30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've noticed that in some recipes calling for chocolate crumb crust that some cooks are confusing the little waffle wafers with creme in the middle for recipes that call for chocolate wafers. These are not oreo's either. They are Nabisco Famous chocolate wafers and have no icing or filling. They are usually on the top shelf out of the way of faster sellers! (my market) These "wafer" cookies are dark chocolate and make a wonderful crust for cheesecakes and other desserts with a chocolate crust.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
speschel2000 November 19, 2009

I made this for Easter last year. My Aunt who claims to not like cheesecake ate two pieces! It was a hit. I was requested to make this again for Thanksgiving, but this time I have to make two. I changed the topping a little. I found using the heavy cream in the topping left the topping extremely stiff. I used sweetened condenced milk instead and it gave it a smooth almost fondont like apearance and was very easy to cut; and tasted great. I put sliced strawberries and whipped cream on top. Thank you for a keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nixzen November 24, 2009

I forgot the Stars!!! Definately 5 star!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajane0007 March 29, 2012

Fantastic!!!! We put it in the freezer and ate it frozen! It was great!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
827298 February 11, 2010

I made this for my daughter's 13th Birthday. She wanted a 'brown' chocolate raspberry cheesecake. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, but tossed a handful of frozen raspberries into the batter, piped chocolate whipped cream around the edges of the cake and used raspberries mixed with raspberry preserves for a topping. I then drizzled melted chocolate over the top of the cake. She loved it! It certainly fit her specifications and everyone enjoyed it! Thank you so much for saving the day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina November 27, 2009

I made these for a dessert tray, using a mini-cheesecake pan (these are smaller than a muffin pan, very cute). These were WONDERFUL, truly a 10--a star on the plate. In my oven, with my mini pan (cast iron) these took about 15-17 minutes to bake and it made 24-30 of them. They turned out absolutely gorgeous. I used oreos for the chocolate crumbs and "tamped" them into the cheesecake rounds. Fill 3/4 full. Thank you for this fabulous recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ November 20, 2009

Awesome recipe! I made it without the topping, and I still got rave reviews at my dinner party. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medieval wench August 28, 2009

Great recipe. Everyone loved it. The only thing I did different was the crust. I used 14 regular Oreo cookies which I made into a fine powder using my food processor. I did not add any thing to the cookies as the cream filling replaces the sugar and butter. I pressed them in the bottom of the pan and baked at 350 for 10 minutes as with your recipe. Thanks for sharing a fantastic recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammijo August 27, 2009

A bit rich for me, however, all the chocolate lovers I know often request me to make this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Pyre June 07, 2009

Wonderful recipe! Very elegant looking - I served it with whipped cream and chocolate curls, and it looked like it came from a fancy bakery. Very creamy, silky texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda ODonnell February 15, 2009
Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake (Death by Chocolate!)