158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love zucchini bread and my husband likes sweets, so I chose this thinking it would be the best of both worlds, and it was. This bread is so moist -- not crumbly at all. There is just enough chocolate to taste it, but it doesn't overpower the taste of the bread. As some other reviewers did, I added a little more zucchini and used 1/2 c. oil and 8 oz. of unsweetened applesauce. The two loaves were finished up quickly as everyone in the family loved it. I can see what it has so many great reviews. This is a terrific recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester July 23, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckySon July 15, 2010

My BF loved it and said it was the best muffin I've ever made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peachyopal July 12, 2010

This was delicious -- very decadent and cake like. In fact, I'm making it again today as a cake (bar pan, 350 for 20 mins). I did sub 1/2 the oil with applesauce, and I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I still thought this was great. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Huskerandi July 04, 2010

I thought this was pretty good, but I have to admit I was a little disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and my bread came out pretty dry. I removed the bread at 50 minutes instead of an hour. It had very good flavor though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne.graves June 14, 2010

These are delicious and very chocolaty....although I admit I followed the recommendation of others and added mini chocolate chips to the batter, and I also sprinkled a few on the top just for a neat look. I made it into muffins and shared them with my neighbors. She didn't tell her husband that it had Zucchini in it because he doesn't like Zucchini and she said he loved them... Anyway, very very very good! Definitely a keeper in my recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa May 05, 2010

very good my husband loved it and so did my high school church kids!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerJC April 12, 2010

i make this all the time in the summer. a good way to get rid of extra zucchini. i omit the cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead March 24, 2010

Good! I used some zucchini that I had frozen, and substituted applesauce for half of the oil - it was almost like a brownie, but not quite as sweet and fudgy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom November 23, 2009
Chocolate Zucchini Bread