28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are very good, as one other had said I would increase the cooking time on the toffee just a bit, because it was still a bit soft and gritty as apposed to brittle like actual toffee, when only boiling for two minutes. I was suspicious when the mixture was still light golden brown instead of darker like peanut butter, but thought that maybe the cooking time in the oven would make up for it. It didn't. I will definitely try these again. *Update: I tried it again and boiled the toffee for 4 minutes and it turned out great!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ProudMamaT December 18, 2010

Super rich treat that is very yummy. It is hard to stop with one. I used aluminum foil under them and it helped tremendously with the clean-up.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl April 27, 2008

Just like I remember making years ago. I had lost the recipe and came on zaar to find it again. Most of the recipes I found use saltines - but I prefer the version with graham crackers. This tastes just like chocolate covered toffee. I forgot to add the nuts in the sugar mixture so I sprinkled the nuts on top of the chocolate. Delicious! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am December 21, 2007

Not sure what went wrong but I followed the recipe and some turned out OK while others were pretty mushy or stuck to the pan. I will try greasing the pan or using foil next time. Should have read the review tips first!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinirish December 24, 2011

This was easy and delicious. I followed the directions of another reviewer and boiled the butter and sugar a bit longer and it came out perfect. I omitted the nuts (I was out of them) but added sea salt on top of the chocolate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandymershon December 11, 2011

EASY! I needed a snack to take to a prayer group and only had a few minutes to get it ready. My husband said the toffee part is like crack just licking the spoon =) I used the advice and boiled it 4 minutes until just brown. They are cooling now, and I can't wait to try them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerison November 17, 2011

So easy, so good! It is also very good made with "club" crackers and also Breton crackers. I've even made it with matzos.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluemonkey November 30, 2010

I made this for a mom's night out. it was a hit! next time I would use a candy thermometer instead of just watching the time, but that is just because I like my crunchy. We all loved it just the way it was, and it was easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinkie456 January 18, 2009

These turned out ok. I printed out the recipe for my book, and nowhere on the the directions does it say to smooth out the chocolate chips. I just realized the difference when I saw the pictures of how yours looked. Might want to edit directions. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
906760 December 08, 2008

These were so simple to put together & tasted great.My only piece of advice would be to place either another cookie sheet on the rack UNDER the one with the graham treats when baking or a sheet of aluminum foil on the rack underneath as they were extremely messy & boiled over the cookie sheet,what a mess ;-) Thanks for posting Karen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubblegirl March 08, 2003
Chocolate Toffee Graham Treats