Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Snack Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Snack Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2006

      My six year old daughter did all the measuring and mixed this cake with a whisk. Talk about easy! We used 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 tsp salt in place of the melted margarine, and we added 1 tsp instant coffee granules to the hot water. Moist, dark, easy, and takes ingredients we always have on hand. Five stars plus, in our book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Simple & delicious! I subbed organic coconut oil for the margarine with perfect results.We love our dark chocolate cake topped with white frosting, so I made a simple butter cream with confectioner's sugar to top it. Will be using this recipe again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      I made this today pretty much as directed except I decreased the hot water to 3/4 and made up the diff with Kalua (coffee liquor). It came out great, dark & chocolatey, moist and sweet. I could eat it by itself but I did make a simple chocolate frosting to top it. I guess I needed a little pick me up. It really is an easy cake to make and just what I was looking for, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe other then I used half sugar and half Splenda. I also used butter instead of margarine as that is what I buy. I didn't top mine with confectioners sugar as we didn't think it needed it. This is a tasty little cake- not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Great, little cake. Flavor was good and just the right size. I made it with real butter, added 1 tsp. of vanilla and a handful of chocolate chips. I could have ate the whole pan. Thanks for the great little recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      Wow! This flavor knocked my socks off! What a surprise for such a simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      This was really good! I only used 1/2 c. sugar and I used real butter instead of margarine. I will definitely make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Quick, easy, and you probably have everything you need to make it at home. I topped with shredded coconut and a few chocolate chips before baking. I also cut the sugar about a quarter of a cup. Very nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Simply delish! This cake is so moist and delicious, and relatively low in calories for chocolate cake. I only had 3/4 cup of sugar on hand so I had to substitute powdered sugar for the other 1/4. My cake was finished after 27 minutes of baking. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      Delicious, moist, and easy! I made a lighter version by substituting 1/2 cup of the sugar with 1/2 cup of Splenda, and I used Egg Beaters. Thanks, Katha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      Excellent, very moist cake. I made cupcakes and reduced the baking time to 20 minutes and they were just fantastic. I was initially concerned because the batter is extremely thin however it turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      Wonderful! Katha, this cake is great. Very moist and because there is no frosting, it not too sweet. I loved the powdered sugar on top. It gets absorbed so I would just sprinkle a little more on before serving. Thanks Katha!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Snack Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.5
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    19%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 20.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 219.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites