Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Star Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Star Cookies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2012

      These look yummy - but the picture looks like you used hershey kisses not stars?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Yummy! Brach's chocolate stars are hard to find (usually only around the holidays), so when I saw a bag, I grabbed them and made these cookies! Really enjoyed this version instead of the usual peanut butter based cookie. Used butter instead of shortening, which yields a soft cakey cookie that's slightly crisp on the outside. The family inhaled them! Be sure to allow plenty of time to cool or store in single layer conatiners, the stars take a long time to harden after baking and will be a mess if stacked. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I <3 (heart) these cookies!!! they are very very VERY good. The cookies them selves are so soft almost like cake. For best results and ultimate satisfaction... eat while the chocolate is still warm and melty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I should have reviewed these long ago. They were one of the first recipes I printed and they are terrific. They always turn out great. I made them again this Christmas and as always, wonder why I don't make them more often. When I was doing my Christmas baking, I ran into problems: some things got overdone, others just didn't turn out, etc., but these cookies never let me down. I think they should be renamed "chocolate star go to cookies" because they are my "go to," reliably delicious cookie. Sorry I didn't post this earlier, when we've been enjoying these for so long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      WOW! These Cookies not only look wonderful, but are amazingly tasty! I found the chocolate stars at the DOLLAR STORE. These cookies have replaced the Peanut Butter Blossoms that I used to make. They are much easier to make ( no unwrapping of foil) and they are not overly sweet. Just enough sweetness to my liking! Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      Even though they are a plainer cookie, even the guys my husband works with scarfed these down. My kids loved the little chocolate treat in the middle. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Who knew this cookie would turn into such a journey....after going to every candy, grocery and specialty store I now know the ONLY place in my whole town that sells Brachs chocolate stars. I was starting to wonder if the cookies would be worth the hunt. They are!!!!! I do not care for them warm but after letting them totally cool and infact set out for the day I LOVE them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I must give 5 stars for this recipe for the following reason: I baked a dozen for my DH and upon eating the first one he said "I'd marry you all over again for these cookies!" And he then ate 9 more quite rapidly. I did get a chance to taste them, and though I'd prefer a more buttery taste than comes from Crisco, I can say these are tender and tasty cookies. So thank you for making my DH, and thus me, so happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      My kids devoured these. They loved them. These are easy to get a batch ready too. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      These are really delicious my 4 year old and i had heaps of fun (and mess) making these together. We will be making them again they were so easy and real yummy! :) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      I have been wanting to make these for a long time now, but I could not find the Brach stars, I guess they must be a seasonal thing. But I did finally find them and these cookies where delicious, easy to do, and bake up great, popped the star on, and my boys gobbled them up! As you know they are bad about that! LOL I think these are better then the peanut butter ones with the kisses. Thanks for sharing your great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      These are delicious, and really easy to make. My 5 year old had fun popping the star on top of each. These are going to be on my Christmas Tray, so I rolled them in green and red coloured sugar before baking, and they turned out fantastic! Thanks for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      Very good and so simple to make I used butter instead of crisco, will be making these often my family was eating them faster then i could make them. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      I've been on the lookout for the chocolate stars and found them today in Harris Teeter! The brand is Brach's and it comes in a bag (around $4). I whipped up dough in food processor.The dough is a nice consistency. I put in freezer, since my fridge was chock full. These baked up perfectly and looked just like the photos. Thanks for sharing your family recipe. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      These cookies are easy to make and so tasty and light! I substituted butter for the Crisco but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I will make these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      Very good cookie! I like these much better then the peanut butter cookies with the Big Kiss in the center. The "stars" are the right amount of chocolate and are easier to store then the "kiss" cookies. I had a hard time finding the Stars though, the stores don't seem to stock them like they use to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      This is a very delicious cookie and as everyone said easy to make. In Canada we call them golden buds rather than chocolate stars. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Until I saw the picture I wasn't sure what chocolate stars were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      These cookies were easy to make and delicious! I cut the recipe in half, but followed the directions exactly! The stars take a while to harden back up, so don't stack too quickly! I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      I made these cookies this afternoon. They were absolutely delicious and easy to make. I did not have chocolate stars on hand, so I lightly pressed 5 mini m&m's into the top of each ball before baking and they turned out fantastic and very pretty too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      These are so much better than the cookies made with hershey's kisses. I think that may be because the cookie itself it actually better than the really dry peanut butter cookies topped with kisses that I've had in the past. They were really easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Star Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.7
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    48%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 10.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 88.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chocolate stars

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites