16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

mmmm....delicious! i did somethings differently than the recipe stated. I omitted the nuts because mine were bad & I didn't want to go to the store again. I can see that it would be very good with the nuts, giving it some crunch. I also used dark chocolate cocoa (right next to the unsweetened cocoa in store) I looove dark chocolate. I used a 1/4 cup more rum which of course makes them more runny. They also taste stronger. So I also added 1/4 to 1/2 cup more wafers. It also helps, after they have been mixed, to cover bowl & set in fridge for a couple hrs. They firm up a bit & are easier to roll. Make sure you stir before you form into balls as the rum will sink. It still will be messy! I took turns rolling mine in sugar & chocolate sprinkles. I think next time I'll also try some rice crispy cereal & see if that gives it crunch or if it softens like the wafers. I'll definately make these for every get together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crunchymomof2 December 31, 2007

My sisters favorite cookie. I did use bourbon. These cookies stay for a long time sealed good. They may need a dusting of sugar if you plan on storing them till Christmas. I think they get better the longer they sit. Great cookie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ November 15, 2003

I made these over the Christmas Holidays, and they were awsome. I used mixed nuts insted of walnuts. I also made two other batches that I put a personal twist on. Thanks Kim.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim January 06, 2010

I made these 4 days ago, but my neighbors and myself really enjoyed these today during the Cubs game 4 days later.. There are too many good adjectives to describe these, lets just say the flavor is PERFECT !! I did use a combo of walnuts and pecans. GREAT RUM TASTE in these. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker June 20, 2009

I used honey in place of the light corn syrup - after finding this as a suggested substitution in the Zaar dictionary. I've never bought corn syrup and hadn't had time to see if I could get any. Anyway, for my tastes, the honey was delicious as an ingredient. I was also glad that the cocoa was unsweetened as I don't like things too sweet. but those with a sweeter tooth may well want to add some sugar. Just test the taste while making them. Loved the walnuts and rum in these. I never drink rum but it's great in a recipe such as this one. I've taste-tested these but most I'll be giving as small thank you Christmas gifts. Thank you for a recipe ideal for that purpose, Kim! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 14, 2008

something very like this was in every bakery or coffeeshop in sofia, bulgaria when i was in europe. i love them. only theirs are rolled in coconut, which i have tried to do as well with mixed results. i also use almond extract instead of rum which really makes them good. if anyone knows the bulgarian version, id love a recipe or at least a name!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
an_pheist December 21, 2007

EXCELLENT - the longer they sit the better they are - thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greyghost December 09, 2007

Mmmm...another wonderful no-bake cookie recipe! What a treat!! I've often made these with different liquers. Orange and raspberry are favorites. These are extremely good. And SO easy! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit June 15, 2007

This probably deserves 5 stars but I made them too far ahead and they were a bit dry. Made with Dana's Homemade Kahlua - another favorite. Will definetely try again. Thanks Kim

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Gaye February 04, 2007
Chocolate Rum Balls