Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Sauce or Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Sauce or Frosting

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2011

      Absolutely divine. I will add just a bit more sugar next time because I like sweeter frosting but truly a great recipe! I made a batch and used some on my kids ice cream sundaes that night and saved the rest to frost cupcakes the next day. You will need to let it warm up on the counter a bit before frosting if you make it in advance, but it doesn't take long. When you taste this you know you are eating homemade frosting. This is equal or better to any bakery or restaurant frosting I've tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      *made this again tonight, 4/16/10. The last time I forgot to sift the cocoa, but it turned out great. This time I remembered and it is 10X creamier & smoother! This is such an elegant frosting, but so simple and quick to make...which is the perfect combination ;) Very good recipe! I, too, was a bit skeptical about it thickening to frosting consistency but it did so just fine after about an hour and a half in the fridge. I loved the texture, smooth and creamy, not gritty like so many other chocolate frosting recipes that use confectioner's sugar. It was the perfect amount for a thin frosting layer on a batch of brownies in a 9X13 pan. If you are looking for a fast, easy and very tasty chocolate frosting recipe, this is it! Thanks a bunch for posting, Courtly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      This is a perfect frosting for DH! He's doing low carb so I subbed Splenda for the sugar. Turns out this is now his favorite chocolate recipe (likes it spread on top of cheesecake.) Perfect consistency after refrigerating. I much prefer using cocoa powder to unsweetened chocolate, so thanks so much for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Absolutely fantastic! i was skeptical about it reaching frosting consistency, but it did. Delicious as a ganache or frosting. i doubled the recipe to frost a two layer 8 in. cake and had a little left over. i did use soy milk instead of whipped cream. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      this is simple, delicious and versatile.....3 of the things I love in a recipe. I frosted some peanut butter brownies with half, and then used the other half as a dip for strawberries and cinnamon pita chips. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      The most amazing chocolate frosting i have ever made or tasted ! I didn use a double boiler jus mixed the cream n butter together n microwaved it for abt 10 seconds just until warm next i added in cocoa n icing sugar n microwaved again for about 25-30 seconds mixed it nicely and after it was refrigerated for sume time it was amazingly thick just like a ganache . The second time i made it i doubled the recipe n used half the butter i got a medium sized bowl full of this frosting . T he amount listed is enough to ice a standard sized cake. Just make sure u sift in the cocoa n sugar (if using icing sugar) before adding it in . When in liquid consistency its the best chocolate sauce for sundaes ! Outstanding recipe!! Thank u so much !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      This is excellent frosting and tastes like hot fudge. Delicious chocolate flavor!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Too delicious for words! I used this to frost a chocolate cake, and it was incredible! My husband and I love the rich chocolate flavor. I will definitely try using this a sauce in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I used this Frosting on Sue B's Chocolate Cake as the frosting. I used a double recipe. Between the layers I used Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing (1.5 portions). It was delicious. I grated a dark chocolate bar on top. Everyone loved it and I even had an offer to pay me to bake it for someone else!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This was the perfect topping for a Friend's yellow birthday cake. After warming it on the stove, I left it out to cool. After half an hour, it solidified into a just right frosting consistancy. Nice rich chocolate flavor & not at all too sweet like most. This recipe will be used quite a bit in the future. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This sauce is not very sweet, and ooooh, chocolate bliss... It's perfect on an ice cream sundae (which is already plenty sweet) or drizzled on cheesecakes or cookies or fresh strawberries or a lemon tart. Yes I've tried all of those, and they're wonderful! This is the only fudge sauce recipe I'll use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      this was pretty good a little bitter so at the end i stirred a small chunk of sweet chocolate until melted. the consistancy of this is more like a ganache than frosting.. even after being chilled it didnt set up very stiff. tastes good.. kind of like pudding. and i only got 3/4 cup out of this recipe?? i followed it exact (except the added chocolate) so i dont know how anyone got 11/2 cups out of it. although a little goes a long way.. good on icecream too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      this is a great frosting that isn't too sickly sweet or overpowering. it compliments the cakes very well (i frosted cupcakes), so chocolately and lovely. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This is the BEST icing recipe I've ever made! I used it to ice a cake, and it worked great. Velvety and melt in my mouth, but I'd say it was definitely lighter than the average butter frosting! I just made one change, which was to use only about 1/4 cup of sugar and cocoa powder each, which came a bit more on the milk chocolate flavour side of things, but for a dark chocolate flavour I'd go all in. Thanks so much- this is a new favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Excellent recipe for a multipurpose sauce/frosting. Semisweet and dark, full chocolate flavor. Be careful not to boil it, or it gets too hard. This is just the right consistency when you want your sauce runny to drizzle it on things but siff enough to stay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      Easy and delicious. Very chocolatey without being overly sweet. I used it to frost brownies, but this would be great for so many things. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      this sauce is so good! I make it every couple of weeks to use for ice cream sundaes. my boyfriend just inhales it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      Great over vanilla ice cream. This is one recipe I will be making again & again. A very versatile recipe. Not too sweet...reminds me of the taste of Cadburys Energy Chocolate. A rich dark chocolate which is not too sweet. Thanks for posting this 'keeper' :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      Decadent, dark and delicious, but not difficult, this was a perfect choice to glaze a tray of mini-bundt cakes for my daughter's birthday party. I made it up the night before and refrigerated it. The next day, during the party, I reheated it to a glaze consistency ~ somewhere between the sauce and frosting options. My double-boiler met a tragic end earlier this year, so I used the microwave...30 second bursts on only 30% power, and it reheated flawlessly. After I'd warmed it back up, I realized I'd forgotten to keep any in 'frosting mode' for the extra cupcakes, so I just dipped the tops in the bowl of glaze and set them back in the fridge for a few minutes...they turned out so well and I got so many comments that I may just frost all our cupcakes that way from now on! The little bit that was left-over went over ice cream...this is the ultimate in versatile recipes! I really appreciated the fact, too, that while it was very rich it was not overly sweet, it just had a deep chocolate flavor. I'm already thinking of several other uses and can't wait to try it out on the other things, too. Thanks again, MC! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      What a tasty sauce. This is quick and easy to make and is very rich in flavor. I have some of it cooling in the fridge right now so we can frost cupcakes with it later. Looks like you won't be disappointed however you use this recipe - the flavor is great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Sauce or Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 800.6
     
    Calories from Fat 506
    63%
    Total Fat 56.3 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 35.1 g
    175%
    Cholesterol 169.7 mg
    56%
    Sodium 143.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 67.1 g
    268%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes