Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2001

      I apologize for posting this rating so late (I truly thought I already ). I made this for my family at Thanksgiving and it was fantastic! It has become a holiday tradition after one time. The family is demanding it again for Christmas and upcoming birthdays. To me, this is the way cheesecake should be. If I could give it six stars, I definately would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      Very Good!!! Easy to make! Very rich! I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      Really good...cheesecake lovers will go bonkers. One tip: 2 cups crumbs ended up being about 80 wafers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2001

    • on June 04, 2003

      Yummy, this was fantastic!!! Right as i found this recipe i knew i had to make it, so for my final in cooking class we had to pick a topic and make a food for class - i chose chocolate and made this cheesecake. It was sooooo good, but i only got to try a little sliver cuz my clas is so big!! I will be making this again when i can have some more, lol!! Oh, and i couldn't find a 14 oz. bag of caramels, so i only used a 9 oz bag...it worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      Yummy! I substituted in fat-free cream cheese and Splenda, and was a little bit worried about the texture, but it baked perfectly...Plus, no one could tell the difference! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I chose this recipe to make for our local Chocolate for CASA fundraiser. When I made it, I followed the directions and added the cheescake filling when the caramel was warm. The caramel filling kind of oozed up around the cheesecake filling.

      When I make next week for the fundraiser I will allow a little more time and refrigerate the caramel before I add the cheesecake. In order to put it over the top, I made a ganache http://www.food.com/recipe/no-fail-way-easy-chocolate-ganache-17075 using half the recipe and added it to the top of the cheesecake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      This is a fantastic recipe! I even made a mistake and used the larger size can of evaporated milk, so the carmal mixture was runny-- I did not want to waste the ingredients (or take another trip to the grocery!), so I poured it on anyway-- the cake turned out fine, with the carmel still a little liquid- but every bit as good. This is my new favorite dessert recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      This cheesecake is awesome. The only changes I made was instead of the vanilla wafer crust, I used Oreo cookie crumbs...but if you do this, decrease your margarine to 2 Tbs. Also, I topped the cheesecake with glazed pecans and drizzled with chocolate syrup and caramel ice cream topping. DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      I've been making cheesecakes for my husband lately and he said hands down this the best! I made a whipped cream frosting using jello caramel flan mix and put that on top. It was great! I am now thinking of making it again for the Labor Day weekend. My brother complains that he hears all about these cheesecakes I am making and thinks it is a myth since he hasn't seen one yet :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Made this for husbands bday, needless to say it didn't last long. Was very easy to make and turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Just for a moment of comic relief. . . I quit worrying about measurements when I saw the (1 can) for the evaporated milk, so I threw in 1 can . . . sadly it was 12 ounces. I carried on with the cake anyway just to see what will happen since it is late in the evening and I do not have extra ingredients on hand. We shall see.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Outstanding recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. It was easy to make and I would definately make this again. I forgot to melt the chocolate chips before adding them to the cheesecake, so I took another suggestion and drizzled melted dove chocolate over the top. Definately a keeper! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      WOW! What more is there to say. If you love turtles (which my DH does) you won't be disappointed a bit. I did use the 14 oz bag of caramels minus a few that my kiddos ate. I found that 2 cups of wafer crumbs is about half a box. So this recipe could easily be doubled if you needed that much cheesecake for some reason. This is very rich and very satisfying. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I made this delicious cheesecake for our Christmas gathering. It was an absolute hit! Everyone lined up and began eating it before they even had forks! All you heard was moans and groans of delight. It was also incredibly easy to make. I highly highly recommend this recipe to everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I became the dessert-master for a fancy soiree my sister threw for her husband, and this cake made the cut. We needed the cake to be light-colored (I printed a photo on transparency paper to place on top of the cake - instead of using so-called edible rice-paper photos), so I layered the chocolate on the bottom of the cake with the caramel and pecans instead of adding it to the batter. I was worried that it would be too bottom-heavy flavor-wise, but it turned out wonderfully. Everybody thought it was made by a professional baker! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This is the same recipe my sister-in-law uses and it is, bar none, the best turtle cheesecake recipe on the planet! I have had turtle cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory that couldn't hold a candle to this. Thanks for posting the recipe since I keep losing my written copy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Yum! My son requested a cheesecake for his birthday and this was the recipe I choose. I made the right choice! It is soooo good. I have a feeling I'll be making this one often. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Oh my god, this was unbelievable, can't say enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Man, oh man! This was fantastic! I made it for my husband's birthday last week and it was a huge hit! I used a 10" springform pan (I didn't have a 9"), and used about 1/2 cup more vanilla wafers and maybe a tablespoon more of margarine to give it a little more crust since I was using a bigger pan. It turned out great! Thanks Mirj! ~Amy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.2
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    54%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 58.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 307.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 26.5 g
    106%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes