17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These muffins were great. Mine were a bit overcooked because I left them for an extra 5 mins and then forgot them, but they were not ruined. I have never used ricotta cheese before, so this was a good opportunity and I will be using it again. Preparation was easy and your instructions very straight forward, so I was not going mad trying to figure it out. At first I thought the amount of cocoa was a bit much, but you could not have less or the flavour would not be the same. My verdict...lovely.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne G June 04, 2002

WOW...those are rich and very chocolaty...the kids love them too :) Those are a keeper. Will make them again soon since they are almost gone lol ....just made them an hour ago.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Ri June 23, 2002

JoSamm These were great!!! One question. I wasn't surewhat to do wiht the 1 cup of chocolate chips. The recipe did not specify. But I was bold and folded them into the batter. Did I do right. [Editor's note: this recipe was updated as a result of these comments on 11/21/02]

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Sammartino November 05, 2002

Very nice, deep rich chocolatey taste. I didn't have any nuts: too bad, because I think the addition of 'something' in this recipe would definately put it at 5-stars! Even so, very good. I came out with 12 regular-sized muffins and one mini-loaf pan (which took about an hour to cook). Good stuff. Next time I think I may add white chocolate chips!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat June 29, 2002

Mr. 1Steve: These are the most wonderful muffins. Very moist and sweet. I used my regular muffin tins and got 2 dozen. I took the liberty of frosting some with chocolate fudge icing that I had left over in the fridge. Oh, WOW! That really jazzed 'em up! Thanks for sharing such a neat recipe. Laudee c.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee September 24, 2002

hi :) i made these last night... they tasted pretty good- my dh thought that they were a little dry and missing something (perhaps nuts- which next time i will try). i thought that they could be sweeter. i did make them exactly like the recipe said. i found that they only took 15 min to cook :) thank you so much for sharing- next time i may add more cocolate chips and a bit more sugar. thanks!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach June 17, 2003

Very good muffins, though I agree with airbornearmywife that they are perhaps a little dry and not quite enough sweet; however the chocolate taste is rich and the chocolate chips taste just right, I wonder if adding some white chocolate chips might make them even better. I had some cream cheese filling (just cream cheese+egg+sugar+vanilla) leftovers from another recipe and added it to a couple of them as an experiment, I couldn't try them because they had already gone...but my mum says it made them delicious, I'll try again and then let you know!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdriMicina March 24, 2004

Great muffins! I had some ricotta to use and these were a wonderful choice. Tender chocolatey almost-cupcakes. Used butter, nonfat milk, and 7 T regular cocoa. Next time I'd use 1/2 cup cocoa (8T). Made 16 muffins, and 20 minutes was plenty. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama April 05, 2014

These were excellent with white chocolate chips, Very moist, and decadent..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadieveggirl November 19, 2012

Love them. I love the way the chips melt inside the muffin so you have nice melty chocolate bits throughout. They came out moist. They didn't rise very much at all so if you like them tall, fill the cups up. They are a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 September 25, 2011
Chocolate Ricotta Muffins