34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a nice and light cake. I used it to make a low cal, low carb and low fat Tirimisu. Only you need to line just the bottom of the pan with waxed paper. I had some hanging over the side and the oven smoked up like crazy. I should have known better. All-in-all, I found this recipe easy and lightly tasting as I wanted.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deedaas March 25, 2003

thissssss is so good! yummm-ooooo! i've tried to modify two recipes and wowww it wassss a big two thumbs up. it's my frist time to make a sponge cake... and yes it turned out a chocolate mocha sponge cake and i just want everyone to know that this site is good for novice and expert chefs. great job!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kulitz June 27, 2010

I made this cake yesterday and it's a keeper. It was so moist, not at all like the usual sponge cakes. I used the dutch cocoa recommended by another reviewer and it's definitely worth using. It was so dark and chocolatey. I also used lite cool whip on the top and the sides and then I shaved (3) Russell Stover-no sugar added French mint on the top. Wow, out of this world and still the sugar levels were low. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. My family really enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pasoob1 April 22, 2010

I have made this cake several times and it is always great. I make mine with gluten free flour and it still comes out tasty. Last time, I added a bit of coffee powder in with the cocoa and it was wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbronwynne August 09, 2008

I haven't made this recipe yet but I do have a recipe which is exactly the same excpet it doesn't use cream of tartar and it uses all 4 yolks. The cake is delicious. If you don't like wasting then go ahead and use all 4 yolks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatestone June 30, 2008

I loved how easy this cake is to make. My husband didn't think it had much taste, but I liked the light texture and enjoyed it. I think it would be better topped with something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 08, 2004

Good cake! MY BF commented on the texture and said "it's kind of spongy" and I replied, "well, it is a sponge cake!" I guess that means I did it right. The taste is good, not too rich and satisfying to my sweet tooth. I love that it has so little sugar - this is a real chocolate cake I can actually have a normal size slice of. I sprinkled the top with a bit of powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * January 05, 2004

I made this cake to use as the base for a lowfat Baked Alaska. I made a half recipe and baked in a loaf pan. It turned out well. Very light and tasty. We all liked it. It's not very dark and chocolatey though -- it's quite a light brown colour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner January 01, 2004

*gasps* I LOVED this cake. Maybe I'm just still in love with the whole idea of a sponge, or something I did different this time, but I found this cake amazing. I whipped the egg whites and cream of tartar with the vanilla (so they were sort of tinted) until they were truly stiff :-D. I added about half the salt with the whites and half with the yolks. Because I wanted to beat the yolks separately as well, I added all four yolks from the four eggs, so that my little hand blender wouldn't spit egg yolk all over me, and then added just half of the beaten yolks (total 2) to the foamy white. Also, I sifted the cocoa mixture into the egg mixture. Despite the changes, it turned out light and beautiful and airy as anything. Thank you so much for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melisande Beneksri July 10, 2003

It tasted like a regular chocolate cake to me, only lighter. Very good. I topped each piece with sliced strawberries that had been soaked in Marsala. This recipe is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day June 19, 2003
Chocolate Sponge Cake