Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Sponge Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Sponge Cake

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      This is a nice and light cake. I used it to make a low cal, low carb and low fat Tirimisu. Only you need to line just the bottom of the pan with waxed paper. I had some hanging over the side and the oven smoked up like crazy. I should have known better. All-in-all, I found this recipe easy and lightly tasting as I wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      thissssss is so good! yummm-ooooo! i've tried to modify two recipes and wowww it wassss a big two thumbs up. it's my frist time to make a sponge cake... and yes it turned out a chocolate mocha sponge cake and i just want everyone to know that this site is good for novice and expert chefs. great job!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I made this cake yesterday and it's a keeper. It was so moist, not at all like the usual sponge cakes. I used the dutch cocoa recommended by another reviewer and it's definitely worth using. It was so dark and chocolatey. I also used lite cool whip on the top and the sides and then I shaved (3) Russell Stover-no sugar added French mint on the top. Wow, out of this world and still the sugar levels were low. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. My family really enjoyed this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      I have made this cake several times and it is always great. I make mine with gluten free flour and it still comes out tasty. Last time, I added a bit of coffee powder in with the cocoa and it was wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I haven't made this recipe yet but I do have a recipe which is exactly the same excpet it doesn't use cream of tartar and it uses all 4 yolks. The cake is delicious. If you don't like wasting then go ahead and use all 4 yolks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      I loved how easy this cake is to make. My husband didn't think it had much taste, but I liked the light texture and enjoyed it. I think it would be better topped with something.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      Good cake! MY BF commented on the texture and said "it's kind of spongy" and I replied, "well, it is a sponge cake!" I guess that means I did it right. The taste is good, not too rich and satisfying to my sweet tooth. I love that it has so little sugar - this is a real chocolate cake I can actually have a normal size slice of. I sprinkled the top with a bit of powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      I made this cake to use as the base for a lowfat Baked Alaska. I made a half recipe and baked in a loaf pan. It turned out well. Very light and tasty. We all liked it. It's not very dark and chocolatey though -- it's quite a light brown colour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      *gasps* I LOVED this cake. Maybe I'm just still in love with the whole idea of a sponge, or something I did different this time, but I found this cake amazing. I whipped the egg whites and cream of tartar with the vanilla (so they were sort of tinted) until they were truly stiff :-D. I added about half the salt with the whites and half with the yolks. Because I wanted to beat the yolks separately as well, I added all four yolks from the four eggs, so that my little hand blender wouldn't spit egg yolk all over me, and then added just half of the beaten yolks (total 2) to the foamy white. Also, I sifted the cocoa mixture into the egg mixture. Despite the changes, it turned out light and beautiful and airy as anything. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2003

      It tasted like a regular chocolate cake to me, only lighter. Very good. I topped each piece with sliced strawberries that had been soaked in Marsala. This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      No offense. Maybe it's not the cake, maybe I did something wrong. The cake turned out flat and gummy. I have no idea what I did wrong in this process. But ugh.... It was a sad cake. It didn't become thick and the top layer was crusty. But the bottom layer was oddly smooth like a chocolate twizzler. Mystifying why it turned out like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

    • on July 10, 2011

      First time ever to make sponge cake. Wanted chocolate sponge cakes for strawberry short cakes. Beautiful. Easy. Tasty. Will top with fresh strawberries and real whipped cream. Can't wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Meh- this was alrightt. It was so tiny when I made it. I felt good about it being low cal. It didnt really taste like anything and it was kinda dry. I whipped cream for the top and spread raspberry jam on it. I also melted chocolate and hardened it and then put it on top :) im 14 and i made it for mothers day for 6 people. everyone ate their tiny slice but didnt go back for more :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This cake doesn't rise much, tastes like a "healthy" cake (not in a good way. Not sure why it got so many stars...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I made this cake, and I must say I was disappointed. This cake has put me off low-calories cakes, it turned out fine, but the texture was very rubbery, wouldn't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      10 Stars Derf!....My husband & I are counting calories & this recipe is perfect for when we are craving cake with my coffee. Found we were able to portion control the 12 serves better by baking in a muffin tray for 20 minutes. Thank you for such a wonderful treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Great recipe for only 55 calories/serving! Note: When whipping the egg whites into stiff peaks, I've read that you shouldn't use a glass bowl as the sides are too slippery for the egg whites to cling to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I found this recipe 5 days ago and have already made it twice - it is excellent! It turned out especially nice with dark dutch cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      very tasty, very light and moist...a great dessert recipe to serve to diabetics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Sponge Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.7
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    15%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 27.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 68.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites