160 Reviews

When I tasted one pretty fresh from the oven, I admit I felt a little disappointed. I tried another the next morning, and it was a lot better. The flavors had mellowed and blended really nicely. I did make them with some modifications suggested by other reviewers, subbing 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce for half of the oil, reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (I used a mix of white and brown), and adding some chocolate chips. At first the applesauce was overpowering, but again, letting them cool overnight really did the trick. I'll make this recipe again. Oh, and I also chose to make them as muffins; baking for 20 minutes at 350 was perfect for my oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel September 13, 2012

This is sooo yummy! Can't believe it's Zucchini! I used about a cup and a half of zucchini and kept the skin on the them as well. I think it added more flavor. I also added about a half a cup of mini chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmeints771 September 09, 2012

After much protesting, I finally got my family to try zucchini bread. Ok, so I didn't tell them that it was zucchini bread until they ate it, but a girl has to do what a girl has to do. So naturally the next step was to try chocolate zucchini bread. They all liked it, but they original version went over much better. However tomorrow I am going to run to the store and pick up some heavy cream and fresh strawberries. I have a feeling that if I cut some thick slices and top it with berries and real whipped cream this will be the new winner. Thanks for another delicious way to use up zucchini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 03, 2012

This was a great recipe! Very simple list of ingredients - I had a pretty large Zucchini so I used that instead of 2 medium. I also added a pinch of nutmeg to add a little zing. This made roughly 2 dozen medium/small muffins. This is defiantly a recipe to keep and use again and again :]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Girl13 September 01, 2012

Delicious!! Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird August 23, 2012

This recipe was excellent. The zucchini bread came out perfect, and everyone who tried it loved it. The 2nd batch I made I included chili powder, which gave it a great spicy/sweet flavor. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mo-Rocca August 22, 2012

Absolutely terrific!!! I like other readers used 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 c. oil. I also used Jules Gluten free flour instead of the regular flour (same amount.) I made them as muffins and baked about 15-20 mins. My teenage son loved them and my daughter who doesn't eat vegetables even liked them!! Will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kreads4ever August 21, 2012

Made as written, except I didn't peel the zucchini. We love LOVE this recipe! Moist and chocolately! I have made 6 loaves so far, and the plan is to get another 6 in the freezer before zucchini season is over!
Thank you for sharing such a fabulous recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP August 20, 2012

A friend dropped off a bunch of zucchinis and this was the perfect solution! Moist and delicious! I made mini loaves and baked for a bout 25 minutes and they were perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Garden August 19, 2012

We loved it! made muffins. Inspired by several reviews I made a few changes/ additions. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups, and did half cup oil and half a cup apple-butter since I didn't have applesauce. I had .5 cup dark chic chips, .5 cup semi sweet and .5 cup mini semi sweet. Then sprinkled sugar in the raw on top, 2 packets total the ones at the coffee bar at your coffee shop. The kids and I anxiously awaited and loved them! Made 23 cooked at 350 for 23 ish minutes rotating the pans between the shelfs half way through! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m August 09, 2012
Chocolate Zucchini Bread