160 Reviews

LOVE this recipe!!! the smell of chocolate in the kitchen (yummm), I tried to hold off and not eat any right away but couldn't resist and nearly ate half of it myself! the temptation was too great. It is a great recipe!! did the 1/2 applesauce,1/2 oil and 1/2 c. chocolate chips. It's like a desert bread!! It's going in the family cookbook!!! Thank you for sharing!!! now, we'll see if I can share this bread :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkeller28 August 04, 2010

I also used 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, and added about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips...YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate DeMello July 27, 2010

I love zucchini bread and my husband likes sweets, so I chose this thinking it would be the best of both worlds, and it was. This bread is so moist -- not crumbly at all. There is just enough chocolate to taste it, but it doesn't overpower the taste of the bread. As some other reviewers did, I added a little more zucchini and used 1/2 c. oil and 8 oz. of unsweetened applesauce. The two loaves were finished up quickly as everyone in the family loved it. I can see what it has so many great reviews. This is a terrific recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester July 23, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckySon July 15, 2010

My BF loved it and said it was the best muffin I've ever made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peachyopal July 12, 2010

This was delicious -- very decadent and cake like. In fact, I'm making it again today as a cake (bar pan, 350 for 20 mins). I did sub 1/2 the oil with applesauce, and I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I still thought this was great. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Huskerandi July 04, 2010

I thought this was pretty good, but I have to admit I was a little disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and my bread came out pretty dry. I removed the bread at 50 minutes instead of an hour. It had very good flavor though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne.graves June 14, 2010

These are delicious and very chocolaty....although I admit I followed the recommendation of others and added mini chocolate chips to the batter, and I also sprinkled a few on the top just for a neat look. I made it into muffins and shared them with my neighbors. She didn't tell her husband that it had Zucchini in it because he doesn't like Zucchini and she said he loved them... Anyway, very very very good! Definitely a keeper in my recipe box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa May 05, 2010

very good my husband loved it and so did my high school church kids!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerJC April 12, 2010
Chocolate Zucchini Bread