Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Thunder Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Thunder Cake

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2010

      Oh my gosh this cake is amazing. I came across it during a search for an old fashioned chocolate cake for my son...I made it for a neighbor's party & it was a HUGE hit. Especially for all the Chocolate Lover's. I was then asked by one of the party goer's to make it for her birthday.

      I did use a bigger pan (11x15) the second time. It worked much better. You just need a pan bigger than a 13x9. With the 13x9 there isn't enough room for all the topping. I used a Double Fudge cake mix both times & it was DELICIOUS. Very rich. I put the sweetened condensed milk on when the cake was just a tad bit warm. It runs right into the holes & down the sides. The fudge too!! YUMMY.

      I have sense made this cake a third time. But this time I made it for a summer dessert. I used a butter cake mix with the sweetened condensed milk & then sliced fresh strawberries. Again, it was a HIT at the party. It was so refreshing but yet rich & yummy. I was asked if it was Tres Leche. Similarly but no. I didn't use any fruit topping. I just had cake, milk, strawberries, whipped topping & then strawberries to garnish the top. I think any berries would be good.

      ENJOY....Definitely one of my favorite cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This recipe is very very moist, I made it for a work potluck and everyone who could eat chocolate (we have a few people with chocophobia) ate this and raved about it. just a couple hints tips changes. First, I used a dark chocolate cake, and i used Dark chocolate fudge from smuckers it's new) I used 3 heath bars, and i added some fudge sauce to the top along with the caramel. (i drizzled both and it made the cake look amazing.) using the back of a wooden spoon to make holes is a great idea. The fudge and the condensed milk have a really hard time soaking into the cake if you do not do this. (i drizzled the liquids directly into the holes i made) I used a 11 by 9 inch pan and had plenty of room for the toppings. thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Let me say that this cake is really good! I will change a couple of things next time however. I will bake it either in a bigger pan (11X15) or in two 8X8 pans because it is too thick in the 9X13. Plus if I make two cakes then I can wait to put the cool whip on the second one until ready to eat so it doesn't get soggy with the candy pieces (Butterfinger would be yummy). Also, I will pour the fudge and milk over while the cake is still hot. Overall however this is a great cake my 13yr old son made for me for Mother's Day and we really enjoyed it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      Forget about the 5 stars... this deserves so many more! I made this for a birhday bash and baked it in two 9 inch cake pans to make a double layer cake. It was a bit tricky, as you'll have to transfer your first cake to the cake plate then poke the holes through and add the sweetened milk and topping. Then top with Cool Whip and add your second cake over that. I poked the holes before transfering the second cake, but I made quite a few so the top ended up cracking a bit. I used Devil's Food cake mix, Dove dark chocolate topping, and extra-creamy Cool Whip to frost the entire cake. Then I placed lots of white and semi-sweet chocolate morsels on the top. This was the richest, moistest, and chocolatiest cake I've ever had, not to mention lovely... and everyone fell in love with it!!! I can't imagine ever eating plain chocolate cake again after this heavenly dessert. If you're not fond of Cool Whip, I'm sure you could use fresh whipping cream sweetened with a bit of confectioners sugar instead, but don't miss out on this! I was thinking about trying it with yellow cake mix, butterscotch topping, and crushed Butterfingers on top, too. This was just the ultimate sweet treat for chocolate lovers and it's easy to see why the kid won first prize. Pure decadence!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      I've made this lots of times, and every time at least one person has asked for the recipe. I always use German chocolate cake mix, and I also include a jar of carmel topping in additional to the sweetened condensed milk and fudge topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      I have made this exact same recipe (same name, even!) for years except for a few differences: I use a German chocolate cake mix; I use an 11x15 pan; and I refrigerate it (preferably overnight) til well-chilled and the milk and chocolate sauce have had a chance to sink in and permeate the cake, making it even more dense and rich. The bigger pan seems to make a difference, as all of my friends that have ever tried it prefer it in my larger pan. I think it's the less cake to frosting ratio that seems to make the difference. Whatever it is, it DOES make a difference. I don't ever, ever, ever make this cake unless I'm taking it to a church function or we're having enough company that I don't have to worry about leftovers. Because these leftovers talk. They call out to you, enticing you, begging you to open the fridge, and... Ahem, I digress. This isn't a five star recipe...it's a fifty star recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      yay it look good am going to bake this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      oh my...oh my my my my....i dont have the words to describe how wonderfully delicious this cake is. i made this just because i saw your recipe and reviews and it got stuck on my brain. i didn't even have a chance to put it in the fridge before my husband took HALF from a 9X13 tray to work. the other half i've been guiltily eying and snacking on. i didn't have a can of sweetended condensed milk so i used a combination of half&half and heavy cream sweetened with sugar and that worked just fine.i will grab a few cans b/c this recipe is definitely going to repeated. i also used German chocolate cake mix, i don't really know what makes German chocolate cake mix different than any other chocolate cake mix but it was great! next time i go to the store though, i must say that the whip cream topping goes really well with the moistness and richness of the cake itself. like another reviewer below said, the leftovers talk so be prepared to share this cake to stay healthy. