Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2008

      We really liked this, and our new neighbors (for whom we made it) agreed :). I used whole eggs and powdered buttermilk. I also cut down the sugar b/c we don't tend to like things as sweet as others--3/4 c of raw sugar was fine for us. I also pressed some chocolate chips into the bottom when this came out of the oven (so they would melt in) and next time I plan to put them in the pan before I add the batter so they will be like a topping. The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is that I think it needs a little something else for texture, either chocolate chips or nuts. Thanks for a yummy recipe, though--it is absolutely a great way to get a chocolate fix and feel virtuous about eating veggies at the same time. It also tastes pretty good with red wine :). Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Note: this batter turned out very thick. Texture is very nice, tasty, moist and cake-like. I made it in a bundt pan, but think it could pass for chocolate cake if made in cake pans (with shorter baking time). I used milk soured with vinegar in place of the buttermilk -- it might come out even more tender if buttermilk is used. I plan to try it. For a cake or quick bread, it has pretty good nutritional numbers, esp. fat content. I used Penzey's Dutch Process Cocoa, Double Vanilla, nutmeg and Vietnamese cinnamon. I think the good quality cocoa flavor really comes through, so I'd hesitate to use a lesser one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      This is a wonderful way to use up zucchini!! I used 1/2 sugar & 1/2 Splenda, and just used 1 tsp cinnamon (skipped all the other spices!). I used 2 medium sized loaf pans & baked for 40 min at 350. Remember to squeeze the moisture out of the zucchini b/f measuring it, and then adding it to the batter. I gave the loaves away, but they looked & smelled delicious! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      Only three because 50 min was ridiculous!!!! I baked for 65 and it was still raw!!!! and I have a very reliable oven. Good tasting, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Attempted this with xylitol and it was not successful. Stick with sufgar or perhaps Splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Excellent. I cut a slice while it was still hot (the smell was so inviting) and the flavors were perfect. Being on a diet this makes a great snack and fills that chocolate craving too. Will make this again for a pot luck party coming up and after my next run to the zucchini plants in the garden! Moist, flavorful and satisfying. Thank you Nado2003.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I liked this recipe. I made it in a 9x13 pan. I used eggbeaters and skim milk. The only thing I didn't like is I thought it was too much cloves for my palate. Otherwise it's a nice low calorie cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Wonderful, moist and chocolatey! I did make several changes including using cinnamon but cutting out the nutmeg and cloves. I wanted the chocolate flavor to come through without too many additional spices. Also, I used 1/4 cup of applesauce and 1/4 cup of oil. A little less healthy perhaps, but made a very tender and still lowfat bread/cake. I used the fine holes on my grater to shred the zucchini. This made the bread moist without any zucchini texture. Finally I sprinkled a bit of sugar in the bottom of the bundt after greasing it to give it a bit of a crunchy-sugary top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.4
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    11%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 46.9 mg
    15%
    Sodium 249.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites