8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made about a dozen batches of this so far, and it's really excellent! A few differences - I started with chokecherry juice I'd already made and skipped to step 3. I also found from previous jelly-making experience that if you add 1/4 tsp of real butter, it reduces the amount of skimming required to almost zero, and doesn't foam up as badly while cooking. Then I added 1/4 tsp of almond extract to the entire batch of finished product before ladling into jars; it really brings out the chokecherry flavor.<br/>Re: processing time - I follow the Ball pectin box time recommendations, as the lids don't 'pop' until after they are removed from the water and are cooling. I also cool right-side up. <br/>Thanks for this recipe! ~TJ

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana September 03, 2013

Very lemony! I like the flavor a lot!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcstacy January 15, 2012

Loved this recipe for Chokecherry Jelly. It seemed like a lot of lemon juice but I went with it anyway and so glad I did. It really brought out the chokecherry flavour. I liked it better than my previous recipe and I will not be looking further! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV August 02, 2010

This recipe was fairly easy to follow and it worked really well for me. Following the advice of other reviewers and what I found online, I added in 1/2 tsp of butter to cut down on the skimming. I also added the 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. This was my very first time making jam of any kind, and I was a little confused as to when to add the lemon juice. I mixed it in with the chokecherry juice just before putting everything on the stove. It has a great flavour and it set well for me. I will definitely make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacki A. September 06, 2013

Excellent! I also added almond extract, and it turned out wonderfully. Will definitely use this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James A. January 19, 2014

Definitely great! I did add 1/4 t. almond extract but otherwise made as written. Can hardly wait for it to set so I can use it on my toast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 06, 2012

After all the time and trouble picking and cleaning berries, I was very disappointed with this jelly. Way too much lemon overpowered the flavor of the chokecherries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn D. July 30, 2014

Sounds good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee Coonhound October 25, 2012
Chokecherry Jelly