Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chocolate Raspberry (Or Strawberry) Tall Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Raspberry (Or Strawberry) Tall Cake

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2010

      This was a super yummy cake, and cut so nicely!! I couldn't get mine to look as pretty as the pictures but the taste made up for that:) Used raspberries:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      I'm pretty sure it would have been comical to watch me try to put this cake together. I had one layer split in half and then fall, I didn't get enough filling on the bottom layer (and that was the one that fell) so it was short and lopsided, my cat snuck up and put a paw print in the top layer and, of course, I was covered in powdered sugar by the end of everything. Other than my self-imposed misadventures this was great!! Everybody loved it and, all things considered, it was really pretty!! **Edit** I made this for my graduation and ended up making one as written and one lemon blueberry cake as well. Substituted lemon cake mix, lemon pudding, and blueberries. Both went over great! Thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      The kids and I made this for Mother's day. Everyone loved the taste, it was very easy to make and looked great too! I didn't have any frozen whipped topping so used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and added some sugar and vanilla. It worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      This cake is very easy to make although it does take some planning. I used strawberries in mine and I cut them up to approx. the same size as a raspberry and I let them drain on paper towels for a few minutes. I didn't have any problems with the color bleeding into the filling this way. The flavor is great and DH and I yummed our way through our pieces. What a great cake for a special occasion. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      This cake was easy and beautiful. My son and daughter-in-law ask if the cake was real. To attest to the taste, my 21 month old grandaughter ate 3 pieces and kept saying good!, more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Made this for my wife's birthday yesterday. Everybody loved it. Easy to make, excellent taste. Will definitely make again. Thanks Shimmerchk for the outstanding recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Have made this twice and the family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      I iwll agree that this cake is really easy to make and has a decent flavor. My problem is the filling....there seems to be more sweetness to it than flavor. Next time I will fiddle with it some. My aunt, who is a baker, suggested maybe some almond extract or lemon zest to help round out the flavor some. On another matter, I think next time instead of mixing the berries into the filling I will simply lay the filling and then the berries for a more attractive appearance. Overall a keeper though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      Sooo good and very impressive looking. I've made the this cake a couple of times and have even made cupcakes with it. The filling is very good as a dip for strawberries also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Very very good. Used strawberries but I think raspberries would be even better. I had too much filling leftover when I got to the top, so I iced the whole layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      This cake is great! I hate cream cheese but loved it mixed in with the pudding and cool whip. I had a few issues with the top layer of cake wanting to crack but who really cares it tasted awesome! I made it with raspberries, and I thought it tasted even better the next day after it was refrigerated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      This is out of this world good! Made it for my husband's birthday. It was expensive using the fresh raspberries, but oh-so-worth it! Made exactly as written! Thank You for posting. Will make again for Valentine's Day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I made this for Father's Day lunch. Everyone loved it. I cut up the strawberries and mixed in with the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      family loved this came out perfect nice cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I made this for my hubby's birthday. It looks so impressive and everyone loved it. They were fighting over the last piece. I used strawberries and chopped them for the filling and sliced them for the top. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Fantastic! My family loved this! It was nice and light, but super moist. I made a bow out of candy chocolates and placed it on top for Valentine's Day. Everyone was so impressed. I even had 3 requests to make this for their birthdays right then! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      What can I say but YUMMY! I made this and it is oh so easy and my family loved it. I made it with blueberries. I am really excited about making it again. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This was so easy and looked fabulous and tasted just as great. Since there's only 2 of us at home, I brought it to work and boy was it at hit! I used strawberries and no problem. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      i just made this cake for the second time now. it is my favorite thing to make when i want a WOW response. i also love the taste because it is not too sweet. today, i had a little extra filling and my DDs looked so sad they could not have any of the cake (it was going to a church meeting) so i made 5 Minute Chocolate Mug Cake to go with the leftover filling. my kids loved it! overall, this is a great recipe. thanks shimmerchk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Delicious and impressive! I will definitely make this again... next time I will not make the mistake of trying to frost the sides of the cake too - - whoops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Raspberry (Or Strawberry) Tall Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 433.0
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    54%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 69.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 567.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 30.1 g
    120%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes