13 Reviews

This is by far the most unbelievable thing to hit my palate EVER! Serious warning...chocolate lovers only. Super easy. I cannot describe how much I loved this torte.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ssboysen February 22, 2014

I just won a bake-off at my office with this recipe! I definitely recommend using high-quality dark chocolate because you would be amazed at the difference it makes. I also made a berry sauce to drizzle on top using frozen mixed berries and a few Tbs of sugar heated in a small saucepan. Everyone raved over how well the sauce complimented the torte, so I highly recommend it! For extra pizazz, decorate with fresh blackberries, blueberries, strawberries and slices of blood orange.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swingncocoa January 30, 2011

I have been meaning to try this for a while and finally decided to last weekend for the football game. Everyone RAVED and said it was amazing! We topped it with vanilla ice cream - delicious! We had to control ourselves to save some for the next day! This recipe will deifnitely be made over and over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatySanchez October 29, 2011

Wow! Way better than expected. It looks like it's just another brownie but it's creamy in the middle and browni-ish around the edges. So crazy-good! I love that it's made with stuff from my pantry, so FRUGAL, and looks professional. We served with sliced strawberries and whipped cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace4Gayle April 28, 2009

My son chose this as his B-day cake after having it two weeks ago! Yummy and easy to make with ingredients that are on hand. NICE recipe share!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robi #2 January 31, 2009

Heavenly. Such a simple preparation, for a rich and intensely "chocolatey" result. I will definitely make this again! I dusted it with cocoa, sprinkled raspberries on top, and dusted it again with powdered sugar. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook August 06, 2008

Excellent torte. Easy to prepare, and it turned out rich and delicious both times I made it. Before slicing, I simply sprinkled the top with cocoa powder and powdered sugar in a sunburst pattern, and it looked so elegant. Served it with strawberries and vanilla ice cream on the side. Everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seahorse July 20, 2007

This recipe was very easy to follow and made a wonderful dessert! I just did powdered sugar on top and garnished with cut, fanned strawberries. It is very rich but delicious! I saved this and will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icydove May 11, 2007

See previous reviews...too busy devouring this...I'm reluctantly sharing it with DS and there will be no leftovers. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WizzyTheStick December 23, 2006

This was excellent and very easy to make (didn't even take 1/2 hour of prep time unless you have trouble separating the eggs). Per another review, I also used bittersweet chocolate, the Trader Joe's Pound Plus which is excellent quality, and it was delicious! I skipped the powdered sugar and cocoa topping and didn't miss it. I used a 9 inch springform (the recipe doesn't specify, but it's the only one I had), and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel L April 14, 2006
Chocolate Torte