Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chokecherry Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chokecherry Syrup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2009

      I did use the butter to reduce the foam and it worked! I just happened to have a leftover pancake from breakfast to do a taste test with what little syrup that didn't fit in the jar. Oh my...I really am going to enjoy this on my french toast some cold North Dakota morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Delicious!! With 8 gallons of chokecherry juice to use, I really appreciate a great recipe like this! I added 1/4 tsp real butter at step 3 from previous experience and it REALLY helps reduce the foam to almost nothing. Great recipe, thanks so much! ~TJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I just finished making 5 batches of this syrup. For the first batch I was a little cautious and boiled for 1 1/2 minutes just to be sure it wouldn't be too runny and it was almost too thick! For the remaining batches I followed the recipe exactly and the result each time was a syrup of perfect consistency. Thank-you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2014

      Excellent recipe! However, being a food scientist, I can't leave anything alone! I discovered that increasing the boil (hard boil which can't be stirred down) to 3 - 5 minutes produces a spoonable, not pourable product, but which beautifully melts out across a hot pancake and resists soaking in. My first batch crystallized over time - as honey does. You can inhibit crytallization by including 1/3 C corn syrup in the boil. If you want extra-fancy, try adding 1/8 C raspberry juice and an extra 1/8 C sugar. Be sure to add the almond extract!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      Made this last summer when we had a lot of chokecherries. I have been using it all winter and is great with pancakes, and sausage. YUM.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      This is the best chokecherry syrup I've ever made or had! Friends of ours used to make some and shared a few jars with us, but it was always runny and soaked into the pancakes. So delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I have an older method for this syrup. You add one pk of certo for thickening and one clove to each jar. The clove gives the syrup a neat tast and takes that extra sweet taste away. Using less sugar is also a good idea. Anyway, just my two cents on the method. I am going to try the almond extract this time to see how that turns out. I am keeping my cloves however as I just love the taste of those with the chock cherries. I also use this on ice cream...very good!
      My mother also taught me to use cloves when canning the small apples. Using the whole apple in the jar with some juice after cooking them, then adding one clove to top off the jar when canning.
      I hear using cloves this way goes WAY back at least to the 1900's in this part of the world. Cant wait to use the new ideas here, especially the butter. Saving the taste of berries is always great!
      Cheers
      Vicki

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This was WAY too sweet for me. It is syrup though. Next batch I am going to reduce the sugar. I really loved the addition of the almond extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Someone recently gave me a gallon of chokecherries. I didn't know what to do with them until I found this recipe and what a dandy it is!! Thanks so much for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      you are right this does thicken and is a great recipe. Thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I was very fortunate to be gifted with this lovely syrup. Chokecherry syrup has always been one of my favourite pancake toppings and this one was delicious. Found the addition of almond extract to make for a nice touch. I'm hoping a few more jars find their way into my kitchen! Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2014

      How wonderful to smell choke cherries juicing on the stove. I was on my way to the barn this evening and noticed the chokecherry tree we brought from the ranch I grew up on was COVERED with plump sweet cherries! Having played hooky from work I finished the evening picking a couple gallons with my husband. It has been 30 years since I tasted my favorite of all syrups. This recipe is quick, easy and it works without pectin. Thanks for posting and I love the almond!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      This was my first attempt at chokecherry syrup. I scaled this to make 8 pints (a gererous 7 cups of juice - 1/2 gal jar), and it tastes great. Good consistency for syrup! I did add 1/4tbsp of butter due to the suggestions, and I still had foam issues. This may have been due to the pot I was using. Had I used a larger one, it might have been less of a near boil over. I'd recommend using a pot much bigger than what you think you need. Great recipe - thanks Kaarin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

    • on August 11, 2013

      I am going to try this recipe. We have an abundance of chokecherries this year. I have picked washed and frozen 62 cups of chokecherries since Friday. A friend of mine told me that at Farmers Market, they were selling 7 cups of berries for $25. Really surprised at this, but I guess if you don't have access to picking cherries,then one might but --but this amount was to pricey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      Wonderful! This recipe is easy and delicious. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chokecherry Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (1301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1118.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 288.8 g
    96%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 288.3 g
    1153%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chokecherry juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites