour which is not overpowering or too spicy. Everyone has loved this recipe and it was so easy to make that it deserves 6 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Easy, delicious and always popular. I have made it following the recipe, but now I do the following substitutions: Bragg's Liquid Aminos for the soy sauce, demererra for the brown sugar, and arrowroot powder for the cornstarch.

      I love this recipe. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I prepared this in a crock pot at work, for the pot luck supper on Xmas eve, using all skinless thighs. Everyone liked it! At home I will use a bit more orange rind, and Mrs. Dash too, for my personal taste. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      this was very good, it was slightly salty which may be due to the soy sauce, so maybe I will cut down on that. Ohterwise was very good. Iserved with noodles and it went down very well with kids and husband. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      We used boneless skinless breasts and did not marinate, but otherwise followed the instructions exactly. I found a couple unexpected surprises from cooking this dish. First, the thinner chicken breasts were much more juicy and tender than the thick ones. Ultimately, the areas that were immersed were tender and juicy. The areas on top that were sticking out of the sauce were dryer but still had good flavor. The flavor was very pronounced without marinating and my younger kids had a little trouble with the different flavors. We did serve this over rice. The first couple of bites I was thinking that I would cut down the five spice to 1/4 tsp next time because that flavor was a little overwhelming, the next couple of bites I was thinking Wow..I'm not a orange zest fan at all but every bite I had with it was better than the bites without. So, I give this a big thumbs up and it will definately be something I will make in the crockpot next time and I will make sure the chicken is covered next time and up the zest and cut back a little on the five spice. This rocked! Thanks for the recipe, Pamela.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      This was delicious - I would definitely recommend marinating the chicken overnight. The flavor went all the way through to the bone, and the sauce thickened up very nicely. I'll try this on the grill next time, and heat/thicken the sauce separately. This should also be a good 'dump chicken' recipe -- freeze it all together, thaw and dump in a pan when you're ready to cook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      excellent-very successful(made up a five-spice powder variation) and all my guests enjoyed it. Thank you Recipezaar-yet again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      I wish I had as much luck with this as everyone else. We didn't like this at all. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used only chicken breasts. I tried the crockpot method. I served over rice, but we couldn't even eat it. It had a terribly pungent flavor. We ended up throwing it out and having a frozen pizza instead. I'm not going to try this again. Thanks anyways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      Absolute winner! The fact that it can be marinated overnight makes it ideal for entertaining. The five-spice comes through quite strongly (even only using 1/2 teaspoon), so I guess that needs to be taken into account for those not wild about five-spice. Perhaps Pamela could suggest a substitute (?) Having said all of that, it was a real hit at my place!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      This was my first recipe with five spice powder. Interesting flavors, but delicious. I used thighs and I do believe I will cut back on the sauce a bit next time as I had quite a lot of it. The chicken was very tender. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      very yummy and easy to make! my bf and I loved this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Couldn't be faster or easier or yummier!!! Great submission!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Great Flavors in this marinade. Very easy recipe to prepare. It took less then 5 minutes to throw the first 8 ingredients in the food processor and pour into a giant zip lock with the chicken. It marinated for 8 hours. I love quick and easy! Good Luck Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This was a tasty dish. But it did not state where to add the 5-spice powder so I added it along with the first 8 ingredients which would make this nine ingredients. This does make a lot of sauce it could have been cut down to 1/2. The cornstarch should also be mixed with a little liquid for ease of mixing it in without lumps. The liquid should be strained and defatted as well. This could use a bright garnish like orange slices and or cilantro. But the taste was good! And the chicken was tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Mixed opinions on this recipe, I enjoyed it but thought it was lacking 'something'. I never could decide exactly what. My husband did not like it very much. Followed the directions exactly, but used light soy sauce. It was easy to cook ( I like that) and I think if I played with it some more I could make it work for our personal tastes. I am glad I tried it. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Very delicious! I enjoyed how the flavours mixed. I didn't have soy sauce so I used teryiaki sauce instead, which worked fine and probably eliminated the saltiness others mentioned. Using a blender to mix the ingredients seemed superfluous to me, and the cooking time left the chicken a little pink in the center. The sauce tasted absolutely fabulous over brown rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This is a very nice tasting chicken dish, & I'd have given it a 5-Star rating but for the confusion I had with the ingredients [took me a while to figure out why I kept missing one]! However, when that was resolved, things went smoothly for me. I did use the 1/3 cup of brown sugar, as well as a LARGE orange & some additional zest, AND I substituted 4 chicken breasts for the whole chicken. Then, at the end, I did add a small amount more of cornstarch. That being said, I really liked the taste of this chicken & will be keeping this recipe on file to make again & again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I love the name of this recipe - Hubby (DH) and I really enjoyed the Chop Chop Chicken. The flavour were very strong, I served it with steam rice. Few criticism is recipe directions needed to be checked, If I kept to the directions (first 8 ingredients) I would of left out the five-spice powder. The other thing that needed to be clear was the ginger (fresh or grounded) and pepper (black or white), I used grounded ginger and black ground pepper. I hope that was correct. Other then that it was yummy. Thank you for great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      DH & I differed in our opinions greatly on this recipe. He said 5 stars. I gave it 2, I think more out of a personal dislike of 5 spice powder. DH's comments were "This is GOOD!" and it was one of his favorite contest recipes. I thought the 5 spice powder was overpowering and distracting. I whizzed all of the ingredients and marinated boneless, skinless chicken breasts for several hours and then baked. DH loved the sauce on the rice pilaf I made to serve with this. Thank you for sharing your creation and good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I did not add the 5 spice because I added the first 8 ingredients and the zest was one of those ingredients. I did not notice the 5 spice until after I already had the chicken in the oven. I counted the first 8 ingred. 3x before I added them to make sure I was adding the right ingredients to the blender so I was sad when I saw the 5 spice. We give this chicken 3 stars because we liked it however, I would have given it more stars had the directions been more clear. The predominant flavor was soy sauce and it was very much like a teriaki sauce. I think it would have been helpful to know how many pieces to cut the chicken in. I left the thigh and leg attatched and found that they did not cook after 45 minutes although the breast was ready. I ended up zapping the leg/thigh in the micro to finish cooking it. This was a little too salty for our taste.I used the lesser amount of sugar and I think it would have been better had I used a little more. I did use the cornstarch and I like the consistency it gave the sauce the sauce was also a very pretty color. It smelled heavenly cooking in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chop! Chop! Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 557.1
     
    Calories from Fat 318
    57%
    Total Fat 35.4 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 162.5 mg
    54%
    Sodium 2166.9 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites