Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Rum Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Rum Balls

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2007

      mmmm....delicious! i did somethings differently than the recipe stated. I omitted the nuts because mine were bad & I didn't want to go to the store again. I can see that it would be very good with the nuts, giving it some crunch. I also used dark chocolate cocoa (right next to the unsweetened cocoa in store) I looove dark chocolate. I used a 1/4 cup more rum which of course makes them more runny. They also taste stronger. So I also added 1/4 to 1/2 cup more wafers. It also helps, after they have been mixed, to cover bowl & set in fridge for a couple hrs. They firm up a bit & are easier to roll. Make sure you stir before you form into balls as the rum will sink. It still will be messy! I took turns rolling mine in sugar & chocolate sprinkles. I think next time I'll also try some rice crispy cereal & see if that gives it crunch or if it softens like the wafers. I'll definately make these for every get together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      My sisters favorite cookie. I did use bourbon. These cookies stay for a long time sealed good. They may need a dusting of sugar if you plan on storing them till Christmas. I think they get better the longer they sit. Great cookie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

    • on January 06, 2010

      I made these over the Christmas Holidays, and they were awsome. I used mixed nuts insted of walnuts. I also made two other batches that I put a personal twist on. Thanks Kim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I made these 4 days ago, but my neighbors and myself really enjoyed these today during the Cubs game 4 days later.. There are too many good adjectives to describe these, lets just say the flavor is PERFECT !! I did use a combo of walnuts and pecans. GREAT RUM TASTE in these. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I used honey in place of the light corn syrup - after finding this as a suggested substitution in the Zaar dictionary. I've never bought corn syrup and hadn't had time to see if I could get any. Anyway, for my tastes, the honey was delicious as an ingredient. I was also glad that the cocoa was unsweetened as I don't like things too sweet. but those with a sweeter tooth may well want to add some sugar. Just test the taste while making them. Loved the walnuts and rum in these. I never drink rum but it's great in a recipe such as this one. I've taste-tested these but most I'll be giving as small thank you Christmas gifts. Thank you for a recipe ideal for that purpose, Kim! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      something very like this was in every bakery or coffeeshop in sofia, bulgaria when i was in europe. i love them. only theirs are rolled in coconut, which i have tried to do as well with mixed results. i also use almond extract instead of rum which really makes them good. if anyone knows the bulgarian version, id love a recipe or at least a name!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      EXCELLENT - the longer they sit the better they are - thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Mmmm...another wonderful no-bake cookie recipe! What a treat!! I've often made these with different liquers. Orange and raspberry are favorites. These are extremely good. And SO easy! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This probably deserves 5 stars but I made them too far ahead and they were a bit dry. Made with Dana's Homemade Kahlua - another favorite. Will definetely try again. Thanks Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      Yummy. I used Morgan's spiced rum and a mixture of walnuts and pecans. We haven't given them a chance to sit yet, but right now they taste like brownie batter with a hint of rum and no problems with consistency, mixed and rolled nice and easy. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      I know I messed something up with this recipe (when I made it a midnight!!), but I still gave it a five, because the taste is so darn good. I think I mashed the wafers way too much, and I didn't add the nuts, so the mixture was really thin and gooey. Reallly couldn't get them into ball shapes, more like blobs..I used amaretto and toasted chopped almonds, which I rolled the blobs in and gave them a pretty look. Will definitely try this again and work on firming them up a little so I actually get "balls" instead of "blobs". Thanks for a great recipe Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      I thought these were delicious, however, I found they tasted better after being out of the airtight container. So I would suggest giving them some air time before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      We used amaretto and chopped almonds. They were a huge hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      I used to make these for Christmas presents. Put these in a nice air-tight tin or clamp-closed canning jar, they get better with age. I'm planning to make them this year. I use bourbon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Rum Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (467 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 498.5
     
    Calories from Fat 264
    53%
    Total Fat 29.4 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 27.6 g
    110%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla wafers

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites