39 Reviews

I did cover the cookie sheet with foil before laying the crackers down. I also used Ritz crackers - that's all I had on-hand. These were terrific! Very addictive. Made these again with saltines and we actually prefer these made with Ritz! Thanks for easy sinful recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaof2Beauties December 21, 2009

Even though I messed it up by accidentally putting the chocolate chips in it before baking, everyone loved it. I will call it a very kid friendly treat. They love helping me make it and eating it (I give it 5 stars for them... I guess I would say 4 stars). Thanks for the recipe... my roommate in college made this and it was fun to do an ingredient search and easily find it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW August 23, 2011

Love this recipe! I have also used Graham crackers. Both lead to a wonderful and easy treat. The biggest trick is you can't use margarine, you must use whole butter or they won't set right.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coley02 November 30, 2009

This is sooooo good!! I have used saltines, graham crackers and reduced fat club crackers - all with equally good results!! I think I like the club crackers best. I usually put a layer of chopped almonds over the cracker layer before the toffee layer gets poured on. I could truly eat the entire pan of these - they are that addictive!! So simple and so good. No one believes how easy they are.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiesmom April 07, 2010

This is excellent! Totally easy. Didn't have any problem with it sticking in the cookie pan lined with foil (which also made it easy to pick up to break into pieces even though I had to let it freeze for 2.5 hours before I could get back to it). I went a little crazy and mixed some white chocolate chips with the semi-sweet brown chocolate ones... then sprinkled crushed caramels and crushed candy cane on top of the whole thing (about 1-2 tbs each) as I was "cleaning up" from making several types of candies this morning. I'm pretty sure I could founder myself on this candy, it's that good. It's darn sure easy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana December 09, 2009

DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE WITHOUT LINING YOUR PAN WITH PARCHMENT. These absolutely glued themselves to my pan. I am soaking it now, hoping I haven't completely ruined my pan. We chipped a few out to taste, and they aren't worth it. They taste like what they are: saltines dipped in caramel and smothered in chocolate. They even LOOK like what they are. Won't fool anyone into thinking you made actual toffee. Terrible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valereee July 04, 2016

I've had this type of cookie/dessert before and I don't remember it being so sweet. I made it with dark brown sugar and semi-sweet chocolate and it was way too sweet. Even my kids complained it was too sweet. Maybe I will try dark chocolate another time? It was okay, but even made me feel a bit sick from the sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shewinked December 15, 2015

Easy and delicious, this is a family favourite. Inexpensive enough for functions, yet tasty enough to look great packaged in a box or tin w ribbon. Def use butter, not margarine. Amazing Reviews from all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieO April 09, 2015

Delicious and addicting! It was easily put together the hard part was waiting the hour for it to cool. The milk chocolate chips made it real sweet so next time I'll try semi sweet. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore January 15, 2015

When my mom made cupcakes and had extra frosting she would frost up saltine crackers - I looked forward to the saltines more than the other treat - so naturally when I saw this recipe it reminded me of her and I thought I'd try this to share on our christmas dessert table. WOW!! So easy and just like the others said, completely wonderful flavors. I used double chocolate semi-sweet chips and then some crushed up candy canes on top for a minty flavor. If I could, I'd give these a 10 star rating. Thanks for sharing - it will be a new family favorite

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelster2 November 16, 2014
Chocolate Toffee Candy Cookies (Saltine Candy)