12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was such an easy recipe to create and I had great results! I gave some of them to my dinner guests and neighbors, but made sure I had enough left over to take care of an occasional chocolate craving. The vanilla wafers and nuts really added a great texture to the balls -- I used pecans vs. walnuts. Your recipe really made a great hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry November 27, 2010

Very good recipe, creating tasty and firm balls. I might try hazelnuts next time, nice with coffee flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 18, 2010

I was not a huge fan of these. The Kahlua just overpowers the taste of the truffles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 April 26, 2010

These were pretty good. Made for the Christmas party we hosted. Didn't seem to go over very well but we had a lot of food! I cheated and heated the chips in the microwave instead of a double boiler and it worked fine. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 December 15, 2008

These are fantastic little treats! I made as directed with Kahlua, but will be playing with the flavors in the future! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC December 11, 2008

Oh, my goodness! I made these yesterday for an early Christmas party and they got absolutely rave reviews. I substituted Baileys for the Kahlua, and used plain biscuits for the vanilla wafers. These were just gorgeous! I'm going to make this a lot throughout the next few weeks and am going to have a lot of fun playing with different things here - Grand Marnier and dark chocolate will be a divine combination. Not to mention Frangelico and hazelnuts - I love the combination of chocolate and hazelnuts. Thank you so much, Kitten. This is definitely one of the best recipes I've made in ages!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen Hes November 22, 2008

Okay, mine are really Chocolate Kahlua Pecan Slices but are as delicious as everyone else said. However, I did not chop my pecans (subbing for walnuts, of course) quite finely enough, and when I started forming the balls I had trouble. (This is a common problem of mine---I think I may just not be patient enough.) Anyway, I formed the mixture into a log on waxed paper, wrapped in aluminum foil and put in the freezer for about 45 minutes. Then I sliced about 1/2 inch thick and proceeded with the powdered sugar. It worked beautifully and was much easier to me. I think I ended up with about 55. I am looking forward to including these in my gift bags of treats. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G December 16, 2007

These balls are wonderful! They remind me of a chocolate ball my mom made at Christmastime when I was a child--what wonderful memories! I decided to use Godiva Chocolate Liqueur instead of Kahlua or rum. I also rolled the balls in regular sugar. Thanks so much, Kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juenessa February 24, 2007

These were great.. I made them with non-alcoholic Kahlua.. It's really made to add to coffee but I wanted to make this recipe and I knew my grandchildren would be eating them.. Also, few in my family use alcohol... not for any particular reason. Anyway, they came out fine and definately with a Kahlua flavor. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoolMonday January 01, 2007
Chocolate Walnut Kahlua Balls (No Bake)