159 Reviews

I've wanted to make this bread for awhile. Not because it sounds great, because let's face it. Chocolate and Zucchini. No, just no. But I love zucchini bread and I have been so curious! I had to sub 1/2 cup applesauce for the oil because although we have avocado oil, olive oil, sesame oil... too many oils to mention, I ran out of vegetable oil! Avocado oil might have been okay but I didn't want to risk it. Chocolate and avocado sounds worse than zucchini... anyhoo So after I dumped in the 1/2 cup of cocoa I made a sad face like this :( and tossed in an extra 2 tablespoons. That cup of cocoa looked lonely. Oh goodness the batter smelled delicious. Baked it for an hour, but I think that was just a smidge too long for me. Next time I'll take it out a few min. earlier.

This bread... makes an awesome peanut butter sandwich. haha! My kids really liked it, even though my son claims he does not like chocolate. I'm glad I tried it!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne :) September 09, 2010

My Husband could not even believe it was zucchini bread. :) He took a 9x13 pan of it to work and hard a hard time sharing I had to make a double batch the second time around so he would have some for home. Makes great mini loafs as well. This will be one I make around the Holidays to share. Already shredding extra zucchini from the garden and freezing in zipper bags for holiday baking when my garden is no longer with us. Highly recommend this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jc-bean September 04, 2010

Made as written, except: I added about a cup and a half of chocolate chips, made these as muffins (got 24 out of the recipe), and sprinkled raw sugar over the tops. Baked 20 minutes and got amazing results! The family loves these, even the 13 year old who pulled a face when he heard the muffins were made with zucchini (he just finished his second one). Thanks for a new family recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex August 27, 2010

I'm always disappointed to see peeled zucchini in zucchini bread.... It loses the point of having it there I think. I didn't peel the zucchini, used 1.5 cups of sugar rather than 2 and organic spelt flour. It turned out AMAZING! I've made it twice and it's like eating cake. My 3 year old son took it to his school for snack time and everyone raved. I think the base recipe is excellent but encourage people to get the full benefit out of using a veggie by not peeling it - it doesn't affect the texture but adds fiber and nutrients to a treat :) Thanks for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oliver's mommy October 12, 2011

This was very good! I made this with 3/4 cup oil,1 1/2 cups sugar, and substituted one cup of the AP flour with whole wheat to make it a little healthier. Very moist and tender.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dirndlfrau August 30, 2011

This was delicious and moist. It tasted like a rich chocolate cake so if you want more zucchini taste, you might have to adjust the amounts. It was done after 45 minutes so I suggest checking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieCooks September 24, 2008

I want to give this 5 stars but it doesn't quite get it. I followed the directions almost to a T- the only thing I did different was use a bit more zucchini than it called for as I had several tiny ones I needed to use up. I poured the batter into two pans of the size called for, popped them in the oven, and after 45 minutes poked them with a toothpick, which came out clean. Unfortunately I think I should have poked them about ten minutes sooner because its not very moist like so many people are saying. You definitely need something to drink with it and not because its overly sweet. <br/><br/>However, with a properly adjusted cook time (I'm thinking 30 to 35 minutes) I think this would turn out beautifully! The flavor is very good, and I hope it will be a hit at our party tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boerbabe July 06, 2013

Super chocolate muffins, moist and just enough sweet (I used 1,5 cups of sugar and substituted half a cup of oil with apple jam) and in the healthy side because of the zucchini. Will be making these again! Thank you for this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedi777 August 11, 2011

I make a ton of quick breads, and this one was very good. I often have a surplus of zucchini in the summer and often forget I can use it for bread. Adding the cocoa transforms a so-so bread recipe into something special. Also, I had never before made a quick bread that didn't instruct you to mix dry ingredients in one bowl, wet ingredients in another. I used one big mixing bowl and everything worked out fine, saving me additional clean-up. I also forgot to peel the zucchini...no problem! Next time, I'll add a few walnuts.I also cut back a bit on the sugar, to 1 3/4 cups and it was just sweet enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnatfernglen August 06, 2011

I so wanted to love this after all of the great reviews, but it wasn't great for us. I made banana zucchini bread and this chocolate zucchini and everyone liked the other one better! this just didn't have much flavor though i used a good quality (ghiradelli) cocoa powder and wonderful fresh zucchini. it was fine, moist enough and the texture was good (i did 1/2 applesauce 1/2 oil) but just too bland. it would be a lot better with some mini chocolate chips and maybe nuts in there.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama July 25, 2010
Chocolate Zucchini Bread