26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely divine. I will add just a bit more sugar next time because I like sweeter frosting but truly a great recipe! I made a batch and used some on my kids ice cream sundaes that night and saved the rest to frost cupcakes the next day. You will need to let it warm up on the counter a bit before frosting if you make it in advance, but it doesn't take long. When you taste this you know you are eating homemade frosting. This is equal or better to any bakery or restaurant frosting I've tried!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdv November 25, 2011

*made this again tonight, 4/16/10. The last time I forgot to sift the cocoa, but it turned out great. This time I remembered and it is 10X creamier & smoother! This is such an elegant frosting, but so simple and quick to make...which is the perfect combination ;) Very good recipe! I, too, was a bit skeptical about it thickening to frosting consistency but it did so just fine after about an hour and a half in the fridge. I loved the texture, smooth and creamy, not gritty like so many other chocolate frosting recipes that use confectioner's sugar. It was the perfect amount for a thin frosting layer on a batch of brownies in a 9X13 pan. If you are looking for a fast, easy and very tasty chocolate frosting recipe, this is it! Thanks a bunch for posting, Courtly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwedishExpat April 16, 2010

This is a perfect frosting for DH! He's doing low carb so I subbed Splenda for the sugar. Turns out this is now his favorite chocolate recipe (likes it spread on top of cheesecake.) Perfect consistency after refrigerating. I much prefer using cocoa powder to unsweetened chocolate, so thanks so much for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi April 07, 2010

Absolutely fantastic! i was skeptical about it reaching frosting consistency, but it did. Delicious as a ganache or frosting. i doubled the recipe to frost a two layer 8 in. cake and had a little left over. i did use soy milk instead of whipped cream. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover August 12, 2009

this is simple, delicious and versatile.....3 of the things I love in a recipe. I frosted some peanut butter brownies with half, and then used the other half as a dip for strawberries and cinnamon pita chips. Perfection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennygal June 13, 2009

The most amazing chocolate frosting i have ever made or tasted ! I didn use a double boiler jus mixed the cream n butter together n microwaved it for abt 10 seconds just until warm next i added in cocoa n icing sugar n microwaved again for about 25-30 seconds mixed it nicely and after it was refrigerated for sume time it was amazingly thick just like a ganache . The second time i made it i doubled the recipe n used half the butter i got a medium sized bowl full of this frosting . T he amount listed is enough to ice a standard sized cake. Just make sure u sift in the cocoa n sugar (if using icing sugar) before adding it in . When in liquid consistency its the best chocolate sauce for sundaes ! Outstanding recipe!! Thank u so much !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jas kaur March 10, 2009

This is excellent frosting and tastes like hot fudge. Delicious chocolate flavor!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginarael October 23, 2008

Too delicious for words! I used this to frost a chocolate cake, and it was incredible! My husband and I love the rich chocolate flavor. I will definitely try using this a sauce in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newly Wed October 16, 2008

I used this Frosting on Sue B's Chocolate Cake as the frosting. I used a double recipe. Between the layers I used Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing (1.5 portions). It was delicious. I grated a dark chocolate bar on top. Everyone loved it and I even had an offer to pay me to bake it for someone else!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri L. September 23, 2008

This was the perfect topping for a Friend's yellow birthday cake. After warming it on the stove, I left it out to cool. After half an hour, it solidified into a just right frosting consistancy. Nice rich chocolate flavor & not at all too sweet like most. This recipe will be used quite a bit in the future. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HesterX June 07, 2008
Chocolate Sauce or Frosting