25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What an awesome recipe.... I love biscotti and these were so easy to make. The flavor was incredible, I ran out of walnuts so I added pecans instead and they were still incredible. Thank you for sharing!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ March 10, 2003

after reading all the reviews on how easy this recipe was, i made the recipe, my dough never got stiff, i am wondering i mixed the eggs/vanilla in kitchen aid stand mixer...then added flour...and choc/sugar...the choc/sugar was blended in blender, (dont have food processor)...i kept mixing the dough, but it never got stiff....when i took the dough out of the bowl it would stick together, i just molded two logs on the cookie sheet...baked in oven, did all that, when i cut the cookies, lot of it crumbled, i do have about 20 good cookies, but its pretty crumbly...what went wrong for me??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Imtryingtocook December 10, 2010

I did everything wrong and my husband still loves them. This recipe must be impossible to screw up! I didn't add any nuts, and I didn't realize till it was in the oven that I should've added chocolate chips, but I just sprinkled powdered sugar on top, and dipped some of them in chocolate on one end. They look fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareBearQ December 18, 2009

These were delicious. I had never made biscotti before so I followed the recipe to the letter. I used the shorter baking times as suggested and they turned out fine. Now that I have gotten over my fear of biscotti I will be making them often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HalfBakedCappy December 09, 2009

The best biscotti I have made or ever tasted! We used Macadamia nuts in ours. Great substitute!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMightyRich August 13, 2009

wonderful! i made it with pecans but would add less next time. they made the batter really crumbly. also, my batter logs did not spread at all. i would make them longer and thinner next time. i had to good my logs 50 minutes, but even then they weren't done. they crumbled when i cut them. i then cooked them for 35 minutes on each side and they cooked through. i got 24 biscottis. they were really easy, not too messy, and good! thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chungry1 August 06, 2009

This is definitely one of the better biscotti recipes that I've found. I did find it better to add a little more flour instead of transferring to a floured surface. That way you don't end up with flour all over your finished cookies. If it's too sticky you can wet your hands to form the logs. I will make them again. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GR Chef May 02, 2009

Loved these...with or without coffee they are delicious!! Never realized biscotti was this easy to make!!! Next time I will partially dip them in chocolate! Will definitely be making them again!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn December 28, 2008

Wow! These are fabulous. Like a rich chocolate walnut brownie, but in a biscotti. I gave these as gifts and everyone loved them. My adult friends dipped it in coffee, and the kids dipped it in milk. Lower fat than cookies! This is a keeper for sure. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcwchicago December 11, 2008

These were wonderful! I've never made biscotti before, and I believe that if you're going to experiment, experiment with CHOCOLATE! I did add 1tsp almond extract and used almonds instead of walnuts. I used the shorter baking times noted in the recipe and they were perfect. Even my teenage son's friends LOVED these! I can't wait to make them again (and maybe dip some in chocolate, too)!! I would caution against using waxed paper in the oven - it can burn and smoke like crazy (I think it even says on the box not to use in for baking). Use parchment paper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianamite June 26, 2008
Chocolate Walnut Biscotti