Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Toffee Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Toffee Squares

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2002

      I needed a nice dessert for my husband to take my in-laws this weekend and this just fit the bill! This is a wonderful chocolatey snack square that should suit almost any occassion. Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Mirj, these are the best cookie squares ever! I love the toffee taste. I followed the recipe exactly. So easy to make! This is a perfect recipe to make and take, it will travel well. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      An old time family favorite. Check this after 20 minutes. You don't want to over-bake it, it'll get too hard. Also, I always use two of those really huge Hershey bars, instead of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Pre-melt them in the microwave and then spread over top of the bars when you remove them from the oven. I like finely chopped pecans on top of that (1/2 - 3/4 cup).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      This has been a family favorite for years. Simple and delicious, it brings back memories of my grandmother and family holiday gatherings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      I used gluten free baking flour mix instead of the flour. I cut the recipe in half and used a smaller pan. I also mixed it right in the pan and spread it out smoothly. I used toasted walnuts on top. Beautiful and wheat free!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      delicious! I made it for Christmas cookies this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      I've made this recipe for several years. It was in a cookbook I got when I was first married (way back in the early 70's). The only difference is that the other recipe used Hershey bars as the chocolate topping not semi-sweet chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      My grandmother used to make these cookies, and I haven't seen them since. Thank you for this recipe! It doesn't taste exactly how I remember, but she might have used different types of chocolate or nuts. I used a whole 12ox. bag of chocolate chips and the chocolate layer was too thick, so don't make that mistake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Really good! I made half a batch because I only had 1 stick of butter in the fridge. My sister asked me to come bring her and her friends a treat during their lunch period at her high school after I got home from my college classes for the day. I rushed home and had these completely cooked in under 30 minutes. I melted the butter in the microwave so I could speed things up and I covered the top with the chocolate chips the last 10 minutes they were in the oven and just spread them a little with a spatula when they were done. I had to sneak on my sister's campus to give them to her (no visitors allowed) and I 'd say it was worth it because she and her friends said they loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Tasty and rich as I expected. But even so I think the butter could be reduced. The finished product was actually greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      I agree, these are rich and SOOO good. I sometimes skip the chocolate topping. They remind me of shortbread. Thank you for a wonderfully delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      The crust is really good but the next time I make it I am going to melt the choc. chips and add peanutbutter. I thought it was to hard to cut, and very thick and rich with just the semi-sweet choc. chips! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      The taste was very good. I will add a little more chocolate as well next time. Thanks for posting Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This was dissapointing to me. I amde this for a dinner with a friend of ours. It didn't taste anything like I thought it would. It was more like a very hard cookie. We could barely even bite into it. I made it exactly as discribed. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      I pulled these together very easily and they were a hit. I also thought that I had done something wrong with the batter because it was thick and I ended up patting it down in the pan. These are not overly sweet and while I didn't get the "toffee" flavor, they were certainly very tasty. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      These tasted very good. They were really hard to spread in the pan, and a bit messy, but other than that were quick& easy to make. I used pecans instead of walnuts and it was yummy. They weren't too sweet, they were just right. My DH ate them with vanilla icecream - a nice treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      Mirj,these are so good! I followed this to a T and it was perfect. The kids better hurry up and get home before I eat them all! Thanks so much for the super simple recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      These are fabulous, and so easy to put together! I will definitely makes these, again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      This was pretty good. My kids loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      I adjusted this recipe--made 1 1/2 times all the ingredients and put it in a jelly roll pan. It turned out great and made a nice addition to my Christmas cookie selection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Toffee Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (976 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.5
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    55%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 21.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 62.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites