36 Reviews

I really can't fault this recipe in any way on taste - it is what my kids want on each of their 3 respective birthdays. Just wish it was prettier - the icing is so delicious, but a real pain in the bu** to spread, and clumpy-looking, get past that, and you 'll think you're eating a Reese's. *Edited on March 31, 2011* I tried adding 2 tblsps of heavy cream to the frosting while I was beating it, and it came out wonderfully.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens April 01, 2011

I should have believed my gut when I noticed there was no actual chocolate anywhere in this recipe but the picture was so tempting. The cake was moist and fluffy but rather bland. I meant to add coffee to it and if I make it again I would use half strong coffee half water or maybe even all coffee! The frosting had a weird life of it's own, sliding off the spoon cleanly and oozing after the cake was cut. Somewhere between frosting and fudge, I think. It needs actual chocolate not cocoa powder; it was weak even after I added instant espresso granules. I doubled the amount of peanut butter (I could hardly taste it) and only used four cups of powdered sugar plus extra milk to thin it out again. The only plus, my boyfriend loved it! I think we have different tastes...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Gwen November 10, 2009

Delicious cake: as Marg promises, it is indeed very moist, rich, and dense! It held up very well over the course of several days, although it almost didn't need to... I made the mistake of eating several pieces the day I baked it, and it took about a week for my arteries to forgive me ;) I did double the amount of peanut butter in the frosting, to give it a really noticeable peanut-butter flavor, and if I made the recipe again, I'd also increase the amount of cocoa in the cake so that the chocolate was strong enough to hold up to the peanut butter. This recipe's definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsonM October 26, 2012

I only made the icing; it was fabulous!!! It tastes just like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups. I will use this again for sure! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weesie D July 10, 2011

This tasted ok,not as chocolatey as I thought it would be.The cake needs more flavour in my opinion.As alot people have said,the icing is indeed very strange,not like any frosting I have ever used before.It is definately like play dough but with peanut butter flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny February 12, 2011

Awesome, I followed the recipe and this came out beautifully moist and wonderful! Would make this again for sure. Thanks so much for sharing, worth the extra effort! It did take a little longer to bake then the recipe states but it could be my oven too..... yum! I cut the cake in half and used half the icing in the middle and sprinkled half the peanuts on top of the cake and mixed half into the icing. SOOO GOOD!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 February 02, 2011

fantastic recipe! having never made chocolate cake from scratch, i was nervous but i went with it. decreased the sugar by half and added twice the amount of cocoa to the cake and decreased half of the sugar in the frosting and added twice the amount of chunky peanut butter and milk. perhaps next time i will decrease the butter to account for the extra pb. the frosting turned out more like a ganache this way and was soooo super shiny! but omg, wow! it was a super duper successful birthday cake. the compliments included - how did you get this so moist and the frosting is so shiny and not too sweet. thank you so very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannabedomesticgoddess July 04, 2010

I made this for my moms birthday and she loved it -:) Now I'm going to make it for Mothers day too! But I do add a chocolate bar, chocolaate pudding and some extra milk.. other people have said the frosting was fudgy and yes, it is! But my mom says that's why she likes it =:) you havta stick it onto the cake like play-dough! haha :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
De lumpy chef "Me" :) haha May 06, 2010

This cake and frosting is FABULOUS!!!! Addendum to my original review. This cake is fabulous and very easy to put together. If you would like more chocolate flavor add 1/2 cocoa to the batter which is what I do. The frosting I wouldn't change a thing with. It is fabulous as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susy Q April 14, 2010
Chocolate-Sour Cream Cake & Chocolate Peanut Butter Frosting