Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Whoopie Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Whoopie Pies

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2007

      Sorry, I don't typically give bad reviews, but this may help somebody that was looking for what I was. I was hoping for a cake like cookie and fluffy light filling like my Mom used to make. Instead, the cookies are more fudgy and flat and the filling is definitely not fluffy, but more sugary creamy consistency. Overall a much flatter and denser whoopie pie then I was looking for

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Great recipe. This is lower in fat than the recipe I'm used to making. I made these for my granddaughter's girl scout troup and they were a big success. I don't know if I made my cookies larger than the recipe (I used a cookie scoop to get a uniform size), but I only got about 18 fully assembled cookies out of the batch with ample frosting inbetween. This will definitely be my "go to" recipe in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I gave this recipe 5 stars for three reasons- they were easy to make, they were way healthier then any other recipe I could find and they tasted great! The dough was rather stiff at the end of mixing. So, they rolled out into balls just fine. I made the cookie part the night before. I made the filling, I used a Seven Minute Frosting recipe, the day of the party. I assembled and refrigerated a few hours before the party. They held together just fine. My only complaint would be the quantity of servings stated. That was way off, like others have said. I rolled my dough into 1 inch balls and flattened them pretty well. I ended up with 40 two inch wide cookies. I needed 40 'pies' for my party. So, I used a serrated knife and sliced each one open, like a hamburger bun. Then filled them. They were really the perfect size ( see my photo with three pies and a quarter on a plate for reference) just a couple of bites. I just had a Whoopie Pie for the first time last week in a restaurant. I loved the idea, but theirs was terrible! Thanks to Parsley, mine rock!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I thought these cookies had excellent flavor, but either I really screwed up or the recipe needs some serious tweaking. The cookie part turned out really fudgy, more like a brownie than a cake (I personally liked it). I dumped probably a 1/2 cup more flour into the dough before I could begin to roll them. I also added a whole cup to the filling before I could get it to even begin to stay on the cookie. I didn't want to add too much sugar and make them too sweet, so I cut the cookies in half and then frosted them (worked pretty well). I had the best success scooping out the middle and (using a piping bag) stuffed each cookie. These turned out the best. Great starting point, but definately could be improved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Moist and yummy are two words to describe these wonderful little gems. I only ate part of one, but my men ate two. They don't taste low fat at all, although they are very filling! I made just as stated and found they were quick and easy. Next time I think I'll add some color to the filling just for the fun of it. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I made these to take to the office for a St. Paddy's Day lunch. I tinted the filling green. They dissappeared fast! What a hit! They are much less sticky and oily than traditional whoopies. The office demands that I bring these in again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      My niece Margaret made these yesterday. Didn't have time to make the filling so we made icecream sandwiches. Delicious!!! Thank you Parsley, for a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      I found this perfect! Great balance between cake and cookie I used my own buttercream filling and I tweeked this a tad by using buttermilk and cake flour my batter was runny but still thick and I used my medium Wilton cupcake scoop and which I used to make two pie serves (if you don't have one or know what I'm talking about stop reading and buy it now) I doubled my which made about 18 pies ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Pure delight! We've made this recipe about half a dozen times now, sometimes with regular unbleached flour and sometimes with a white whole-wheat flour, and we actually like it slightly better with the whole-wheat. We substitute almond milk for the milk and use all shortening instead of butter because of lactose issues around here. Have to warn you though -- the almond milk makes this already sticky recipe even stickier. I still haven't figured out how to flatten the pies. But the almond milk gives the pies a subtle nutty flavor that's really very appealing. We eat these "lower fat" "healthier" whoopee pies until we can't stuff any more in, and now I'm making them for our son's school events too. People love 'em. Thanks for the recipe, Parsley! It's going to be a keeper for at least 2 generations of our family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      I have never written a review before in my life. This is without a doubt the worst recipe I have ever made. I don't even know how it tastes. The cookie dough was like working with glue. I think I wasted more dough that I actually used. Even if these are the most delicious cookies in the world, I will never make them again. Also, the serving size is COMPLETELY off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      These were better the next day after they softened up in an air tight container. They were a bit stiff and dry after being so sticky to roll. Required a lot of work to roll. Made them for Valentine's Day party at my daughter's school with pink filling. I don't know that I'll be making them again. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      These are just as good as the whoopie pies I get from the Amish stands at home... Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Made this as written and the filling is WAY to sweet for the blanish cookie. The cookie dough is a little hard to roll unless you flour your hand everytime you roll one. I think this would be fine if the filling werent so sweet. i also thought the filling was a little to runny because after i made the sandwiches I placed the cookies in the fridge to keep and the next morning the filling had ran out some and i didn't smash them much at all. Thanks for sharing but just to sweet for us

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      I think that these taste fine, but it was not what I was expecting at all. When I think of whoopie pies, I think of cake like sandwiches. These are nothing like that. Also, it says serves 36? Perhaps I did something wrong, I rolled it in 1" balls and I managed to only get seven total pies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Not being familiar with the Whoopie Pie, but having heard of it, I decided to give these a try. The cookie mix looked, smelled and felt like really stiff cake batter. I followed the recipe and there was no way this was going to turn into rollable balls. So I used my mini-disher to scoop out small blobs, which spread nicely without being pressed down. The cookies themselves are bland, actually. I read comments about the filling being too sweet, so I heated the milk slightly and added some coffee grounds to it and let them steep. The resulting coffee flavoured frosting is still quite sweet, but works very well with the bland cookies, improving their chocolate flavour. Overall these are pretty good. I wouldn't consider making the filling as is. It needs some kind of bitterness to balance it. Oh, and I doubled the whole recipe and have enough filling for another double batch of cookies. Or a layer cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Wow, I love these! These are the only cookie the hubs wants me to make now. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      These were very yummy! However, the cookie part didn't blow us away. FMIL makes whoopie pies, and they are her specialty. FH had a craving for some one night, so I found this and thought I'd give it a try. We both agree that the filling is the best either of us has ever had, but the cookie didn't sell us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      I loved these. They were moist and delicious and a huge hit among the family. the only problem I had was that I didnt get 36 servings out of this recipe. Loved them anyways!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      These are great! The cookie came out thick and moist, very yummy. The cook time was right on with my oven, what a time saver. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Very nice. I multiplied the recipe by 4, and had a goodly quantity. These seemed more "N.H. style" whoopie pie to me than a "MA. style" like I grew up on, but that's the joy in the regional recipes to me. I used light olive oil and skim milk the first time, canola oil and 2 % milk the second, and couldn't tell the difference. The filling is sweeter and softer than I like personally, (another regional thing), but easily adjusted. I used a cookie scoop and didn't bother with flattening them down, they spread out enough on their own, and I'm lazy that way. thanks for sharing this recipe, Parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Whoopie Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.9
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    29%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 84.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 15.3 g
    61%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites