158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very moist and tasty bread. I followed the recipe to a T and it was great - no chips for me but maybe white chocolate chips next time. update: made this again reducing the oil to 1/2 and subbing pureed plums. I also added semisweet chocolate chips - best ever and dh asked that dd and I make another 2 loaves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie October 09, 2011

This is superb! My friend and I made this recipe today exactly as directed. We hand grated the Zucchini so were initially concerned that it was going to be a bit 'chunky' but it turned out perfectly! This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely be making it over and over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamAtomic September 04, 2011

Yum! Gotta love chocolate. I just need to make a dozen batches now to come close to putting a dent in all the zucchini I have. This recipe will be saved in my cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Diner August 31, 2011

I have been making this for so long I couldn't belive I hadn't reviewed this recipe yet. Awesome! I've made it exactly as written, and it's very easy to adapt. You can use part whole wheat flour, or ground flax seed, and swap out part of the oil for applesauce and the bread is still delicious. I never take the time to peel the zucchini and most of the time shred that in the food processor. First time I made muffins today and got 30 out of the batch, took 20 minutes at 350. I also always reduce the cinnamon, and add about 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1/4 tsp white pepper. Thank you for sharing "itsjustme", this is a family favorite that we make all summer and freeze for later on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catwoman24102 August 20, 2011

This is very good, it does taste like cake. I doubled the recipe, and I'm sure it's really good as-is, but I did do a few substitutions: I used 1 1/4 c. oil and 6 oz. nonfat vanilla yogurt. I cut the sugar a bit, using 2 cups white sugar and 1 1/2 cups brown sugar. I used half all-purpose and half whole wheat flour. In a doubled recipe, 1/2 tsp. baking powder didn't seem like enough to 2 tsp. baking soda, so I upped the baking powder to 1 scant tsp. (for the doubled recipe). I drained my zucchini (which I did not peel), but I think my substitutions of half whole wheat flour and nonfat yogurt made the bread need extra moisture, so I might not do that next time. I made 24 muffins and threw them in the freezer, so my husband can take them to work, and I also got 3 loaves, a little smaller than 8x4. Thanks for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 August 11, 2011

Light and fluffy! Baked in a 13x9 for about 33 mins and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mudjeeper July 27, 2011

So good, better than I expected. A great way to use zucchini. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NDjojo January 23, 2011

This is the best zucchini bread I've ever made! I made it the first time as written and it was great. I now make it with 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce, half the sugar, 1 cup of nuts(whatever kind I have on hand), 2/3 cup of chocolate or white chips, and have even thrown in dried cranberries! No one has ever turned down a slice of this bread! I have frozen several loaves, well, more than several! It is also a great quick breakfast spread with peanut butter. Thank you itsjustme for this amazing recipe!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dozey doats September 05, 2010

LOVE this recipe!!! the smell of chocolate in the kitchen (yummm), I tried to hold off and not eat any right away but couldn't resist and nearly ate half of it myself! the temptation was too great. It is a great recipe!! did the 1/2 applesauce,1/2 oil and 1/2 c. chocolate chips. It's like a desert bread!! It's going in the family cookbook!!! Thank you for sharing!!! now, we'll see if I can share this bread :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkeller28 August 04, 2010

I also used 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, and added about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips...YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate DeMello July 27, 2010
Chocolate Zucchini Bread