Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Walnut Biscotti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Walnut Biscotti

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2003

      What an awesome recipe.... I love biscotti and these were so easy to make. The flavor was incredible, I ran out of walnuts so I added pecans instead and they were still incredible. Thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      after reading all the reviews on how easy this recipe was, i made the recipe, my dough never got stiff, i am wondering i mixed the eggs/vanilla in kitchen aid stand mixer...then added flour...and choc/sugar...the choc/sugar was blended in blender, (dont have food processor)...i kept mixing the dough, but it never got stiff....when i took the dough out of the bowl it would stick together, i just molded two logs on the cookie sheet...baked in oven, did all that, when i cut the cookies, lot of it crumbled, i do have about 20 good cookies, but its pretty crumbly...what went wrong for me??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I did everything wrong and my husband still loves them. This recipe must be impossible to screw up! I didn't add any nuts, and I didn't realize till it was in the oven that I should've added chocolate chips, but I just sprinkled powdered sugar on top, and dipped some of them in chocolate on one end. They look fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      These were delicious. I had never made biscotti before so I followed the recipe to the letter. I used the shorter baking times as suggested and they turned out fine. Now that I have gotten over my fear of biscotti I will be making them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      The best biscotti I have made or ever tasted! We used Macadamia nuts in ours. Great substitute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      wonderful! i made it with pecans but would add less next time. they made the batter really crumbly. also, my batter logs did not spread at all. i would make them longer and thinner next time. i had to good my logs 50 minutes, but even then they weren't done. they crumbled when i cut them. i then cooked them for 35 minutes on each side and they cooked through. i got 24 biscottis. they were really easy, not too messy, and good! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      This is definitely one of the better biscotti recipes that I've found. I did find it better to add a little more flour instead of transferring to a floured surface. That way you don't end up with flour all over your finished cookies. If it's too sticky you can wet your hands to form the logs. I will make them again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Loved these...with or without coffee they are delicious!! Never realized biscotti was this easy to make!!! Next time I will partially dip them in chocolate! Will definitely be making them again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Wow! These are fabulous. Like a rich chocolate walnut brownie, but in a biscotti. I gave these as gifts and everyone loved them. My adult friends dipped it in coffee, and the kids dipped it in milk. Lower fat than cookies! This is a keeper for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      These were wonderful! I've never made biscotti before, and I believe that if you're going to experiment, experiment with CHOCOLATE! I did add 1tsp almond extract and used almonds instead of walnuts. I used the shorter baking times noted in the recipe and they were perfect. Even my teenage son's friends LOVED these! I can't wait to make them again (and maybe dip some in chocolate, too)!! I would caution against using waxed paper in the oven - it can burn and smoke like crazy (I think it even says on the box not to use in for baking). Use parchment paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Delicious deep dark chocolate flavor!!! I used dark chocolate chips and special dark cocoa. I also used 1 cup all purpose flour and for the remaining 3/4 cups I used white whole wheat flour. Makes for a pretty healthy treat! I will definitely make these again. I would like to try these with toasted almonds and almond extract sometime too. I didn't toast my walnuts this time, but think it would've been really good if I had. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      I still gave this 4 stars because the flavour is amazing, but this was my first time making biscotti and I think I had a few mishaps. First, the recipe said to use waxed paper, which I did, and 5 minutes into the baking time I had to pull the pan out because the kitchen was filled with smoke. Is there another type of waxed paper I don't know about? Second, I used the 40 minute baking time, but when I tried to cut the logs they completely fell apart (a delicious mess that DD and I happily ate LOL) so I never got to the second baking process. These issues are not the fault of the poster, I probably did something wrong that would be obvious to those more experienced biscotti-makers? These are probably very delicious if you know what you are doing, but not so easy for a first timer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Now this are what biscotti are supposed to taste like! Authentic biscotti are not supposed to contain butter or oil, like many recipes include to make then more "cookie" like. I added cranberries to this recipe and the result was delicious. Crisp, chocolatey biscotti cookies perfect for dipping into coffee or just by themselves. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      The best Chocolate Biscotti that I have ever, ever made & I have made quite a few. I made 2 batches using Dark chocolate, the first ones I used walnuts and the second batch I made using dry roasted peanuts, SO good. Everyone loved them. Your added comments were great. Thank you Toni & Mean Chef, I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      These turned out great! I cut down on the nuts and added some craisins. Thanks Chef #296902 for posting the baking tip, I will bake Biscotti this way from now on. I like Biscotti because they keep so well, now to make them last longer...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      These were quite good although not quite as chocolatey as I would like considering what went in (I used high quality chocolate). Also they were a little dry/crumbly but I think that was my fault for using white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour. I would definetely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      While extremely messy, this recipe was a huge success. My husband started eating them before they were even done baking! This was my first time making biscotti and the instructions were very helpful. I followed the lesser of the suggested cooking times (40, 15, 15). We had them with coffee this morning and they were great! I had to modify the recipe to make it gluten-free so I used Bette Hageman's four flour bean mix and added 1 1/4 baking powder since gluten-free flour tends to be heavy. The gluten free flours also tend to not stick together as well, so next time I'm going to try adding some xanthan gum since they did break apart a little bit. I'm going to put these in little holiday baggies and give them as gifts. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I just made these. They are very good. I have made several biscotti recipes before so I'm not new to biscotti making. I followed the directions almost exactly. I decreased the sugar to 2/3 cup as I don't like my biscotti too sweet. I used 4 ounces mini dark chocolate chips (Hershey) so no chopping was required, and they blended to a fine texture really easily in my mini food chopper. The dough was great. I would stick to the original baking times if you like your biscotti crunchy. I formed these directly on the parchment paper so I wouldn't have to move them. If you prefer forming them on a floured surface, I would recommend using sifted cocoa powder instead so you don't get the white flour residue on the bottom of them. I think these would be even better with hazelnuts or slivered almonds. I love slivered almonds in biscotti as it gives them a nice crispy, as opposed to crunchy, texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Just made these. Followed recipe, oops, just noticed I left out the soda. Still had a great taste, and they look great. EASY. Still turned out even though I forgot the soda. Thanks for the recipe. (I used the wax as I am all out of parchment paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Wow! This was the second time I've made these and they're excellent. Both times I've used pecans rather than walnuts since we live in pecan country. After slicing however I don't bake each side seperately. I set each loaf back on my silpat liners and merely lide the slices back and forth to the point where they're barely touching on one side. Back into the oven for the second baking in half the time. Saw that trick on one of the Cooking Channel programs being done by a small comercial baker. Simple and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Walnut Biscotti

    Serving Size: 1 (988 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.6
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    54%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 21.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 69.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites