17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These came out so good we couldn't stop eating them and will have to make a second batch! I used a ziplock bag and a mallet to break up each bar, mixed in the cream and then put it over a saucepan full of almost boiling water to melt the chocolate the rest of the way (chopping it by hand was very time consuming) I didn't have parchment paper so used buttered foil and they came off easily. The timing was perfect, in an hour they were ready to drop, in three hours they were hard enough to roll but not so hard you couldn't make a nice ball with them. Found if I wiped my hands off every few times while making the balls they formed much easier, also the teaspoon size balls came out looking better than those we eyeballed for size. We dipped them in both powdered sugar and then cocoa powder. We didn't have grand marnier so I used Chambord, mmmm. Creamy and decadent, these will make great gifts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia December 17, 2007

What great orange flavor!! We did cheat a bit on this one...Substituted Grand Mariner with 2 tbls of orange juice concentrate and 1/2 tsp of orange extract. These came out perfect!! A welcome addition to our holiday goodie tray. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook December 19, 2004

just made these as a request will let you know how they were recieved, but very simple recipe and i had all the ingredients in the house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bevs kitchen December 20, 2014

Delicious! Actually made another recipe ( not from Food.com ) first and they didn't set! Bummer! So tried a half portion of this recipe and they firmed up beautifully! Substituted Baileys for the Grand Marnier, otherwise all the rest was to the recipe!! Gave to my girls kindy teacher for Xmas and I'm sure she's going to love them!! PS. I did keep a few for us at home too!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madonna 66 December 16, 2010

i made these for my school they turned out great thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StarLyte24 May 05, 2010

Smooth, velvety, decadent and delicious. There is nothing better than a good truffle, in my humble opinion. I didn't have any Grand Marnier, but I don't think it mattered to me anyway. I did use 12 oz dark chocolate and 4 oz milk chocolate, as that was what I had on hand. The rolling them between my hands was super messy (even though I chilled the balls for a couple of hours first). I did find that I could shape them into fairly round balls using my fingertips and it was much less messy. It's really hard to stop with just one or two! What a delightful treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 February 11, 2010

These look yummy. I plan on making them tomorrow for my brother-in-law's birthday. I have one question. Why do you need to pour the cream through a sieve and is it necessary? Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geegwhiz January 21, 2009

These are excellent. I used Irish Creme, instead of the Grand Marnier, as that is what I had on hand. They were not difficult, but maybe a little time consuming. Worth the effort. If you need a serious chocolate fix, this would be the way to go! I made them for a Christmas gift.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoDakCook December 20, 2008

it sounds really good ,but i haven't tried it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonmay.ben December 16, 2008

This will be another great addition to my cookie trays for the family and friends. They will be in Chocolate Heaven with this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittanywigginnh December 16, 2008
Chocolate Truffles