Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Syrup

    Average Rating:

    131 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 131

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2006

      This was very very good. The consistency (as has already been mentioned) is a bit thin, but the flavour was great! We used it on ice cream, to make hot chocolate, and a little right out of the container ;) Definitely will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Because it is so easy to make, you can halve the recipe and make it fresh whenever wanted. I like the ratio of cocoa to sugar and would not want it any sweeter. I do think it needs to boil at least 5 min

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      This turned out good. I don't think it tastes like "H" though. I will use less cocoa next time as it was kind of bitter.I think the addition of corn syrup would help, but I don't use it. I think the consistancy is fine. It was good over ice cream, but tasted like a dark chocolate syrup. I will definitely try it the next time I make a mocha, I think it'll be perfect. This was super easy to make. I'd recommend a bigger pot than you think you'll need because it bubbles up quite a bit. I boiled it for the full 5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      This turned out excellent, I wanted it to be thicker, so I reduced the water to 1 1/4 cups of water, boiled it hard for 3 minutes, turned out perfectly thick. Also, it was so good in milk! No more "H" for me. Oh and I made it sugar free by using xylitol for the sugar. Just EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This recipe will put the chocolate companies out of business. :) We added 1/3 cup of light corn syrup just to thicken it up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I am about to make this, but am going to try Dutch processed cocoa to cut down on the "bitter" flavor. I think it will be great, but will review it afterwards. Update: The flavor is good, but it is still a bit too thin for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Excellent stuff ! I caught it just as it was about to stick to the pan.....but it didn't! Taste was so rich and full of chocolate flavour....definitely a hands down winner. Much better than Hersey's syrup and took no time to put together. Just don't walk away from the stove! Thanks....I'll be making this again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      This recipe delivers exactly what it says-chocolate syrup just like you know who. I did take longer than the 2-5 minutes specified for my syrup to reduce and thicken, but it did get there and was a delight. Thank you wildheart for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      I keep using this whenever I need some chocolate syrup for some ice cream I happened to buy. So I decided to finally print it out and rate it. It's just perfect. I've even used this recipe to make some chocolate milk and it was so good. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      I don't normally keep chocolate syrup in the house, but wanted some for making a mocha coffee... this homemade chocolate syrup is better than any store bought, and definately a recipe I'll keep!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Easy to make, and so quickly. There was no chocolate syrup left in the house to make chocolate milk,and so I gave this recipe a try...and was very pleased with the results. I used Ghirardelli cocoa powder...making this very rich and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      This is BETTER than store bought! It isn't as sweet so it has a richer chocolate flavor. I was planning on making Coconut Coffee Coconut Coffee and found out I was out of chocolate syrup so once again Zaar came to the rescue. It worked beautifully & I can't wait to make chocolate milk with it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      This IS incredible. I ran out of the "you know who's" syrup and with a 5-year old in the house, that constitutes an emergency. It went together easily. I had one little problem, I started with a 2-quart pan and when it got boiling, it was very close to the top of the pan, so I had to transfer it to a 3-quart pan and everything went smoothly from there. What a rich chocolatey syrup this is. I poured it in a cleaned out chocolate syrup bottle. I bet my family does not even notice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      It's just like my Mom used to make! So easy, and it tastes just like Hershey's--and since I put it in our old Hershey's squeeze bottle, it's easy to dispense. It IS a bit thinner than Hershey's, but not so much that it takes away from the syrup. My family loves it! Thanks Wildheart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Great recipe! So much better than the bought stuff. I used some cornstarch in half my batch to thicken for an ice cream topper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      I made this a couple of months ago and forgot to review it! My family can't tell the difference between this and Hershey's, so I'll make some more later. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      tastes just like the store bought stuff!! Made exactly by recipe and turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

    • on August 27, 2005

      It tastes pretty good, but I did exactly what it said (boil 2-5 minutes) and it didn't get thick, so I kept stirring until it did. Once it did get thick I then immediately poured it in a jar and put in the fridge. Now it’s very thick, it doesn’t even move when you tilt it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      This is a great recipe, but I also found this to have too much cocoa. I recommend using between 1/4-1/2 cup cocoa at the most-especially if you don't like a bitter taste. Also, I prefer to add the vanilla after taking off the heat to promote the best vanilla flavor. I also added about a 1/4 cup light corn syrup for a molasses type consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    78%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites