Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chokecherry Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chokecherry Jelly

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2013

      I've made about a dozen batches of this so far, and it's really excellent! A few differences - I started with chokecherry juice I'd already made and skipped to step 3. I also found from previous jelly-making experience that if you add 1/4 tsp of real butter, it reduces the amount of skimming required to almost zero, and doesn't foam up as badly while cooking. Then I added 1/4 tsp of almond extract to the entire batch of finished product before ladling into jars; it really brings out the chokecherry flavor.<br/>Re: processing time - I follow the Ball pectin box time recommendations, as the lids don't 'pop' until after they are removed from the water and are cooling. I also cool right-side up. <br/>Thanks for this recipe! ~TJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Very lemony! I like the flavor a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Loved this recipe for Chokecherry Jelly. It seemed like a lot of lemon juice but I went with it anyway and so glad I did. It really brought out the chokecherry flavour. I liked it better than my previous recipe and I will not be looking further! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      This recipe was fairly easy to follow and it worked really well for me. Following the advice of other reviewers and what I found online, I added in 1/2 tsp of butter to cut down on the skimming. I also added the 1/4 tsp. of almond extract. This was my very first time making jam of any kind, and I was a little confused as to when to add the lemon juice. I mixed it in with the chokecherry juice just before putting everything on the stove. It has a great flavour and it set well for me. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Excellent! I also added almond extract, and it turned out wonderfully. Will definitely use this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Definitely great! I did add 1/4 t. almond extract but otherwise made as written. Can hardly wait for it to set so I can use it on my toast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2014

      After all the time and trouble picking and cleaning berries, I was very disappointed with this jelly. Way too much lemon overpowered the flavor of the chokecherries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Sounds good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chokecherry Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (1372 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 604.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    93%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 156.6 g
    52%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 150.0 g
    600%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chokecherry juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites