Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake (Death by Chocolate!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake (Death by Chocolate!)

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2009

      I've noticed that in some recipes calling for chocolate crumb crust that some cooks are confusing the little waffle wafers with creme in the middle for recipes that call for chocolate wafers. These are not oreo's either. They are Nabisco Famous chocolate wafers and have no icing or filling. They are usually on the top shelf out of the way of faster sellers! (my market) These "wafer" cookies are dark chocolate and make a wonderful crust for cheesecakes and other desserts with a chocolate crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I made this for Easter last year. My Aunt who claims to not like cheesecake ate two pieces! It was a hit. I was requested to make this again for Thanksgiving, but this time I have to make two. I changed the topping a little. I found using the heavy cream in the topping left the topping extremely stiff. I used sweetened condenced milk instead and it gave it a smooth almost fondont like apearance and was very easy to cut; and tasted great. I put sliced strawberries and whipped cream on top. Thank you for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      I forgot the Stars!!! Definately 5 star!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Fantastic!!!! We put it in the freezer and ate it frozen! It was great!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made this for my daughter's 13th Birthday. She wanted a 'brown' chocolate raspberry cheesecake. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, but tossed a handful of frozen raspberries into the batter, piped chocolate whipped cream around the edges of the cake and used raspberries mixed with raspberry preserves for a topping. I then drizzled melted chocolate over the top of the cake. She loved it! It certainly fit her specifications and everyone enjoyed it! Thank you so much for saving the day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I made these for a dessert tray, using a mini-cheesecake pan (these are smaller than a muffin pan, very cute). These were WONDERFUL, truly a 10--a star on the plate. In my oven, with my mini pan (cast iron) these took about 15-17 minutes to bake and it made 24-30 of them. They turned out absolutely gorgeous. I used oreos for the chocolate crumbs and "tamped" them into the cheesecake rounds. Fill 3/4 full. Thank you for this fabulous recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Awesome recipe! I made it without the topping, and I still got rave reviews at my dinner party. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Great recipe. Everyone loved it. The only thing I did different was the crust. I used 14 regular Oreo cookies which I made into a fine powder using my food processor. I did not add any thing to the cookies as the cream filling replaces the sugar and butter. I pressed them in the bottom of the pan and baked at 350 for 10 minutes as with your recipe. Thanks for sharing a fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      A bit rich for me, however, all the chocolate lovers I know often request me to make this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! Very elegant looking - I served it with whipped cream and chocolate curls, and it looked like it came from a fancy bakery. Very creamy, silky texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Mine isn't even out of the oven yet and I know it is going to be amazing. I used ground Oreos as the crust because I couldn't find choc wafers or even choc graham crackers (it's the day before Thanksgiving). Instead of a cake I used oversize muffin tins. I got about 30. I am going to put choc shavings on top instead of the other topping because I think that will be too sweet for my family (but not for me!) =) Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I first made this recipe last March as one among many desserts for a party for 70 people. I never had time to put the ganache topping on it, but it was gone in minutes and I only got to taste what was left as a mess in the base of the pan (which wasn't much). I can only say it got raves from the teenagers in the crowd who had decimated it. I've now made this again as mini cheesecakes to better share with a special friend in need and some stressed co-workers. To make the mini cheesecakes, make more chocolate crust than the recipe calls for (a little more than double-I ground up a whole package of oreos in the food processor and added butter in the proportions of this recipe), then put a heaping tablespoon of the crust mixture in muffin cups, patting it out so it goes up the sides of the cup about 1/2". You'll get between 36 and 48 crusts. Then put a heaping tablespoon of the chocolate truffle filling in the crusts. Bake 12-13 minutes at 350. Cool on the counter and refrigerate for at least 2 hours and remove from the cups using a small spatula or table knife. This is a wonderful way to get quite a few servings without the mess of trying to cut very small pieces of a whole cake. I left the ganache off the regular cheesecake, and left it off some mini-cheesecakes and drizzled it over some others - it's great either way. Thanks for a fantastic recipe that I'll be making regularly for a long time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I made this for my wife's birthday, and everyone loved it. My wife says this is what she wants for her next birthday also. Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      WOW! I surprised everyone when i showed up at Christmas with this cheesecake. The whole family loved it and I mean loved. Thanks for making me look good with such an easy and elegant recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I love chocolate and this hit the spot. I love this cheesecake. Thank you for sharing, I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I made this cheesecake for Christmas dessert -- it got rave reviews! When I was unable to find chocolate wafers in the supermarket, I substituted Oreo cookies for the crust and eliminated the sugar. It was a fabulous addition to this recipe. Instead of mini chocolate kisses, I topped the cheesecake with swirled semi-sweet/white chocolate morsels. Talk about gilding the lily!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Very good recipe. I made it with a graham cracker crust. Good enouight that I will be taking it to my family reunion..Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      This is a wonderful cheesecake recipe! If you love chocolate, you'll love this. I bake my cheesecakes @ 275 for an hour or so, depending on the size. I did not prebake the crust. But always in a waterbath. I learned that is culinary school. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED RECIPE!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      I made this with tofu-based cream cheese.It changed the texture a bit and really needed an extra night in the fridge to get to a desired thickness and flavor.But when it was ready I didn't miss the "real" cream cheese at all.Fun to make,too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      I made this for my husband for Valentine's Day. It is really rich, but SO good!! I took some extra chocolate chips and made a heart on the top. :) My co-workers were happy, too, because they got the leftover cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake (Death by Chocolate!)

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.5
     
    Calories from Fat 340
    63%
    Total Fat 37.8 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 21.2 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 133.0 mg
    44%
    Sodium 337.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 38.2 g
    153%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites