10 Reviews

I used splenda baking blend and baked in a 9 inch round pan. It was done in 35 min. It is a dry sort of bread not moist like usual fruit breads. I am not sure if it is because of the changes I made. But I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisy M May 09, 2007

A lovely, moist tea bread where none of the ingredients overwhelm each other but rather compliment each other. Since I am on a low cholesterol diet, I had to substitute 1/2 cup cholesterol-free liquid egg for the eggs and instead of using a square of chocolate, I blended together 3 tbsp. of cocoa with an extra tablespoon of vegetable oil but none of this detracted from the taste. My husband loved it! I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard March 14, 2006

A critical test team consisting of 1 Italian, 7 Swiss and 1 from Holland tasted this chocolate-strawberry bread. The overall opinion was three stars. The opinions differed considerably: from two to five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck July 31, 2005

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smittyanne July 16, 2005

What a creative use of the contest ingredients. I made this as directed but I felt it could have used more chocolate to enhance to flavour. Thanks for posting and good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * July 14, 2005

This a surprisingly tasty bread, especially warm with butter. Very nice with a cup of tea. It's amazing to me how the dates, chocolate and strawberries managed to blend together into this nice moist bread that didn't taste strongly of any of them. Anyway, we really enjoyed this - so 5 stars! Good luck with the contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* July 09, 2005

a great snack for the kids. they loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis July 08, 2005

this bread was a very good tasting sweetbread. Nice and moist.Also the nuts where chopped fine,which I liked.You still get the pistachio taste.I liked the combination of dates and strawberries.Good bread. I liked the combination of dates,and strawberries

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
out of here July 07, 2005

I tasted this bread as it came fresh out of the oven and thought...Wow, this is GREAT. I gobbled down 2 pieces and had to leave the house so I wouldn't eat the entire loaf. DD also said that it was 'good'...compliments are rare from her! You may wonder, then, why I am rating this recipe a 4 rather than 5 star....and the reason is that after the initial WOW no one ate it. I much preferred it hot than after it cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy July 04, 2005
Chocolate-Strawberry Bread Mediterranean Style