21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These look yummy - but the picture looks like you used hershey kisses not stars?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luckygirl4444 December 06, 2012

Yummy! Brach's chocolate stars are hard to find (usually only around the holidays), so when I saw a bag, I grabbed them and made these cookies! Really enjoyed this version instead of the usual peanut butter based cookie. Used butter instead of shortening, which yields a soft cakey cookie that's slightly crisp on the outside. The family inhaled them! Be sure to allow plenty of time to cool or store in single layer conatiners, the stars take a long time to harden after baking and will be a mess if stacked. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 03, 2010

I <3 (heart) these cookies!!! they are very very VERY good. The cookies them selves are so soft almost like cake. For best results and ultimate satisfaction... eat while the chocolate is still warm and melty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-slim December 07, 2009

I should have reviewed these long ago. They were one of the first recipes I printed and they are terrific. They always turn out great. I made them again this Christmas and as always, wonder why I don't make them more often. When I was doing my Christmas baking, I ran into problems: some things got overdone, others just didn't turn out, etc., but these cookies never let me down. I think they should be renamed "chocolate star go to cookies" because they are my "go to," reliably delicious cookie. Sorry I didn't post this earlier, when we've been enjoying these for so long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zestphobia December 20, 2008

WOW! These Cookies not only look wonderful, but are amazingly tasty! I found the chocolate stars at the DOLLAR STORE. These cookies have replaced the Peanut Butter Blossoms that I used to make. They are much easier to make ( no unwrapping of foil) and they are not overly sweet. Just enough sweetness to my liking! Thank you for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beckster1496 December 05, 2007

Even though they are a plainer cookie, even the guys my husband works with scarfed these down. My kids loved the little chocolate treat in the middle. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 February 16, 2007

Who knew this cookie would turn into such a journey....after going to every candy, grocery and specialty store I now know the ONLY place in my whole town that sells Brachs chocolate stars. I was starting to wonder if the cookies would be worth the hunt. They are!!!!! I do not care for them warm but after letting them totally cool and infact set out for the day I LOVE them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover January 27, 2007

I must give 5 stars for this recipe for the following reason: I baked a dozen for my DH and upon eating the first one he said "I'd marry you all over again for these cookies!" And he then ate 9 more quite rapidly. I did get a chance to taste them, and though I'd prefer a more buttery taste than comes from Crisco, I can say these are tender and tasty cookies. So thank you for making my DH, and thus me, so happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani November 26, 2006

My kids devoured these. They loved them. These are easy to get a batch ready too. Thanks for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada September 22, 2006

These are really delicious my 4 year old and i had heaps of fun (and mess) making these together. We will be making them again they were so easy and real yummy! :) Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanz674 August 04, 2006
Chocolate Star Cookies