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it's absolutely decadent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      I love this cake!! As Unknown Chef 86 said, I would not have this cake in the house unless it was meant for a special occasion. I wouldn't be able to stay away from it. I also used a 11x15 pan and it was just right - I can't see how a smaller pan would be large enough. The only thing I did different was to add grated chocolate on top of cake itself - just before adding the Cool Whip, trying to obtain even more of a chocolate flavour. I also grated the chocolate on top, as the recipe called for. Thank you Foxysnana for a wonderful recipe and it's now our official birthday cake or whatever other excuse I can find to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This was pretty good. Next time I will not wait for the cake to cool down before adding the milk/fudge. They both just sat on top of the cake and didn't really seep in. Also, made it hard to get the whip cream to stay put. Good flavor though. I think it will be even better next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Yum! I made this with Devil's Food cake mix and used Hershey Bars instead of the Heath. My family really enjoyed this, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      This is just delicious and so quick and easy! I omitted the candy bars and just shaved some chocolate on top. Definitely 5 stars. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      One word - YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This cake is absolutely fabulous. My DH made it as he was having a severe chocoholic attack. The only cake mix we had in the house was a triple fudge. Let me tell you, that cake was the fudgiest, richest cake ever! If chocolate is your thing make this. It will become a staple in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      WOWEEEEEEE! I made this for Easter dinner. As a diabetic, I had just a tiny sliver, as I avoid sweets as much as possible. Everyone else RAVED about this luscious dessert - and so easy too!!!! FABULOUS! Will make this again! Even took some (leftovers) to several neighbors - who all claimed it was the BEST cake they EVER had! Great job! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      Oh my! If I could give this 10 stars I would!! This was just an amazing dessert, so simple, yet it impressed everyone at my table. (we had 17 for dinner) I added a tin of cherries to the cake mix before baking, and it gave it a Black Forest type of flavour, but made no other changes. This got rave reviews by all and is a keeper! Thanks Foxysnana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      I've made this recipe (by a different name and also from zaar) and it is good. But... this is not "Thunder Cake". Thunder Cake is a book from children's author Patricia Polacco, about a grandmother who calms a little girl's fear of an impending storm by making Thunder Cake together. Kids like that the chocolate cake has a mystery ingredient-not caramel or toffee, but tomato sauce. One can't taste the tomato, it's just a moist, good chocolate cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      Oh my goodness! This was absolutely wonderful! DH and I are both severe chocoholics and this really hits the spot. I did everything stated in the recipe, but instead of the Heath bars, I used chocolate chips. And I did use the larger pan as suggested. I think next time I might add a jar of caramel topping too. The richer the better, right? Thanks for sharing this yummy dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      Although this recipe was good, I think I was expecting it to blow me away and it just didn't. Maybe I didn't poke enough holes in my cake....mine were about 1 inch apart. I even used an 11X15 pan as others suggested. Maybe I'll try to make it again and make some more changes and add more holes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      Wow, this was so good! My daughter doesn't like frosting, but does like cool whip. This was a perfect cake for her 17th birthday! She loved it and so did everyone else. It was gone in minutes! Thanks! Oh, I didn't have Heath bars so just used red and pink sprinkles. I used chocolate cake mix with double pudding in the mix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Thunder Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 459.0
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    53%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 13.9 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 68.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 188.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 40.1 g
    160%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    swiss chocolate cake mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites