Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Ricotta Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Ricotta Muffins

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2002

      These muffins were great. Mine were a bit overcooked because I left them for an extra 5 mins and then forgot them, but they were not ruined. I have never used ricotta cheese before, so this was a good opportunity and I will be using it again. Preparation was easy and your instructions very straight forward, so I was not going mad trying to figure it out. At first I thought the amount of cocoa was a bit much, but you could not have less or the flavour would not be the same. My verdict...lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      WOW...those are rich and very chocolaty...the kids love them too :) Those are a keeper. Will make them again soon since they are almost gone lol ....just made them an hour ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      JoSamm These were great!!! One question. I wasn't surewhat to do wiht the 1 cup of chocolate chips. The recipe did not specify. But I was bold and folded them into the batter. Did I do right. [Editor's note: this recipe was updated as a result of these comments on 11/21/02]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2002

      Very nice, deep rich chocolatey taste. I didn't have any nuts: too bad, because I think the addition of 'something' in this recipe would definately put it at 5-stars! Even so, very good. I came out with 12 regular-sized muffins and one mini-loaf pan (which took about an hour to cook). Good stuff. Next time I think I may add white chocolate chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      Mr. 1Steve: These are the most wonderful muffins. Very moist and sweet. I used my regular muffin tins and got 2 dozen. I took the liberty of frosting some with chocolate fudge icing that I had left over in the fridge. Oh, WOW! That really jazzed 'em up! Thanks for sharing such a neat recipe. Laudee c.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2003

      hi :) i made these last night... they tasted pretty good- my dh thought that they were a little dry and missing something (perhaps nuts- which next time i will try). i thought that they could be sweeter. i did make them exactly like the recipe said. i found that they only took 15 min to cook :) thank you so much for sharing- next time i may add more cocolate chips and a bit more sugar. thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      Very good muffins, though I agree with airbornearmywife that they are perhaps a little dry and not quite enough sweet; however the chocolate taste is rich and the chocolate chips taste just right, I wonder if adding some white chocolate chips might make them even better. I had some cream cheese filling (just cream cheese+egg+sugar+vanilla) leftovers from another recipe and added it to a couple of them as an experiment, I couldn't try them because they had already gone...but my mum says it made them delicious, I'll try again and then let you know!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Great muffins! I had some ricotta to use and these were a wonderful choice. Tender chocolatey almost-cupcakes. Used butter, nonfat milk, and 7 T regular cocoa. Next time I'd use 1/2 cup cocoa (8T). Made 16 muffins, and 20 minutes was plenty. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      These were excellent with white chocolate chips, Very moist, and decadent..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Love them. I love the way the chips melt inside the muffin so you have nice melty chocolate bits throughout. They came out moist. They didn't rise very much at all so if you like them tall, fill the cups up. They are a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

    • on December 18, 2009

      these were good but anything low fat doesn't get top rating in our book. However, these were moist, tasty and even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Lovely! They do have that low fat "mouth feel", but the big taste totally makes up for it! I did use skim milk so that might have been a factor too. I didn't have any chocolate in the house (this should never happen!) so I chopped up some Domino cookies (our version of Oreo's) instead. Yum! Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      I searched Zaar for the ingredient "ricotta", because I had 1 cup leftover from another recipe that I had made. I am so happy I tried these muffins. SO happy. SO super-DUPER happy. I followed this recipe exactly, except (and if you know me, there's ALWAYS an "except") that I used mini chocolate chips and I made mini muffins, which I hadn't made in a long time, and I totally forgot about the mini muffin cuteness factor. I used 7 Tablespoons cocoa, too. For me, they do not need to be sweeter, nor do they need to be less sweet. These are PERFECT. I baked them for 15 minutes at 350, which produced 72 mini muffins (quickly diminishing). From now on, when I have to buy ricotta, I am going to intentionally buy 1 cup too much, because this recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      These were really moist and tasty. I used the lower fat ricotta and it still tasted great. It would have been five stars but it just wasn't chocolatey enough for me, but I like things REALLY chocolatey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      These are from Molly Katzen's website of Moosewood fame. Just wanted to add that I have made these twice now, and they are definitely best using whole milk ricotta. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Rich and chocolatey. But they were a little tough. I used all oil. I will make it again with more choco chips and less mixing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Ricotta Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.5
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    35%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 55.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 251.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 24.6 g
    98%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites